We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small with intact buildings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herculaneum Ercolano

Herculaneum Ercolano
Corso Resina 6, Ercolano, Italy
+39 081/8575347
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Herculaneum Ercolano like an insider
Private Tour
$49*
and up
Private Tour: Herculaneum Rail Tour from Sorrento
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Ercolano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Life as it existed in this ancient Greek settlement (5th century B.C.) was frozen in time when rivers of hot mud flowed down its streets from an eruption of Mt. Vesuvius in 79 A.D.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Small with intact buildings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Really gives you an understanding of how the buildings would have looked like. You can do this in two hours and I didn't use the audio guide but just the map and little book you get when you buy your ticket.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,702
    503
    74
    23
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Herculaneum in May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very cool ancient burried and discovered city outside Naples. We went to Pompeii first and after our awesome tourguide (Francesca) took us to Herculaneum by train. Not as large as Pompeii but just as interesting. Definitely recommend Francesa as a tourguide here as she is extremely knowledgable and brings the cities to life. Otherwise you may just find yourself wandering around aimlessly!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great site, let down by poor services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Herculaneum is a cut-down version of Pompeii, with less ground to cover but better preserved buildings and artwork. As such it takes less time to enjoy than Pompeii, but is perhaps more impressive given the amount of perservation that endures due to the way it was 'destroyed'. We did really enjoy visiting it, but there is no cafe, only a couple of WC's on the way out, and for some unkown reason the museum on-site was closed when we visited...apparently not an umcommon event. So, well worth a visit if you want to avoid the crowds at Pompeii, or of course if you can't get enough of these sites and want to visit both. There is a combination ticket which comes at a small discount for visiting both sites (plus there are 2 or 3 other much smaller places to visit) all for the same ticket price which might be worthwhile. The combination price is 22 euros I think, and kids go free, so these sites do represent good value for money

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I preferred Herculaneum to Pompeii but would still visit both. Herculaneum is much more compact and intact than Pompeii and less overwhelming in size. Entrance was free with our Campania art card (34euros for 3 days including entrance to 2 sites free, and the rest half price and all travel on metro, trains, buses, funicular etc) so I would definitely recommend buying one of these as it saves money and also the hassle of buying travel tickets all the time. We bought ours from the information point inside the train station at Piazza Garibaldi and were given a useful guide book as well.
Herculaneum is only 20 minutes by train out of Naples and is on the same line as Pompeii (final destination Sorrento) and then a short walk downhill from the station at Ercolano into the site. It was much less crowded than Pompeii too.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“The best choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you have to choose between Herculaneum and Pompeii, choose Herculaneum. It is better preserved and easier to manage

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herculaneum Ercolano also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Herculaneum Ercolano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herculaneum Ercolano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.