We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Honeymooners in Patagonia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Torres Patagonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Las Torres Patagonia to your Saves list
Las Torres Patagonia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lafayette, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Happy Honeymooners in Patagonia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Las Torres was the perfect place for us to partake in an active honeymoon. We rode horses, hiked mountains, and drank yummy Chilean wine. The staff at Las Torres was very sweet and helped make our trip exactly what we wanted - romantic and active! Their activities varied depending on the level of difficulty, which was nice because we were paired with others that matched our physical abilities. We can't wait to go back one day!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    202
    90
    50
    23
See reviews for
88
307
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Outstanding- service, food, scenery, guided tours are only option, even for backpacking. But guides are nice and knowledgeable, and the park is vast and gorgeous.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010 via mobile

The experience of a lifetime. The best of adventure and luxury. We did 3 excursions
2 on horseback with a guide and gaucho. The last rip was hiking to the towers
Which was a somewhat challenging hike for an in shape but not experienced hiker.
The guides were fantastic. The resort was in a perfect location, very close to the
Trailheads. The food was fantastic, 5 star with a great wine selection. The spa
Was a good experience, but not the best massage I have ever had. The only complaint
Was we took our own transportation to the park(by boat which I highly reccommend.) And
They forgot to pick us up since we came an un-normal route by the resort standards.
But they paid for our taxi, so not a big deal. An unforgettable trip, I would highly
Reccomend to anyone wanting a bit of adventure and a nice bed to sleep in with excellent food and wine

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

I know, I know, these complete hotel packages can be very expensive. But in this area, with the distances and remoteness a factor to consider, I decided to check out various hotel or complete package options. Las Torres Patagonia (was Hosteria Las Torres) turned out to be the best way to go.

As part of the package, we were picked up in El Calafate, Argentina and taken (after Argentina-Chile border formalities and a change of vehicles) directly to Las Torres Patagonia. This was included in the package price.

The hotel is situated near the base of a snow-covered peak.

On arrival in the early afternoon, we were invited to take a horseback riding option and we did. For two hours, with guide and gaucho, we, along with some other people, rode over hills, down into valleys, across rushing streams. We could see the sky gradually darken and we returned to the hotel before nightfall. The next day, we took a hotel-arranged full day tour by van past turquoise-colored lakes and rivers, with a fierce wind blowing (added to the excitement!) to a waterfall, to a visitor center, to Lago Grey and we transferred to a Zodiac (I think) to get to a tour boat that goes up the lake to its northern end which has a glacier dropping icebergs into the lake. Rainbows, mist, mysterious-looking mountain peaks created unforgettable scenes. Then back to the hotel, and on the way, we could see the mysterious Cuernos peaks partially obscured by the flowing fog. The next day, we took another hotel-arranged tour to Lago Azul, where we saw the sharp finger-like rock daggers of the Torres peaks. The weather was clear that day.

Meals were good, considering it was near the end of the season and there weren't many guests at the time. Eggs could be ordered for breakfast, in addition to a large assortment of breakfast items.

Finally, on the day we left, we were taken by van directly to Punta Arenas. This, too, was included in the package price.

I have to note how the staff was always willing to help, if needed. Monica, hotel manager at the time, was exceptional in that regard. I could see that she went out of her way to see that her guests were satisfied.

I would also like to recommend our guide, Carlos, who accompanied us on various excursions. We were able to see guanacos, cousins of llamas, on all the outings, as well as various birds, including condors.

All in all, a wonderful trip and a wonderful all-inclusive hotel package.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Anywhere you go in Torres del Paine has a price tag and this is no exception, but the location is one which should absolutely not be missed! We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating, especially people like Francisco who led us on an all-day hike of the French Valley area. Our room was comfortably but I do wish there would have been screens on the windows. The mosquitos can be plentiful and it's a toss-up between opening your window for the amazingly fresh air and getting eaten alive.
We found the restaurant to be fine, actually some of the better food in the park even though it won't knock your socks off. The sallads were so fresh that in fact I even had a critter in one of them because it had just been picked from the garden. So with organic food that's sometimes what you get, but attention to detail wasn't always there.
The hiking from this hotel was awesome and we found it warm and cozy. The alternatives are few and far between, and Torres del Paine should not be missed, hence I'd recommend this to a friend any time..

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We were already warned by many other customers before but it was even worse than expcected. The owners of the hotel just leverage the fact that there is such a limited numbers of hotels in Torres del Paine so they think they can ask for any price without ofering any quality.
It started with the street to the hotel, which seem to be the worst in the whole park. Not having a 4X4 it took us 1 hour to make the 8 km to get there. When we arrived the first impression was ok, until we started looking for our room. It was in a house completely at the end of the complex which took us 20 minutes with our luggage to find. The room a complete disappointment: No safe, no haidryer, no information, a very simplistic furniture just made to fit the purpose and nothing else.
However we decided at 9pm to go to the restaurant, where we were told there is only buffet today for 50 USD per person but that the buffet time was nearly over and nearly nothing left. So we decided to go to the Bar, where we ordered a Burger and chips for a fortune and waited for an hour.
The day went on with more disappointments and the breakfast then topped it with low quality food and limited choice ... and all this for 300 USD/night.
If we were going again, I would even consider camping than going there again

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las_Torres_Patagonia, Gerente at Las Torres Patagonia, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Dear Client:
Regarding your opinion, this contrasts with most of our guests. Each day they express their satisfaction about our service, infrastructure and food (based on regional products).

About the prices, it is difficult to agree on something as subjective as value / quality, but these are according to the difficulty caused by the remoteness from urban centers and the existing supply in the area. I can assure you that the prices we have are according to the destination and other hotels in the area.

Finally, when you mention, “the lack of equipment in the rooms”, we offer a different experience, away from Tvs, and the luxury you can have on a 4 / 5 start hotel in the city. Also we can say that in July and August 2010 all our rooms have been updated maintaining the “concept” of simplicity and “authenticity”.

Charles Jacobsthal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

When my husband and I were planning our honeymoon, I had wanted to avoid Las Torres, due to the very mixed reviews on this website. Unfortunately (or fortunately), Explora was packed during the days we had planned to visit, and so we ended up at Las Torres.

With not much expectation, my husband and I were pleasantly surprised by our experience at Las Torres. The location is unmatched by any other place in the park. Because the hotel is on the W trek, we didn’t need to spend 2-3 hours everyday in a car trying to get to places we really wanted to go.

Most importantly, the employees we met were so personable, warm, knowledgeable and simply wonderful, making the place the highlight of our honeymoon. We couldn’t say enough about our guides, Sofia and Claudia. Both took us through amazing hikes (Torres, the French Valley, etc.), showed us the animals and vegetation in the area, told local stories, and explained the cultural history of the park as well as interesting behaviors of animals in the area, definitely enriching our experience there. Through their eyes, we learned about the place, the people and their love for this amazingly beautiful land.

We booked the all inclusive package, and thus ate at the restaurant during our entire stay. While the restaurant was a little under-staffed (and inexplicably unorganized when it came to seating hotel guests) on some nights, the staff genuinely cared and wanted to do a good job. In fact, on Valentine’s Day, our waiter brought a rose to my husband, so he could give it to me.

Food was okay, in that it didn't take my breath away, but it certainly was not bad, as some travelers have described on this website. Both my husband and I are foodies and have traveled to a lot of places, so perhaps were we are more adventurous and tolerable to foods and sweets that don't taste like good-old-American style.

Admittedly, our room was not fancy, nor was the bathroom. However, the room was very clean and the views from our room were beautiful. Since we spent most of the day outdoors or in the big-open lounges chatting with other travelers and enjoying the spectacular views outside, the not-so-fancy room really wasn’t a big deal. The showers were hot – definitely not disappointing.

Overall, we had a fantastic time, met some fantastic people, and would absolutely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Torres Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Torres Patagonia

Address: Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Torres Patagonia 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Las Torres is located in the heart of the National Park at the foot of the main tourist attraction, Las Torres del Paine and the starting point of the main trails of the park.With 84 room we offer All Inclusive Packages as well as bed & breakfast options.In any case, we are very flexible, with no fixed dates or days of arrival.We do have daily tour options to the main attractions of the park, as well as a nice restaurant with local cuisine options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Las Torres Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Torres Patagonia Hotel Torres Del Paine
Las Torres Patagonia Del Paine
Las Torres Patagonia Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Torres Patagonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.