We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantatic view from high up on Vesuvius” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Sentiero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Sentiero to your Saves list
Il Sentiero
Via Vesuvio, 69 | Piano delle Ginestre, 80056 Ercolano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ercolano
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Fantatic view from high up on Vesuvius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Managed to end up here after other booking for hotel nr airport fell through.

This is a splendid location with really friendly proprietors, there is a fabulous view over the bay, with a heady scent of the broom flowering in june its a magical location.
The food is excellent, best served with a glass of local wine.

Rooms are clean, tidy, modern, and can offer stunning views over the bay, or up to the crater rim of Vesuvius.
There is. Free wifi.

Enjoy a walk p to the re, it,ll take a few hours.

Excellent il sentiero is much recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a newly and creatively renovated hotel/B&B on the slopes of Vesuvius. The proprietor is fantastic. We were hiking and didn't have a car so he drove us to a restaurant and back (although he does serve dinner, on this night the kitchen wasn't open). The next day he even drove us up to Vesuvius, from where we walked to the crater. The rooms and bathrooms are very nice and new. There is lots of seating outside with great views of the Bay of Naples. From the roof terrace you have an excellent view of Vesuvius. Breakfast was very good. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay our first night in Italy, after a late flight in and Il Sentiero looked like it would be great. It wasn't, it was even better. It was the two of us and our daughter who's a little under 3. We had such a great time we stayed for another three nights on our way back from the Amalfi coast.

The hotel is the last building on the edge of Ercolano with nothing but open ground between it and Vesuvius. There is a roof terrace where you can drink in this view and the whole vista of the bay of Naples, from Naples itself on the right to the Amalfi coast and Capri on the left. Head up there at night, you won't be disappointed.

The staff are really, really, really nice. A brother and sister owner / operator pair for whom nothing is too much trouble and the same goes for the cook/housekeeper and the night watchman. The rooms are new, very well appointed, spacious and private. All have a view either of the bay or Vesuvius. Everything is spotlessly clean in the rooms.

Our daughter had a great time cuddling the hotel cat (which was massively pregnant), chatting to Paolo (who spoke almost no English but was great with her) and going to see the horses they keep (with Paolo also).

There's a great pizzeria, La Rocha, within walking distance down the hill. Pompei is an easy drive away and the Ercolano (Herculaneum) archaeological site is stupidly close. With that and Vesuvius for starters there's no lack of things to do.

When we go back this part of the world we WILL stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front look over the bay which is rather special at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Very nice and comfortable place to stay in the Napels-area.
Hidden on Vesuvius' slope (probably one of the last premises that can be reached at the border of the Nat'l Park) we found this nice and modern little hotel, with a beautiful garden and terrace overlooking the Napels bay.
Manager Alessandra and her brother Paolo are very helpful; the hotel has all modern facilities and comfort.
Good location as starting point to visit Napels, the Pompei and Herculaneum archeological sites,the Napels bay-area.. we even went as far as Paestum.
And of course: the Vesuvius , it's Nat'L Park and it's summit are within walking distance!

It was a relief each time, after a hectic day in Naples, to come "home" and relax and have diner in the garden here, overlooking the frantic city at a distance down our feet!
Traveling to Napels from here is very convenient by train: the circumvesuviano-station in Ercolano is only a 10 minutes drive down by car...the train gets you to Napels in 20 minutes.

Do check the location of the hotel carefully (on google-maps with streetview for instance) before you come: it is at the end of a steep secundary road where one would not expect to find a hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

This was a wonderful hotel. The location was serene with a beautiful view over the Gulf of Naples. You can relax all day in the comfortable lawn chairs with a good book and a glass of wine. The location was convenient to visit the scavi of Ercolano (a short taxi ride). The meals were terrific with a wonderful cook who attended to all of our various food allergies/issues. And, I should add that the location is very child friendly. My 5-year old son said that he wanted to live there. What more can I say. You will need to arrive in a car or taxi -- bring a book and enjoy the peace and view.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Be sure to get directions from the proprietor before you go, since google maps will send you to the wrong location. Otherwise note the EXACT location very carefully and follow a very good map. Beautifully designed building with lovely grounds and long views of Naples, the bay and Vesuvius. Room was very modern, clean, quiet and comfortable. Paolo provided an excellent restaurant recommendation at Ristorante La Roccia, mere steps away - excellent food and service. Breakfast included a croissant, completed by the cappuccino. We only stayed one night but should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room w a view of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Il Sentiero is located right on the slopes of Vesuvius. Fantastic location especially for visiting either Vesuvius or Herculaneum. Be warned though that the roads in the area are difficult to navigate if you don't have a good quality map, we were driving around for over half an hour within about a mile of the hotel before we finally found it (it is up a narrow and steep road which really doesn't look like it has a gorgeous hotel at the top of it).

The hotel itself was very modern, contemporary design, extremely comfortable and very good value for money. The staff were proficient and helpful and the view was great. All around a brilliant hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Sentiero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Sentiero

Address: Via Vesuvio, 69 | Piano delle Ginestre, 80056 Ercolano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ercolano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ercolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Il Sentiero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Sentiero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.