We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for Vesuvius and Herculaneum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herculaneum B&B

Save Saved
You added Herculaneum B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Herculaneum B&B
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Luigi Palmieri 173/H, 80056 Ercolano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Ercolano B&B and Inns
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location for Vesuvius and Herculaneum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Excellent value for money, a real gem of a find! Location is superb for exploring Herculaneum and Vesuvius (pretty much at the start if the mountain road to the car park near the summit). Stunning views of the bay of naples. (We enjoyed a bottle of local wine on the terrace watching the sunset - relaxing and low cost!) Secure, free car parking.

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by the exceptionally helpful, friendly and knowledgeable Luca. He provided so many useful tips and recommendations (especially wine tasting at Vincenzo's - a local wine producer, in the family for 5 generations!) Luca makes you feel very welcome and encourages you to relax like the B&B is your own home.

Very clean, comfortable and well decorated rooms. Highly recommended!

We had our own car - a hire car is a must to get around.

Room Tip: Our room had a private external bathroom - fine for us, but not to everybody's taste, so be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    39
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
76
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The B&B itself was good and situated with a wonderful panoramic view across Naples. The room was good with an en suite. However the only problem we found was that there was no shower shampoo and only one soap dispenser, and the toilet roll was nearly at its end. Apart from these
small issues we enjoyed our stay and the manager was friendly and very helpful. I would
definitely recommend Herculaneum for a weekend break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Its location shows up on Google maps…well, close enough to get you there. They have put up signs to show the way once you have reached Via Luigi Palmeri…an old sign, which points you down a partially dirt lane, was covered over with garbage bags when we arrived. If you see it, continue to the next lane on the right where a proper sign is located. Either way, be patient. Take a right on the proper way to avoid a private drive; or take a left onto a paved road if you take the dirt lane. In either case, Via Luigi Palmeri is a narrow ruralish road that winds, bends, and hops up the side of Vesuvius. If you stay for even two days, you’ll know it like home.
We found the Herculaneum B&B a great jumping off point to Naples, Pompei, Hurculaneum, Capri, the Amalfi Coast, and Mount Vesuvius. It was less than an hour from each, if you permit a ferry from Sorrento to count as the entry point for Capri.

We very much enjoyed our stay. Luca, our host (not the owner), was informative and very friendly. He sets the breakfast table and delivers the main dish along with coffee each morning. Luca is also a great resource for local things to do and for places to eat. He directed us to the road to Vesuvius (literally just to the top of Via Luigi Palmeri), to a local bankomat (money machine), to a local pizzeria (La Rotunda…before to get Raphael as your waiter), and to a local boutique winery run by a competitor B&B.

The owner (or was it the owner’s mother?) served as the maid and occasionally made special breakfast “cakes” (one a nut and honey confection, the other a lemon tart). When we returned each day, our room was always tidy and clean.

We had a basement room. It had all but one of the amenities promised. We could not find the minibar ot that we cared much about this. Especially since the B&B’s kitchen was at our disposal, and (when we were there) it was well-stocked with water, beer, juice, and lemoncella. Our room’s air conditioning was cool and quiet. The TV was the full 32 inches promised, and its remote worked. The king-sized bed was comfortable, and the pillows were non-allergenic as we requested. The very comfortable sofa could have converted into a bed for two more. No desk was available, however. And while a double wardrobe was available, it had no drawers for storing nonhanging clothes.

Be sure to bring your own soap and shampoo. Some soap is available, but it is strictly a pump dispenser of hand soap by the sink. This is hardly useable in the very snug shower stall.
Despite of the remoteness of its location (which we sought), the soap business, and technical lack of a minibar, we loved our stay at the Herculaneum B&B. On fact, we’d recommend it to our friends and would be pleased stay there again. At about $75/night, a quality stay like this is hard to beat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston,SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We would not recommend this accommodation to anyone!!! We had no prior instructions as to what to do when we arrived. At the gate, we pressed all the buttons until the gate was finally opened. When we pulled into the parking area we still weren't sure which house to go to until someone yelled to us from the steps of one. The woman spoke no English, but showed us our room and the room where breakfast would be served. She indicated that Enza, who spoke English, would be there in the morning. We were disappointed that there was no one there to give us any advice as to where to go or what to do when we arrived.

The room was typical B&B size, but the lighting was horrible. The Italian-only speaking woman indicated that we should open the window for light, however, the sunlight was gone before 6:30 pm. There was only one container of liquid soap in the bathroom, no bar soap or shampoo, and no glasses or cups. There was no blanket and the only cover for the bed was just a very thin cheap synthetic bedspread. The extra pillows had no pillow cases. In the morning, there was no hot water. We had to leave for our flight home without showers. The breakfast was no the greatest, and Enza's English was not as proficient as we were led to believe.

This B&B was indeed very noisy. All movement and conversation in the house could be heard clearly in our room. Take sleeping pills with you if you dare to stay and sleep here!

This was the absolute worse accommodation we had during our two weeks in Italy, and probably the worse we've ever encountered in all our travels. We travel abroad two or three times each year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

First the positives: The B&B itself is good, Enza is very helpful, the room was decent and the breakfasts were varied. The parking area is large and the site is close to the various major tourist destinations (Vesuvius, Pompei, Herculaneum, etc). However, while there is nothing to complain about the B&B once you have gone through the entrance gate, the wider area that it is located in is not ideal (best advise is to go on Google Street View). Restaurants in Ercolano compare badly with areas further along the coast in the direction of Capri. Stray dogs restrict walking and the roads nearby are not the best. Plus, there are quite a lot of fireworks going off nearby when it gets dark. Avoid Torre del Greco all together. Good place to park for free is on Via A. Bordiga, which is a short walk from Ercolano Scavi Station (trains are cheap and a less stressful way of getting to Pompei or Naples for a day out). You can also walk from that street down to the archaeological site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The B&B is absolutely wonderful, and Enza is a fantastic hostess. She greeted us each morning with a delicious breakfast, then would sit and discuss our plans for the day. She provided suggestions and directions whenever we needed them. Our room was lovely with a comfortable bed, and plenty of closet space. The bathroom, though a bit small, was more than sufficient. After spending a full day at Pompeii, followed by a ride along the Amalfi Coast, it was great being able to sit on the terrace and watch the sunset over the Bay of Naples while drinking some wine (and beer). So relaxing after a grueling day of being a tourist. We've been to 10 countries so far this trip, and Herculaneum B&B is by far the best place we've stayed. Grazi, Enza, for making feel so welcome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Warm and friendly B&B, a countryside feeling on the slopes of the Vesuvius and only 15 min to car park BRIN in Napoli (easy ride).
We felt completely at home in this B&B. Would like to come back to taste the pomodores cultivated around the house with motherly care ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Herculaneum B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herculaneum B&B

Address: Via Luigi Palmieri 173/H, 80056 Ercolano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ercolano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ercolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Herculaneum B&B 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herculaneum B&B is located in the foothills of Mount Vesuvio, in a dominant position, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and its adjacent coastline. It's a B&B apartment on the ground-floor of a modern two-storey villa, surrounded by open spaces in a beautiful natural scenery. Both B&B bedrooms and common areas have recently been redesigned and refurbished, with focus on the needs of prospective guests, just to make it a very cozy place for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Herculaneum B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herculaneum B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.