We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel in the Vesuvius National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Sentiero

Save Saved
You added Il Sentiero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Sentiero
Via Vesuvio, 69 | Piano delle Ginestre, 80056 Ercolano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Ercolano
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great small hotel in the Vesuvius National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Our family of four (two eight year olds) stayed here for four nights in late October. The hotel is small, modern and very clean and well run, and sits on the outskirts of Ercolano, literally on the slopes of Vesuvius, with panoramic views of the bay of Naples. There is a walking trail behind the hotel which leads up into the woods. Our quadruple room was good value. Breakfast was simple pastries and bread, and we had one evening meal in the hotel which was absolutely delicious: real Italian home cooked food. I would highly recommend il Sentiero as a base for visiting Vesuvius, Herculaneum, Pompeii, the Amalfi coast etc.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here in order to visit the ruins at Herculaneum.. This is only a 10 minute downhill drive away and yet out in the peaceful countryside on the slopes of Vesuvius. Very helpful hosts and modern comfortable room on the second floorwith airconditioner and bathroom (no elevator). The hotel has its own large area of ground to explore but we were happy in the garden gazing at the sunset. Dinner in the hotel one night (must be preordered by 3'ish on the day) was very tasty, simple and well cooked. A lovely place to stay, avoiding the hustle and bustle of Ercolano. All the important sites are easily reachable from here. It is off the main Via Vesuvio, up a bumpy road (not unusual in this part of the world!), and easy to find if you look for the house numbers ... It's really well worth the effort to find it and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Managed to end up here after other booking for hotel nr airport fell through.

This is a splendid location with really friendly proprietors, there is a fabulous view over the bay, with a heady scent of the broom flowering in june its a magical location.
The food is excellent, best served with a glass of local wine.

Rooms are clean, tidy, modern, and can offer stunning views over the bay, or up to the crater rim of Vesuvius.
There is. Free wifi.

Enjoy a walk p to the re, it,ll take a few hours.

Excellent il sentiero is much recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a newly and creatively renovated hotel/B&B on the slopes of Vesuvius. The proprietor is fantastic. We were hiking and didn't have a car so he drove us to a restaurant and back (although he does serve dinner, on this night the kitchen wasn't open). The next day he even drove us up to Vesuvius, from where we walked to the crater. The rooms and bathrooms are very nice and new. There is lots of seating outside with great views of the Bay of Naples. From the roof terrace you have an excellent view of Vesuvius. Breakfast was very good. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay our first night in Italy, after a late flight in and Il Sentiero looked like it would be great. It wasn't, it was even better. It was the two of us and our daughter who's a little under 3. We had such a great time we stayed for another three nights on our way back from the Amalfi coast.

The hotel is the last building on the edge of Ercolano with nothing but open ground between it and Vesuvius. There is a roof terrace where you can drink in this view and the whole vista of the bay of Naples, from Naples itself on the right to the Amalfi coast and Capri on the left. Head up there at night, you won't be disappointed.

The staff are really, really, really nice. A brother and sister owner / operator pair for whom nothing is too much trouble and the same goes for the cook/housekeeper and the night watchman. The rooms are new, very well appointed, spacious and private. All have a view either of the bay or Vesuvius. Everything is spotlessly clean in the rooms.

Our daughter had a great time cuddling the hotel cat (which was massively pregnant), chatting to Paolo (who spoke almost no English but was great with her) and going to see the horses they keep (with Paolo also).

There's a great pizzeria, La Rocha, within walking distance down the hill. Pompei is an easy drive away and the Ercolano (Herculaneum) archaeological site is stupidly close. With that and Vesuvius for starters there's no lack of things to do.

When we go back this part of the world we WILL stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front look over the bay which is rather special at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Very nice and comfortable place to stay in the Napels-area.
Hidden on Vesuvius' slope (probably one of the last premises that can be reached at the border of the Nat'l Park) we found this nice and modern little hotel, with a beautiful garden and terrace overlooking the Napels bay.
Manager Alessandra and her brother Paolo are very helpful; the hotel has all modern facilities and comfort.
Good location as starting point to visit Napels, the Pompei and Herculaneum archeological sites,the Napels bay-area.. we even went as far as Paestum.
And of course: the Vesuvius , it's Nat'L Park and it's summit are within walking distance!

It was a relief each time, after a hectic day in Naples, to come "home" and relax and have diner in the garden here, overlooking the frantic city at a distance down our feet!
Traveling to Napels from here is very convenient by train: the circumvesuviano-station in Ercolano is only a 10 minutes drive down by car...the train gets you to Napels in 20 minutes.

Do check the location of the hotel carefully (on google-maps with streetview for instance) before you come: it is at the end of a steep secundary road where one would not expect to find a hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

This was a wonderful hotel. The location was serene with a beautiful view over the Gulf of Naples. You can relax all day in the comfortable lawn chairs with a good book and a glass of wine. The location was convenient to visit the scavi of Ercolano (a short taxi ride). The meals were terrific with a wonderful cook who attended to all of our various food allergies/issues. And, I should add that the location is very child friendly. My 5-year old son said that he wanted to live there. What more can I say. You will need to arrive in a car or taxi -- bring a book and enjoy the peace and view.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Sentiero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Sentiero

Address: Via Vesuvio, 69 | Piano delle Ginestre, 80056 Ercolano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ercolano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Ercolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Il Sentiero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Sentiero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.