We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel in a Beautiful Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Pehoe

Save Saved
You added Hosteria Pehoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hosteria Pehoe
Parque Nacional Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Old Hotel in a Beautiful Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel located in a mini island inside the Torres Del Paine National Park for 2 nights during summer. The main draw of this hotel is its beautiful surroundings. You have to cross a spanned bridge to get into and out of the hotel grounds from your car.

Other than that, the hotel is very old and in need of a refurbishment. Service was slow due to lack of staff at the front desk and more so at the restaurant. Food quality was below average given the price the restaurant was asking. There was very limited selection for breakfast.

The hotel room was old and dark reminiscent of a room from the 70s. Furnishing looked old and jaded as was the small bathroom.

The only positive aspect of our stay was the beautiful surroundings of the hotel. Management needs to improve service efficiency, food quality and refurbish the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    37
    30
    22
    13
See reviews for
6
66
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The location is of course wonderful, but what you pay is exaggerate. The online management is totally unfriendly, while the staff at the hotel is. Rooms needs to be refurbished and they are small.
In french you would say "arnaque"; however, I think it does apply to most hotel in the park

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We chose this hotel for its "centralish"location in the park - if you have a car it is easy to get to almost anywhere you should wish to- and the fact that it was on an island with wonderful views across the lake, and it certainly delivered on both criteria.
Sadly on almost every other dimension it is poor. The food in the restaurant (where you have to eat if hungry) is like school dinners but at West End prices. The breakfast comprises tinned fruit, some of those garishly coloured cakes that taste of nothing so beloved by patagonions, and the unique achievement of burnt but soggy toast.
The whole hotel is in desperate need of some refurbishment as it would appear that nothing has been done for at least 20 years or so. Our "superior" room had a radiator that leaked water all over the floor if switched on, the shower was a thin single stream , with no hot water during the day, and the electric socket fell off the wall- not a good thing at any time but particularly disturbing when the floor is soaking wet.
Visit for a drink to enjoy the view but stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torres del Paine National Park hotels

Wageningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We chose hosteria Pehoe for 5 days as our base for hiking Torres del Paine. If you have a rental car and use the ferries over the lakes, you can split up the entire W-trek into day hikes from here. This is a very bad overpriced hotel on a perfect location. The food is truly horrible and everything (drinks, snacks) is terribly expensive. So bring some supplies from Puerto Natales when you go here. Every morning you get burnt toast. Luckily there is a parilla at the campsite a few kilometres down the road. Very recommendable.
Rooms are adequate, a bit dark and not very clean. Only a few premium rooms have some kind of view. Seems not really worth the extra costs. On the upside: there is a 5 minute trail from a stair leading up to the top of the small island where the hotel is built and we sat there for hours just watching the magnificent scenery. (We had great wheather). A very quiet and lovely spot with a worldclass view.
I would stay here again, but only because of the location. It is the most central spot in the park. It is quite overpriced, but you pay for the privilege of being inside TdP, not for the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed there on Christmas Eve 2012, and it was great. We were in the midst of the W-trek. The service was great, the staff were very attentive, and the dinner was well prepared. Of course, the view dominates so much of the experience, but all in our party were happy with their dinners and breakfasts, and the service was good even though it was Christmas Eve and Christmas morning. The view from the dining room is jaw-dropping and so, too, was the view from our room. The room was quite comfortable and had an in-suite bath.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratteln
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The view certainly is one of the best in the park, but it still is not worth the money in my opinion (as the rooms itselves are not that spectacular/modern).
Also, the food was/is very poor and from low quality (we do not have big expectations in food, but the food there was really not good, but as it is the only restaurant nearby, you depend no it).
Another bad experience I made was with the price: They confirmed me a lower price by email and charged me a higher one when we checked out. When we told it to the man on the reception, he told us, that we have to pay the higher price because this is the right one. A lot of emails so far did not lead to anything, I am wondering if I will be re-imboursed the difference.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Plus: Most beautiful location of all hotels in the world we had ever slept in!
Minus: Price too high for the offered standard (but that is valid for most hotels in Torre del Paine NP)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria Pehoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Pehoe

Address: Parque Nacional Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
25 rooms with deprived bath, Living room, Dining room with beautiful Vista to the Pehoé Lake and the Horns of the Paine, comfortable Bar and Cafeteria. The warm refugee and burnishes attention that is given to the tourist, make of Hosteria Pehoé the ideal place for his dreamed and unforgettable vacations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hosteria Pehoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Pehoe Hotel Torres Del Paine
Hosteria Pehoe Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Pehoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.