We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place focused on Excursion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful place focused on Excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a surprise to find such a wonderful and designed place in Patagonia.

Don’t expect a 5* on the food/service side but all the team is doing is best

The exercusions/activities are very well organized (guides, small groups)

We stayed 5 nights and it was the best of our Patagonia trip

Congratulations to have created such a spirit in less than a year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    28
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
106
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, USA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you plan to visit Patagonia, don't think twice about staying anywhere else. This is THE most magnificent place we've ever been -- not just for the rooms and meals, but for the relationships you make with the staff and the environment and the top quality service you'll review. Yes, it costs an arm and a leg. But it is TOTALLY worth it. I was not surprised to see it featured prominently in the New York Times Sunday travel section; I only worry it will make it even more popular!

We spent 5 days/4 nights here. We drove from Puerto Natales through wide open spaces that rival Montana or Wyoming on steroids. Just amazing. Approaching the hotel (marked only by a small symbol on the road), you wind thru a sheep pasture and see the back of it -- and are unimpressed. Until they open the front door. The architecture inside is crazy beautiful and the view, well, never, ever have seen anything so spectacular from a hotel room window. And every room shares it.

The wide open public area is defined by a bar in the middle (an endless open bar serves up terrific Chilean wines and anything else you'd like). On one side are beautiful couches and chairs with sheepskin covers, a giant ceramic map of the area where you get your orientation to the park, and plenty of places to bring your iPad for wireless internet and lounging. On the other is the dining room, where we had terrific meals (you get two or three choices every night, including a veggie choice).

The spa area is at the end of the hotel, with a very warm pool and an outside tub. It's the perfect place to relax after a tiring day of hiking. Although this is an all-inclusive resort, massages and spa services are extra.

Rooms themselves are amazing...two sinks, separate shower and toilet area behind frosted glass doors, stand-alone tub. All local wood everywhere.

Enough about the place -- Tierra Patagonia is all about the people there. Our guides were nothing less than amazing. They have real passion for what they do. Try to book hikes with Felipe. He's from Patagonia is passionate about it. Martine also was, taking us to the base of the towers (a difficult hike) with confidence and despite our complaints that came from being out of shape!

The waiters, front desk, the folks who drove us around the park everyone there is terrific. No language barriers.

This is the real Chile in a place that deserves everyone of its 5 stars!

Room Tip: All have the same view...We were in 35 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were here for four nights recently. It is one of the most special properties at which we've ever stayed. Stunning hotel, with great guides and activities. Excellent food. I wish our stay had been longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had such a great time on part of our family vacation staying at Tierra Patagonia. The design of the hotel is amazing! It blends into the landscape in such a way that you barely can see it from the road, but once inside, the views of the Torre del Paine mastiff are amazing from everywhere, lobby, dining, bar, room and pool. The manager of the hotel, Chris, was warm and helpful and talked to everyone and made you feel right at home. Sergio, head of excursions, was so helpful in arraigning our day and went out of his way to make sure my family was able to get the excursions we wanted. The guides, Alvaro, Carlos, Jorge, Martin etc. were knowledgeable and passionate about Patagonia, they were great! The driver we had for a day, Pablo, knew I liked taking photos and would find all the great places to take them from. Our room was very comfortable and waking up every day seeing sheep grazing in front of the lake which was in front of the mountains was inspirational. The pool and hot tub was so relaxing at the end of the day. Breakfast was OK, I wish it varied a little day to day, lunch and dinner was good, some meals better than others and they had no problem making pasta for my kids. Service in the dining room could use some improvement. We had some really great staff and some not so great. Overall, we had an amazing time and a lifetime memory experience at Tierra Patagonia. I could not imagine staying in any other place in Patagonia!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is truly amazing and I cannot think of a better way to experience Patagonia than doing it through the Tierra.

The excursions:
We are not avid backpackers, but still wanted to get the full Patagonia experience. This was my biggest concern because there isn't a lot of preliminary information available about the excursions that the hotel offers. However, upon arriving we immediately met with the head guide and I simply showed him some pictures of things that I wanted to see. He set our entire itinerary based on that - and suggested many more things as well. With bad weather coming in on some of the days we were there, the guides suggested that we switch some things around, and handled all of the changes seamlessly.... they were on top of everything so that we experienced the best views on the best weather days.

The hotel:
The hotel is just as beautiful as it looks online. Since it is still new, it is in pretty much perfect condition. The lobby is tremendously cozy and the entire feel of the common areas is very open. In the evenings, all of the guests are in the living room area and bar - it truly feels like a family experience with everyone discussing their day's excursions. We met some really great people.

The food:
The breakfast is a standard buffet that is more than sufficient (it's not amazing, but it is good). For lunch and dinner the menu consists of two appetizers, three entrees and two deserts - the menu is different for every meal and every day you are there. We were there for 5 lunches and 5 dinners and there was only one meal that I did not enjoy - mainly that was because I didn't care for anything on the menu. Every other meal was very good. And the wine was very good as well.

The service:
The staff was very attentive and did an excellent job. You will not get a quick meal at lunch or at dinner, but that's really not the point of this hotel as the dining room and bar (which flows openly into the living room area) is really a social atmosphere. There was always a staff member available anytime I needed someone and they responded quickly.

Overall, this place was really amazing and tremendously memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, nyc
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Of our 17 day trip through Patagonia, this was definitely a highlight. We drove ourselves from El Calafate and thankfully knew where to turn off by recognizing the logo. The building is thoughtfully nestled into the land for minimal impact to the view and landscape.

We spent 4 nights here and upon arriving almost considered extending our stay. As a fan of design and architecture, I marveled at the space and breathtaking views of the mountains and enjoyed spending time in the library perusing the well curated coffee book collection. Our excursions were custom tailored to our requests and as other reviewers have mentioned the guides were all knowledgable and friendly. Unlike other reviewers, no complaints about the food. The soups were especially delicious and we are still curious about the recipe for the delicious cereal/granola bars they hand out during hikes.

If i wanted to be nitpicky...our closet door wouldn't close, and we experienced confused interaction from the front desk when we asked (and were told we would receive) new bottles of water everyday, but not really an issue since one can always drink from the tap. Or, have a delicious mojito from the bar, instead.

We looked into other luxury options, including Explora, and in the end, i'm so glad we chose Tierra Patagonia. We hope to be back again one day, and to visit their property in the Atacama desert.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was my third visit to the national park.I have been to torres twice before & stayed in the park with EXPLORA last time.this time i decided to stay with TIERRA PATAGONIA & I had most wonderful time in spite of few days of bad weather.Hotel is located on the lake with wonderful view of the paine massif from all rooms & common areas & breakfast /dinning room.the service & food was five star.i am a vegetarian & the chef had no problem serving vegetarian dishes & it was great.I even asked for the recipe for Pumpkin soup.I did long day hikes for 5 days & all the guides were excellent & i am so glad that i was doing some of the hikes i was doing it with them.
During this trip my brother sprained his ankle & hotel manager Chris volunteered to drive to P.Mont, for medical help & for remaining of his day they offered to take him out daily for short excursion.I am really thankful to the team of guide to make his stay more enjoyable.Special thanks to sergio,carlos,kangaroo for great time with hikes.sergio special thanks for taking care of my brother.
I really enjoyed the pool & Jacuzzi ,Sauna at the end of the day,returning from my hikes.Jacuzzi & the pool has great views of Paine Massif.
would not hesitate to go back,as i love to be in nature.The property offers great valu for your money.They also have SPA,WHICH i did not use.
This is the only hotel that arranges your transfer to EL-CALAFATE,which was most convient & expeditious way to reach El Calafate.We reached el calafate by 12 noon & were able to tale excursion to PERITO MORENO GLACIER the same day.

Room Tip: all room have great view of the paine massif
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Address: Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa is a casual but luxurious design hotel with 40 guest rooms. The hotel ambiance is Patagonian, one that radiates warmth, safety and togetherness; all things desired by those who've spent their day in the Patagonian outdoors. The hotel sits on a bluff where the vast pampas meet Lake Sarmiento, and enjoys a magnificent view of Torres del Paine peaks on the other side of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.