We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ruby for miles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the Downham Tandoori

the Downham Tandoori
56 High St, Downham Market PE38 9HH, England (Formerly Downham Tandoori And Balti House)
01366386110
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Probably the best indian restaurant in the west norfolk, family run restaurant since 1996. FULLY LICENSED BAR, FULLY AIR CONDITIONED
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Ruby for miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

It's only 10 minutes walk for us as we are local. Curries are not drenched in Ghee. Salt and chef relies on flavour rather than heat. Very polite accommodating staff in nice surroundings. Best Indian food for miles.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    90
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kings lynn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very welcoming,nice atmosphere,good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Visited this indian last night,lovely food,great service,very well priced
Will definately be going back for more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fairly average but not bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We visited The Downham Tandoori last week and found it to fairly average Indian cuisine. Lets be fair, its not bad but nothing special either. It certainly has not moved with the times and moved forward like a lot of asian restaurants have with modern styling and lighter,more delicate flavoured dishes. Service was good and prices were totally as I would expect. So,if you like your Indian restaurants to be as they were 20 years ago,then this is your place.. Would I go again? Well, I wouldnt totally discount it. Would I recommend it? I may, but i would add that there is a better Indian down the road!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent but not exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The service was flawless. The particular dish I chose (Chicken Shaslic/Shashlik) was disappointing: comparing this restaurant with my local in Canterbury there were two small pieces of green pepper, severely burnt onions, and pretty ordinary pieces of marinated chicken. The Peshwari nan was good. TBH I think Downham Market Tandoori needs a bit more competition!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Wet miserable evening saw me in the Downham Tandoori.
met with a nice friendly waiter.
meal was good but not exceptional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Downham Tandoori also viewed

Downham Market, Norfolk
Downham Market, Norfolk
 

Been to the Downham Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the Downham Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.