We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can I be here?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“How can I be here?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Sitting on the edge of the deck beyond the windscreen of the hot tub in the twilight - How could I be here? Maybe it was the scotch (The wind drank my first glass off the deck while in the hot tub and staff brought the whole bottle). Maybe it was the Torres Del Paine in twilight across the lake - in a towel, fresh from the sauna in a cold wind after a day of hiking and horseback riding. Or, maybe the privilege of staying in a work of art that seemed to rise from the Pampas.

Most unique. Best.

The Tierra group is first class. This hotel, staff and guides are beyond description. They seem to share their good fortune to work here. l spare you the 5 pages to follow of our wonderful stay here.

My very warm regards to our guide Basil. A man who has found his calling.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    28
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
105
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meriden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Honestly this is one of the most amazing places I have ever been! To be able to wake up to Mountains and glaciers right outside your window is WOW!. The Staff is wonderful - They are attentive, knowledgable and accommodating without being stuffy. This is ideally a place for someone who likes to get outside and explore - why else would you come here? But it is also a wonderful place to relax in the spa or at the lakeside with a book and relax... You make the itinerary - What do YOU want to do? Food was fantastic, wine amazing and a wonderful selection of craft beers from Chile. And don't forget the Tierra mascot Ramon! Resident sheep rescue.

Tierra sets themselves apart with their warmth all around - between the architecture, the staff and overall feel of Patagonia, this is one of the most magical places on earth for me... Getting there may take a bit but so worth the journey. Going through Santiago, Chile may be an easier journey. We came from Buenos Aires into El Calafate and the transfer takes a bit longer.

Again this is a very special place... I still get goose bumps thinking about our stay - cant wait to get back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristobal_Luna, Gerente at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Gary P;
Thanks for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor, and we’re really pleased you enjoyed your time with us! Patagonia IS a magical place and it sounds like you really made the most of your stay, so we’d love to have the chance to welcome you back some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have traveled all over the world and would list this hotel as one of my top 5 ever. Tierra Patagonia is a truly stunning hotel with amazing views, a unique design, great food, exceptional service and a feeling of tranquility that I just can't put into words. The rooms are perfectly designed and the public spaces offer plenty of nooks and crannies for alone time or time with the other guests. The excursion list is extensive and the spa and pool are truly stunning. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to experience Wild Patagonia in luxury.

Room Tip: If you request a room near the restaurant you may be able to pick up the wifi signal from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel property is an entire excellent experience. The rooms, services and facilities spectacular.
We stayed 4 nights and could have stayed much longer, we will remember our stay forever as a highlight. The bar staff were fantastic and made great cocktails, the meals were all good but some better than others, wines all very good. Staff Teresa, Makarena, and Mauricio were especially memorable with their lovely smiles and great service. The spa staff Claudia and Carmen were well worth the visit for a massage.
Carlos our favourite guide may not have found us a Puma but what he did show us with great passion, knowledge and understanding was a remarkable piece of the world.
Thank You Tierra Patagonia - WELL DONE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just returned from a five day stay at Tierra Patagonia. This is a remarkable experience. The hotel is a beautiful building that fits into the desert environment that surrounds it. The 40 rooms all face out onto the Torres del Paine that are magnificent snow capped mountains. From the moment you arrive you are in a different world and exceptionally well cared for by an attentive but non intrusive staff. The lobby, library, bar and dining room are located in a large open space with ceiling to floor windows looking out on the remarkable landscape of Patagonia. The rooms have beautiful modern bathrooms. The spa area has a large indoor pool that also looks out onto the lake and mountains and a outdoor jacuzzi.
The best part of the place are the guides who take you on excursions. These 4 or 8 hour day trips can be as leisurely as a boat ride in the national park or a 4 hour trek to the base of the towers of Torres del Paine and 3 hours back. The guides are young but knowledgeable and love their work and feel privileged to work in Patagonia. They are correct as Patagonia is a remarkable place. While the hotel seems surrounded by desert within an hour you are viewing icebergs or climbing in a Pine forest and looking down on a glacier.
The food is very good not outstanding but still a very positive experience. The guests are from everywhere and come in all sizes, ages and fitness levels. During our visit only 20 rooms were occupied and the guests ranged in age from 85 to 19 and came from Holland, Miami, San Francisco, Santiago, Augusta, and many other cities in the States. The one similarity that all the guests had was a desire to see the world and a can do attitude. While people were friendly they respected your privacy and we ate dinner and breakfast at a table for two. While hiking guests were pleasant and as friendly as you permitted. Very impressive that the location, the hotel, the activities and the guests were all remarkable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Patagonia has been on my bucket list for years. I am glad I waited for the Tierra Patagonia to open before making the trek. The location, architecture and staff were all terrific. The relatively new manager, Christobal Luna, is a real pro. If it can be done, he will get it done.

Words cannot describe the respect I have for the guides. The team was exceptional and Canguro Chris led the pack. He is an exceptional guide and I would recommend booking your reservations around his travel schedule. He is as memorable as the mountain peaks of Torres del Paine National Park. It was truly a trip of a lifetime. I look forward to skiing Portillo and visiting Tierra Atacama in the new future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here for four nights as autumn approached. We were lucky and the weather was nice every day. From the moment we were picked up in Punta Arenas, through the fabulous walks with Felipe, Basilio and Martin, to the return trip to the Punta Arenas airport the staff was always thinking and acting on our behalf. The food was good, the architecture exquisite and the solace of the stay fantastic.
If you are seeking some great hikes with knowledgable leaders from a fantastic location go to Torres Del Paine and stay at Tierra Patagonia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Address: Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa is a casual but luxurious design hotel with 40 guest rooms. The hotel ambiance is Patagonian, one that radiates warmth, safety and togetherness; all things desired by those who've spent their day in the Patagonian outdoors. The hotel sits on a bluff where the vast pampas meet Lake Sarmiento, and enjoys a magnificent view of Torres del Paine peaks on the other side of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.