We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous base camp for exploring Torres del Paine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecocamp Patagonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ecocamp Patagonia to your Saves list
Ecocamp Patagonia
Torres del Paine National Park, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cave Junction, OR
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous base camp for exploring Torres del Paine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Overall, we spent four nights at Ecocamp as part of hiking the W circuit. We arrived late in the afternoon and spent one night then headed up into the mountains and spent the next two nights at refugios. We returned to Ecocamp and spent three more nights, hiking to the towers one day, out into the lowlands one day and then headed off the last morning for our next adventure at Easter Island. I will admit when we first arrived I was a bit concerned. We were travelling in early November and the weather was initially quite cold with a fierce wind blowing. We stayed in a standard dome which has no heating and I was concerned we would be cold at night. However, once we crawled into the super comfortable bed, equipped with flannel sheets and a wealth of blankets, I couldn't have been warmer or more content. Looking through the skylight at the mountains was delightful and being able to watch the sun set and rise from the comfort of the bed was a luxury. The standard domes share a set of bathrooms that were kept spotlessly clean. The showers were hot and large fluffy towels were provided. When we returned to Ecocamp after hiking for three days, the weather had changed and the sun had come out. The domes get hot during the day but why anyone would want to be inside when the weather is glorious is a mystery. By the time we were ready to go to bed, the dome had cooled off and we slept great. If you come with the right attitude and willingness to experience something different, you will most likely love Ecocamp.

We found the food at Ecocamp to be just fine. Breakfast consisted of cereal, yogurt, breads, scrambled eggs, fruit, juice and coffee. It was always well prepared and plentiful. We packed our own lunches for hiking and a wide array of sandwich materials were available. For dinner we had our choice of three appetizers, three entrees and three desserts. We thought the dinners were inventive and ample and thoroughly enjoyed them.

Paying more for a superior dome with its own heating system and bathroom is a matter of choice. The one cold night, we stayed very warm and snug under blankets. The shared bathroom/showers worked fine for us. We didn't spend much time in the dome other than to sleep. There are plenty of indoor and outdoor sitting areas at Ecocamp if you find time on your hands.

Overall, we couldn't have been more pleased with our Ecocamp experience. Torres del Paine is a fantastic area and Ecocamp seems in alignment with the environment.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the standard dome, but if you want a private bathroom and a heating system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Community Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your feedback, we are so happy you enjoyed your four nights at EcoCamp and that you were warm and content!

The skylights in our standard domes provide unique stargazing from the comfort of your bed - that’s great it was a highlight for you.

Our chefs work hard to prepare food in this remote park - we will pass on your feedback about the food being inventive and enjoyable!

Very best wishes,
Gabriela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    57
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
163
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Ecocamp was a fantastic place to spend our honeymoon and to explore Torres del Paine. We stayed in a superior dome so had our own onsuite bathroom and the dome was really warm and comfortable. The quality of the food was great and the 5 day W trek was an amazing experience. Our guide Xabi was incredibly knowledgeable about the park and had a real passion for the area which was infectious. I would recommend Ecocamp as a better value option for those thinking of going to Torres Del Paine as some of the other hotels are really over priced and at Ecocamp you feel more like you are actually in the landscape.

One minor point for Ecocamp though would be an issue with cash when visiting the camp when travelling from Argentina. We ended up with no Chilean pesos as staff forgot to take us to an ATM so maybe they need to be a little more aware that if someone is travelling into Chile from elsewhere it is helpful to be able to get to an ATM so when at the camp you can pay for drinks in the bar and tips for the guides etc..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Public Relations Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
So happy you had a lovely honeymoon with us on your 5 day W Trek!

Will pass on ATM message to staff but in any case you can pay drinks, tips etc in dollars at EcoCamp, no problem.

Enjoy your next adventure!

All the best,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in a standard dome. The entire experience was fantastic, with a team of great people who make you feel welcome throughout your stay. The lunch and diners are very very nice, the breakfast is average. The guides that take you on tours in small groups are very good and knowledgeable. The location of the camp is fantastic - with views over the Torres and the valley. I would definitely recommend anyone planning to visit the park to stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Public Relations Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your very positive feedback! We’re glad you had such a great time!

Best,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I want to start with the positives. Great staff that does whatever they can to please their guests. Great and healthy food with some gorgeous hiking and very informative guides. My favorite was Gonzalo. The idea of the camp is great but it’s just not fully executed. ECO doesn't have to mean ECOnomy. You can be comfortable and be Eco friendly. What I saw was plastic trash bags, paper towels, propane and very little solar energy use. We were promised 24/7 hot water but cold showers were not uncommon. We made fuss about it and then the propane heaters get fired up. We stayed in a standard dome the first two nights and froze our donkies up. You might be alright in the summer but shoulder season and winter is very cold. God forbid you have to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. We had no lights in the room at all and its pitch dark. Some domes got flash lights. Trying to make your way to the outdoor bathroom can be a bit tricky with an added excitement of bumping into some wildlife. To get into the standard dome can be a bit tricky if you are a larger or taller person, since they are hobbit size.
My advice is: do yourself a favor and get the suite dome. It has its own shower and bathroom, fireplace, and electricity. It still looks rustic and after a long day of hiking you can go into your ward dome and take a nice hot shower, you've earned it. You still need a flash light to get around the camp though so bring one.

Room Tip: get the suite dome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Public Relations Manager at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and glad you enjoyed most aspects of EcoCamp! To clarify we have both paper towels and towels in the bathrooms and if the shower water is ever cold it’s because the tank has run out and 20 minutes later lots of hot water will be newly available, direct from our solar water heating system. I’m sorry you weren’t given a flashlight, there should always be one available for each dome, we will investigate why you weren’t given one.

I’m glad you enjoyed the hiking, guides and food!

Best wishes,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I had an excellent time at Ecocamp. I stayed in one of the standard domes and was surprised at how warm and comfortable they are. The ablution facilities are more than adequate and convenient. The food was great! I have the extra weight to vouch... The choices given for excursions were balanced, the guides were always informative and able to answer questions and share interesting stories. I highly recommend staying at Ecocamp. Thank you for the holiday of a lifetime and memories to take with me for years to come!
Esté

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your very positive feedback, we’re so happy you had the holiday of a lifetime!

Warm regards,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We started off our honeymoon with a trip down to Patagonia at EcoCamp. What a trip! I can't say enough to descibe what a fantastic experience. The domes were wonderful and the hiking was incredible! Our guides were Juan and Roberto and they were just awesome! I will say that this is not a relaxing trip. The hikes were tough, but worth it! Its early mornings were you are out all day until dinner! The people we met in our group were all wonderful as well. We just had a blast!

We did the short Torres del Paine short W Trek and it was great. I have to say though that the hike to the Towers about did me in. Be ready for a work out but it was so worth it!

Thank you EcoCamp for doing what you do!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your comment, the beautiful photos and choosing to start your honeymoon at EcoCamp! So glad you had a great time!

All the best,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The ecocamp is one of a kind. We stayed at a suite doom only for one night but it was an experience to remember. Views are amazing, food is delicious and staff members are very kind. If you are considering to hike from ecocamp to the Torres base i would suggest to start early in the morning and not at noon because it's quite far for one day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoCamp-Patagonia, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ecocamp Patagonia, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for leaving your feedback, we’re very glad you enjoyed the EcoCamp experience!

Best wishes,
Gemma, EcoCamp Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecocamp Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecocamp Patagonia

Address: Torres del Paine National Park, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EcoCamp is situated in the very heart of Torres del Paine National Park and provides the region’s first fully sustainable accommodation, complete with green technology. You enjoy guided treks and wildlife excursions by day and share evening meals with new friends, before falling asleep gazing up at the star-filled sky through your dome ceiling. Wake up in the middle of the Patagonian wilderness in a cozy geodesic dome, with a panoramic view of the majestic Torres del Paine, ready to pick up the hiking trail!EcoCamp Patagonia is a tribute to Kaweskar dwellings and way of life. The basic premise in designing the EcoCamp was to maintain the nomadic spirit of Patagonia’s ancient inhabitants. EcoCamp Patagonia is the 1st sustainable accommodation south of the Amazon, and the only one of its kind in Patagonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ecocamp Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecocamp Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Ecocamp Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecocamp Patagonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.