We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Meal. Near where I live” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sumbul

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sumbul
134 Cardiff Road | Aberaman, Aberdare, Wales
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Aberdare
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Greater London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal. Near where I live”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The food was suberb and the atmosphere very welcoming. We chose varied starters - the lamb mix is a tad spicy, the stuffed vine leaves nice with a dip of yoghurt, calamari a bit tired but when you share a few starters, they kind of kick in and hit the spot. Seemed fresh, tasted nice, well seasoned. Mains were fat free with a nice side salad and a pot of rice. Quality not quantity, and the quality is worth trying. All in all, a very nice experience and we will return in about a month.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you are looking for a good value Turkish meal with authentic charcoal grill this is the place, the mixed mezze is a great starter with some authentic homemade dishes accompanied with warm flatbread, lots of veggie options and the choice of meat and fish is impressive, the lamb babanos mixes spicy tender lamb with a tangy garlic yoghurt and grilled veg. Some nights some dishes run out but with such a selection available I have always left happy. Check it out and if you have time enjoy a cold Turkish efes beer beforehand.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Kebabilicious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to the restaurant for a nice family meal, having decided to try something closer than going to the Bay.

It was a 'nice', friendly, local, up market kebab house which was good value.

Although we did enjoy our evening we were all disappointed with the quality of the food and many of the items we requested were not available.

Nice for one trip but we won't be hurrying back; next time we will make the effort to travel that bit further.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Europe
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Worth a drive from Pontypridd! Lovely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a little gem, hidden in a traditional valleys village. Charging valleys prices for top quality meat and vegetarian dishes. Just returned form a night out. You walk into a cozy restaurant with charcoal fires and a wood oven. The food is cooked in front of you and is very pleasant. Tonight, we all had variations on a theme. Marinated Lamb and Chicken dishes cooked on an open fire, served with rice and salad with flatbreads. The meats come in sauce or dry, according to your taste, and spicy or non-spicy as you wish.
A delightful little place. Will return and will try to take a group of friends. Really worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“what a nice meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have you been to Sumbul in Aberaman? No, then you need to go. The food is cooked fresh infront of you over charcoal by the owner Mehmet, and i can tell you he is a great chef. His wife Gul is front of house and a good host.
They mainly cook traditional Turkish fayre from chicken, lamb, and sea bass, but also cater for the non venturious types who just want english. They have a good wine list and serve a nice cold Efs larger.
When there save room for a soufle and a traditional turkish coffee. Push the boat out and enjoy a relaxing 'nargile' or 'sheesha' as some call it , outside on the swing chair.
Hope this has been helpful, forgot to mention as food is preped and cooked fresh, there can be a delay , but why rush! Turkish time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumbul also viewed

Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf
 
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf
 

Been to Sumbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.