We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Glancynon Inn

Glancynon Inn
Swansea Road | Hirwaun, Aberdare, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Aberdare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Terrible food. Terrible service. Owner barks at staff in front of customers, how unprofessional! Dirty scruffy and smelly decor. Needs badly updating!!!

Avoid at all cost!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    7
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Magor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Sunday lunchtime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went there for lunch after visiting the Penderyn Distillery for a tour with wife and my in-laws. Ate upstairs in the restaurant. Good service, good quality food and good value.

Would recommend to anyone visiting the area. There are not a huge number of eateries in the local area, so it's good that the Glancynon is there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not all it is cracked up to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ate there last night, booked a table in the restaurant but when we got there were told the restaurant was closed on Mondays and our table was in the bar. Ordered the pan fried sea bass with risotto from the specials, skin charcoal like, fish really dry, risotto like cold rice pudding.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great quality food and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a large village pub with Restauraunt. We visited for Sunday lunch and it was excellent the food was of very high quality and all excellent value to.
The waiters were very attentive and topped us up with extra gravy and vegetables as required.
For a great quality Sunday lunch this is the place.
Andrew, Ilona, Emilia, Luca & Rosa

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“left hungry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I ordered halibut but it was so overcooked I couldn't chew it. When I complained the waiter just shrugged his shoulders and took it away. There was no offer of replacement or refund. Very disappointing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glancynon Inn also viewed

Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf
 
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taf
 

Been to Glancynon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glancynon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.