We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ecocamp Patagonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ecocamp Patagonia to your Saves list
Ecocamp Patagonia
Torres del Paine National Park, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Denmark, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The position of the Ecocamp is awe inspiring. The views the stars wow! We loved being here and the whole Eco concept sits well with us & our ideals. The guides on all our treks were awesome, knowledgable, fun & hard working with a very good handle on the English language. Our only disappointment was the kitchen & wait staff who never smiled & made us feel almost rushed & unwelcome. The food was mostly average & pack lunch breads soggy. The bar hardly opens & when it does no ones interested. HAPPY HOUR happens daily but ones happy to see you!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments, fantastic you found the location awe-inspiring and agreed with our eco values. We will pass on your comments to our 'awesome, knowledgable, fun & hard working' guides! And will feedback the details about the kitchen staff, we are always trying to improve our services and the last thing you should feel is rushed or unwelcome. We are also always trying to improve the food and are looking into what happened with the bar. Thank you again and we hope you will look back on your trip with fond memories. Saludos from Chile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    57
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
161
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Don't expect a 5 star hotel. This is an ecocamp that does exactly what it says on the tin. My partner and I stayed at Ecocamp in February 2014 for 6 days and found it to be the best combination between evening comforts and trekking parts of the famous W. The weather was absolutely perfect by the time we were hiking the French Valley and Towers Base. The challenge is trying not to fall asleep in your home made dinners and wine after a day of trekking.

The guides were excellent and very good with their English. Our main guide was Diego who was excellent. If you happen to have a Go-Pro, ask him for the 'Go-Pro Go' and buy him a piscola in the bar after.

We were also incredibly fortunate to see a puma on our first night inside the camp and last day on the way to the Grey Glacier.

Room Tip: Superior Cabins for your own shower, toilet and fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments! We like your phrase "This is an ecocamp that does exactly what it says on the tin" and that's good news you didn't fall asleep in your dinner! We will pass on your comments to the guides, especially Diego. How lucky to see a puma! We hope to welcome you back in the future, saludos de Chile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We are expats living in South America for some years so we know that there are amazing places to visit here and have quite a lot on our bucket list. One of them is for sure Patagonia. We arrived to Ecocamp after spending some time in a nearby estancia (Cerro Gido).
Ecocamp was supposed to be the “jewel” of our trip. We chose it because we are hikers and this was supposed to be the right place for hiking.
It is definitely a nice lodge to use as a base camp, although it could be much better with so little improvements, that will of course involve some additional costs for its owners. I guess that this is a cash cow in high season and it is being “milked” at a 150% rate. It’s been a trend lately to justify unacceptable situations with the excuse of being “eco friendly”.
We appreciate that it is a camp but we have stayed in some amazing camps in Africa some years ago and they were tidy, well appointed and nicely decorated.
Our dome was not clean and did not smell well. The common areas were crowded during the evenings. Food and wines were of poor quality.
Some of the guides were really knowledgeable and nice but we got to know that there are amazing guides in most of the hotels in the area. Location of the camp is really good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Communications Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you are happy with our location and find our guides really knowledgeable.

Our entire ethos hinges on sustainability - EcoCamp’s design, structure, implementation and maintenance is ISO 14001 certified, which is the highest international sustainability standard. Micro-hydro turbines, solar panels and composting toilets are just part of what represents a best practice example of sustainable tourism in the wilderness!

It is disappointing to hear that the EcoCamp was not up to par, as we pride ourselves in providing a quality service in a remote, unique location. We lament the fact that you could not enjoy the same experience as the vast majority of guests.

Best wishes,
Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiego
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I did the modified W-route trek with Eco Camp in the end of Feb., loved our guide (Natalia, a young Chilena) and loved the location; plus the pre-trip coordination and the transport services. I have hiked here before without a tour company and can compare both experiences. The EcoCamp modified W-trek cherry-picks the hiking in Torres del Paine and if you can afford it, (and don't want to sleep on the ground, or spend all your time in a bunkbed in a refugio)...go for it! Eco Camp has a awesome location, so close to the Towers and one night we saw a puma.! As far as a place to sleep and eat, frankly, I enjoyed the hotel "down the street", a lot more...Hosteria Las Torres..but that is just me. This is a camp. Bathrooms stink, (though the showers are awesome), and the silly domes are hard to enter if you are kinda tall. The food is served in a cozy dining room with lovely chafing dishes, it is all very gourmet. And mostly pretty good! All that said, the overall experience is cool, expect some hiccups, I had a major one, but hey...it IS international travel.
If this is your only chance to experience to hike in Torres del Paine and backpacking is not for you, give it a tumble!

Room Tip: Superior domes ! the standard domes have this wacky entrance, though everything else about a standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Communications Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you, we always appreciate feedback. Great to hear that you loved our superb location and the guided hikes with Natalia. And how exciting that you were able to see a puma! Also I will pass on the positive feedback to EcoCamp’s chef regarding the food, served in our cozy Community Domes.
Regarding the smell in the bathrooms, this was an unfortunate downfall which has been solved and will not occur again.
I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our services. We are always looking for ways to improve, and we hope that your “hiccups” will not prevent you from visiting Chile again someday!

Very best wishes,
Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entraygues-sur-Truyere, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were looking forward to this part of our seven week trip but in the event it was a big dissapointment. The service was poor, the common buildings were dirty, the food was extemely poor quality, guests were hustled around according to some unknown agenda, wine was "included" but one bottle for six adults seems a little mean - it felt a little like boot-camp. The location is stunning and the guides were extremely good and attentive and we did some amazing hikes. But for what we paid the quality of service at Ecocamp is not what they promise or what one would expect. We would not go back.

Room Tip: The Suite Domes have log fire and bathroom - standard rooms are cold and a trek from bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Communications Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you, we always appreciate feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed the superb location and guided hikes. We work hard to deliver the highest quality of food given the remote location of the National Park. Dinner includes one bottle of wine for every 3 guests - we are sorry to hear that was not the case, and we are looking into why this may have happened.

Please accept our apologies, rest assured we strive to provide service which we feel fits with the high quality product we offer and will be taking steps to ensure that these service standards are met with every single guest.

Your comments have been noted, and we will be working to make improvements. Meanwhile, we hope you will look back on your 7 weeks Chile trip with fond memories.

Very best wishes,
Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was the only disappointment in a seven week trip to Chile. We were staying in deluxe, boutique lodges throughout.
The suite domes at the camp are very attractive and comfortable in every way. Thewater is always hot and heat is available in the bedroom and in the bathroom.
The guides are very nice and quite knowledgeable.
What makes this camp so very disappointing and unpleasant? My major complaint is that we paid a lot of money and felt that we were subsidizing most of the guests who paid far less. Every one, even people who stay in tents outside the camp, eat together, are given the same food and partake of the same activities. there is no personalized attention whatsoever.
The number of guests is way too many for the size of the common spaces which are available.
We were always pushed around. Often there were no,seats for us to sit or even find a place at a table during meals.
The food is simply dreadful. The house wines are so poor that they are un drinkable. This in a country which produces so much wine and frequently at very reasonable prices.
The lack of hospitality when we arrived was shocking. There is no warmth whatsoever.
If you are a high-end traveler, avoid this place.

Room Tip: Only choose the suite dome if you insist upon visiting this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear you found our Suite Domes attractive and comfortable, and we agree our guides are very nice and knowledgeable. Regarding the issue about payment, even though you visited as a travel professional on a familiarisation trip (FAM) we still have to charge normal rates - albeit with the relevant tour operator discount. We find the wealthy and sophisticated traveller is moving away from the traditional concept of luxury towards a more authentic, culturally honest idea of high end travel. They seek personal transformation and look for journeys involving powerful and immersive experiences. We believe EcoCamp is the perfect place to bring adventurers together in the heart of Torres del Paine National Park, this means our Suite Dome, Superior Dome and Standard Dome guests share certain parts of their experience, including the communal areas. We understand that this setup may not be to everyone's liking but we are also overwhelmed by comments from guests (including many high-end travellers) who find the warmth, hospitality and shared aspect of Ecocamp particularly special and unique. We will pass on your comments about the service and food - we are always working to make improvements - and we hope you will look back on your 7 weeks Chile trip with fond memories and wish you and your company all the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Ecocamp was absolutely amazing. The domes were cozy and warm, with skylights to see the stars at night. The bathrooms were just like home; very clean, lots of hot water and tastefully decorated. I can't say enough about the great service and amazing food. They have put alot of work into making Ecocamp a destination and it shows. This is the way trekking is meant to be!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Lovely to hear your thoughts - we can't help but agree that Ecocamp is absolutely amazing! That's great you were cozy in your dome and enjoyed stargazing at night. We will pass on your comments about the great service and amazing food to the team - many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecocamp Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecocamp Patagonia

Address: Torres del Paine National Park, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EcoCamp is situated in the very heart of Torres del Paine National Park and provides the region’s first fully sustainable accommodation, complete with green technology. You enjoy guided treks and wildlife excursions by day and share evening meals with new friends, before falling asleep gazing up at the star-filled sky through your dome ceiling. Wake up in the middle of the Patagonian wilderness in a cozy geodesic dome, with a panoramic view of the majestic Torres del Paine, ready to pick up the hiking trail!EcoCamp Patagonia is a tribute to Kaweskar dwellings and way of life. The basic premise in designing the EcoCamp was to maintain the nomadic spirit of Patagonia’s ancient inhabitants. EcoCamp Patagonia is the 1st sustainable accommodation south of the Amazon, and the only one of its kind in Patagonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ecocamp Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecocamp Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Ecocamp Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecocamp Patagonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.