We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small friendly hosteria with good views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Lago del Toro

Save Saved
You added Hosteria Lago del Toro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Lago del Toro
Bernardo O_Higgins National Park | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“small friendly hosteria with good views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

Our travel agents booked this for us, and my initial reaction was that it was small and a bit shabby compared to the newer Hotel Serrano which is right in front of it. Several other lodges are also in this area. I imagine that the view from this Hosteria must have been incredible before the Hotel was built, but this now blocks some of the view. It's still beautiful from the windows. I hope that there won't be any more buildings blocking the view.

We were given room 21 which is the largest one on the top floor. We had views in 3 directions. The room was large, clean and comfortable; the bathroom was small but adequate and there was hot water. The heat and light was limited to save energy, but it did not matter very much in the summer because it was light until almost ten at night anyway.

The dining/reception area was small and warm. There was one sofa, which was occupied, but we sat at the tables. If you want to sit in a large, modern lounge with a slightly better view of the mountains, it is easy to just walk across the street to the big hotel.

The staff spoke limited English but it was better than our Spanish, and we managed to communicate. We enjoyed the food, including the box lunches they made for us. The women were friendly. We were supposed to go on a kayak but it was cancelled due to the wind, so we came back and started eating our lunch on the table, and the receptionist brought us napkins and plates for our box lunch.

By the time we left two days later we had become fond of the staff and our old-fashioned room. And our view was totally better than any of the back rooms of the larger hotel!

  • Liked — view from window and friendly staff
  • Disliked — building itself not very beautiful
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London/Milan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

We like (note that we did not stay in the hotel but in a rustic cabana 20 meters from the main building):
Location, right in front of the Torres and Cuernos del Paine although not inside the national park
Size of the cabana, with decent living room and bedrooms (have you checked other options in the hotels nearby? Compared to them, you will think you have found a royal palace)
Fireplace
Be able to cook your own food when you cannot find respectable and affordable places in the surroundings
A overall feeling of natural wild environment, with horses galloping in the fields around the cabanas

We don't like:
Could be more clean (especially the kitchen tools)
Very basic furniture and décor on the poor/rustic side. But hey, they call it “cabanas” for a reason.
At the time of our visit, the surroundings were a building yard, so we expect that the sense of isolation will be soon ruined by the addition of new hotels (that anyway are already a few in the area)
Excessive cost, but all other options (in stamp-size hotel rooms nearby) seem the same, if not worst

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
209 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

I agree with most of the previous review. We did find it hard to find as there were no signs. Little English is spoken, but I realized this after my first email, as the reply was totally in Spanish and so after that I corresponded with them in Spanish.
The room was a little old fashioned. It was large, but clean and we had no problem with warmth as it was lovely sunny weather for our visit. The bathroom was very basic with no bathtub, just a shower. The food was wholesome and the wine cheaper than anywhere else we stayed in Chile. The breakfast was OK. We enjoyed the views from the small conservatory where we drank an aperitif whilst enjoying the sunset and views of the Torres del Paine landscape. We were the only guests staying and so it was very peaceful. As previously mentioned we stayed there as it was considerably cheaper than hotels in the National Park and glad that we had chosen it over the adjacent Lago Tyndall Hostelry and Hotel Rio Serrano, where coach loads of tourists were being deposited.
Very friendly staff. Satisfactory for one night.

  • Liked — Views. Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The bathroom needed updating.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

This place is a little hard to find - when you arrive, look for the signs to Hotel Rio Serrano. The staff don't speak a lot of English but that didn't cause any problems. The room is nice and big with a comfortable bed, a table and some chairs. The room got quite cold late in the afternoon before the heating was turned on, and hot water didn't seem to be available all the time. Our room was upstairs on the end closest to the generator - the noise of the generator was noticeable some of the time.

The continental breakfast was reasonable, and the homestyle food that was served for dinner was tasty and well priced.

On the afternoon we arrived we went for a walk from the hosteria, which was very pleasant. However, there's not much nearby and for the national park you will definitely want a car to get around.

I imagine that most people stay here because it is significantly cheaper than any of the hosterias inside the national park. With that in mind, we were quite satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the move
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

The hostería is the worst of those located at the entrance of Torres del Paine, in the Rio Serrano sector. The room was cold (had to sleep with woolen hat on), like the service of the personnel: incredibly slow and seemed to think the client was the one who had to wait for them... to get an answer to everything.... they were absolutely useless in providing information about the activities in the park (no prices available had to ask for everything through their radio and would hardly get any reply)
The breakfast was poor for 3 persons we were served 5 slices of toasted bread, the fruits available where only canned fruits and the portions incredibly small.
The fireplace of the reception dining area is perfectly placed for the personnel (behind the reception desk) rather than for the customers.
It might be the cheapest of Hostería but then I'd much rather recommend Posada Rio Serrano (a bed 18000 CLP/night room of max 4 people) even if you have to share the bathroom. There a friend stayed and the service was very friendly and breakfast better in a welcoming and heated dining room.
In conclusion: avoid at all costs the Hosteria Lago del Toro.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torres del Paine National Park hotels

Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2006

We stayed at the hosteria in November for 3 nights. Among all of the accomodation in Torres del Paine, this was the one with the most affordable rate (135 US/night for a double room). The bedroom was simple but clean. The breakfast/dinner room was bright and sunny with a fireplace and a woodstove that give a warm home feeling and, because you're in Torres del Paine, it has a stunning view! Breakfast is included in the rate and it's possible the have dinner for about 20$US/person. The staff at the hosteria is very helpful and friendly but even if the hosteria website is in english, nobody speak it. The only negative comment I have is on the indications how to get to the hosteria. It is located 7 miles outside the park and there's not much good road signs that indicate how to get there. The first night, we drove around 45 minutes on really bumpy roads before we finally found it . But for the rest of our stay, it was a really nice experience.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2005

We actually stayed in the cabin behind the lodge, since there were no lodge rooms available. Although it was a bit quirky, it was quiet and private, and the view from the front porch was breathtaking. We were able to take very short hot showers and had electricity during the morning and evening hours. The beds were very comfortable. Best of all, it was about half the price of even the inexpensive rooms in the park hotels (which didn't really look that great). The staff at the lodge went out of their way 24 hours a day to make us feel comfortable and welcome. We ate our breakfasts and dinners at the lodge and were very satisfied with the meals, which were also quite inexpensive by park standards. This is a great place to stay for independent, adventurous types who like to commune with nature. Note that you will almost certainly need a rental car to get around the park if you stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria Lago del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Lago del Toro

Address: Bernardo O_Higgins National Park | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hosteria Lago del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Lago Del Toro Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Lago del Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.