We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bethlehem
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have traveled all over the world and would list this hotel as one of my top 5 ever. Tierra Patagonia is a truly stunning hotel with amazing views, a unique design, great food, exceptional service and a feeling of tranquility that I just can't put into words. The rooms are perfectly designed and the public spaces offer plenty of nooks and crannies for alone time or time with the other guests. The excursion list is extensive and the spa and pool are truly stunning. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to experience Wild Patagonia in luxury.

Room Tip: If you request a room near the restaurant you may be able to pick up the wifi signal from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
94
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel property is an entire excellent experience. The rooms, services and facilities spectacular.
We stayed 4 nights and could have stayed much longer, we will remember our stay forever as a highlight. The bar staff were fantastic and made great cocktails, the meals were all good but some better than others, wines all very good. Staff Teresa, Makarena, and Mauricio were especially memorable with their lovely smiles and great service. The spa staff Claudia and Carmen were well worth the visit for a massage.
Carlos our favourite guide may not have found us a Puma but what he did show us with great passion, knowledge and understanding was a remarkable piece of the world.
Thank You Tierra Patagonia - WELL DONE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just returned from a five day stay at Tierra Patagonia. This is a remarkable experience. The hotel is a beautiful building that fits into the desert environment that surrounds it. The 40 rooms all face out onto the Torres del Paine that are magnificent snow capped mountains. From the moment you arrive you are in a different world and exceptionally well cared for by an attentive but non intrusive staff. The lobby, library, bar and dining room are located in a large open space with ceiling to floor windows looking out on the remarkable landscape of Patagonia. The rooms have beautiful modern bathrooms. The spa area has a large indoor pool that also looks out onto the lake and mountains and a outdoor jacuzzi.
The best part of the place are the guides who take you on excursions. These 4 or 8 hour day trips can be as leisurely as a boat ride in the national park or a 4 hour trek to the base of the towers of Torres del Paine and 3 hours back. The guides are young but knowledgeable and love their work and feel privileged to work in Patagonia. They are correct as Patagonia is a remarkable place. While the hotel seems surrounded by desert within an hour you are viewing icebergs or climbing in a Pine forest and looking down on a glacier.
The food is very good not outstanding but still a very positive experience. The guests are from everywhere and come in all sizes, ages and fitness levels. During our visit only 20 rooms were occupied and the guests ranged in age from 85 to 19 and came from Holland, Miami, San Francisco, Santiago, Augusta, and many other cities in the States. The one similarity that all the guests had was a desire to see the world and a can do attitude. While people were friendly they respected your privacy and we ate dinner and breakfast at a table for two. While hiking guests were pleasant and as friendly as you permitted. Very impressive that the location, the hotel, the activities and the guests were all remarkable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Patagonia has been on my bucket list for years. I am glad I waited for the Tierra Patagonia to open before making the trek. The location, architecture and staff were all terrific. The relatively new manager, Christobal Luna, is a real pro. If it can be done, he will get it done.

Words cannot describe the respect I have for the guides. The team was exceptional and Canguro Chris led the pack. He is an exceptional guide and I would recommend booking your reservations around his travel schedule. He is as memorable as the mountain peaks of Torres del Paine National Park. It was truly a trip of a lifetime. I look forward to skiing Portillo and visiting Tierra Atacama in the new future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here for four nights as autumn approached. We were lucky and the weather was nice every day. From the moment we were picked up in Punta Arenas, through the fabulous walks with Felipe, Basilio and Martin, to the return trip to the Punta Arenas airport the staff was always thinking and acting on our behalf. The food was good, the architecture exquisite and the solace of the stay fantastic.
If you are seeking some great hikes with knowledgable leaders from a fantastic location go to Torres Del Paine and stay at Tierra Patagonia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Tierra Patagonia for 5 days. The hotel, a long semicurve built into the side of a hill and made entirely out of local wood, is designed to blend in with the local landscape and is architecturally striking inside and out. The rooms (only 3 suites available) are simple, but tastefully done, and the view out of each window faces the turquoise waters of Lake Sarmiento and the amazing mountain range behind it. This is an all-inclusive resort: food, drink, and expeditions have no extra charge; in fact I think only the massages in the spa cost extra (I didn't try out the spa).

If you love rugged landscapes, this place is for you. The environment is gorgeous and you can fit in two expeditions a day (hiking, climbing, horseback riding, flora and fauna tours, visiting the nearby glacier). Almost all the guests come with outdoor activities in mind, and hang around in hiking gear waiting for the next trip. The staff is wonderful, warm, and eager to please. Did I mention the views were beautiful?

It's not quite a 5-star experience yet, though, IMHO. When we stayed there we thought there were just a few snags that needed to be ironed out. I'll mention them in the spirit of constructive feedback. First and most important, the restaurant (remember, all your meals are in the common dining room; you can pick one of three menu options each lunch and dinner) was very uneven. Some meals were quite tasty; others were actually bad (an inedible salmon; an over-gristly stew). Second, wifi is restricted to the public areas (lounge, library, dining room, etc), which means you can't get work done in your room. This might have been set up this way to encourage interaction, but it's just a pain. Also, the public areas have music on 24/7 and this can be tiring to listen to--especially if you have to spend a lot of time out there because of the wifi issue! If these three features were changed, the place would really be perfect.

I recommend the horseback riding at a nearby estancia--an unbelievably beautiful 2 hour trip through a magical green forest. And even on walks around the hotel you will see local antelopes, ostriches, and sheep. No penguins though--for that you need to go to Punta Arenas.

Room Tip: 2-8, 22-28 are closest to to the public areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had an amazing time at Tierra Patagonia. Not only is the hotel in an amazing location the staff are incredible. The guides brought us to some of the most beautiful places in the world. I recommend going to Sierra Baguales as an excursion during your stay. Thanks Tierra Patagonia!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Address: Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa is a casual but luxurious design hotel with 40 guest rooms. The hotel ambiance is Patagonian, one that radiates warmth, safety and togetherness; all things desired by those who've spent their day in the Patagonian outdoors. The hotel sits on a bluff where the vast pampas meet Lake Sarmiento, and enjoys a magnificent view of Torres del Paine peaks on the other side of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.