We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herculaneum Ercolano

Herculaneum Ercolano
Corso Resina 6, Ercolano, Italy
+39 081/8575347
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$41*
and up
Half-Day Herculaneum Coach Tour
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Ercolano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Life as it existed in this ancient Greek settlement (5th century B.C.) was frozen in time when rivers of hot mud flowed down its streets from an eruption of Mt. Vesuvius in 79 A.D.
guisborough
Level Contributor
201 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Not as impressive as Pompeii initially as the first view is from above, but once I was inside and starting exploring, I was hooked on the splendour of the ruins and what they had once been. We purchased a map for 2 euros and found it really useful as it included a suggested route which we followed easily. This meant we did not need to backtrack and saw it all in a relatively short space of time.

Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Couple10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Herculaneum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our guided walk through Herculaneum , not as touristy as Pompeii. We went first thing in the morning and it was very quiet. The tour buses showed up about 10;30. We also walked the crater of Mt Vesuvius which was very interesting too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bendtraveler803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited with a group of others on a privately organised tour from Naples. When we arrived, in the early morning, we engaged a private tour guide - a man who had been one of the archeologists on site before he retired. He was very knowledgeable, entertaining and helped us to see and understand a great deal about the site. This place is so much better than Pompeii. Although smaller, things are much more complete and the colourful frescos and mosaics are magnificent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mumsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time here, easier to get round than Pompeii as not nearly as big or crowded. Ignore the guys touting for taxi ride to the sight which is an easy 5 minute walk downhill to the entrance. Audio guide was very good although rather stilted English on occasions but still informative. Easy to get to on the train from Naples, only about 20 mins.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank coram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fascinating to say the least”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Ercolano, or Herculaneum is as fascinating as Pompei but smaller and easier to get around.

It was destroyed in the same eruption by Vesuvius but because it suffered the terrible onslaught of pyroplastic flow instead of ash fallout, a lot more was preserved for us to see 2000 years later.

You can see and imagine life as it was in those days, with beautifully decorated walls inside houses. Get up close and walk, stand, sit inside rooms that are almost untouched by time and feel like you are living in Roman times.

There are guides available but we took the audio version and found it very good. You can be anywhere around the site and just enter the number seen on the wall outside to get a detailed commentary of what you are looking at.

The site has good facilities, with café / toilets near the entrance / exit so you don't have to leave before getting some refreshments.

My wife and I love these historical places and found Herculaneum to be one of the most interesting sites we have been to.

A tip, if you are travelling there by the Circumvesuviana train, look out of Ercolano Scavi station as it's this stop you get off at. We made the silly daft mistake of looking for Herculaneum, missed our stop and had to go back a few stations.

Outside the station you just walk straight down the main road for about half a mile to find the entrance right in front of you.

Have a good trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichMax_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herculaneum Ercolano also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Herculaneum Ercolano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing