We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond my wildest dreams” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Mystic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Beyond my wildest dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were very disappointed to learn about the fires in Torres del Paine and the cancellation of our stay at EXPLORA; however, our travel company convinced us to go to Tierra Patagonia Hotel as an alternative. Relutantly we agreed and we are so glad we did. What a magnificent piece of architecture and a place beyond my wildest dreams. We LOVED the staff, the guides, the activities, the rooms, the service, the spa and the food. They couldn't do enough for us. Although they had only opened 2 1/2 months earlier, they have gotten up and running to accomodate their additional guests and volume of business in no time and with little to no problems. Like many of the other reviewers, we, too, are so glad we got to stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone without hesitation. Chris, the manager, is on top of things and makes everyone feel at home and he is interested in knowing how we feel about the place and his staff. We appreciate his interest and the staff and guides were equally concerned and caring.

Room Tip: ALL are good room.and ALL have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
94
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The site, the design, the comfort, the staff, and activities are superb. We particularly enjoyed the swimming pool at the end of a day of hikes and rides. The assistance and advice in planning our day were both informed and personal. Of the four dinners and two lunches, only one was a bit disappointing, and some of the dishes were at the same level as the rest of the experience. We particularly appreciated one of the owners, Chris, taking the time to introduce himself and talk with us about our experience at Tierra Patagonia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We have just returned from a stay at the Tierra Patagonia and would thoroughly recommend it. Like many others staying at the time, we had originally booked into the the Explora hotel in the park itself and were diasappointed that it had had to claose as a result of the recent fires. We ended up very happy that we had had the chance to experience all that the Tierra Patagonia has to offer. We found the guides experienced, friendly and informative, the excursions well organised, the food excellent, the rooms luxurious and the beds excellent. Yes, the waiters were inexperienced and a certain amount of patience was required and yes, the breakfast staff seemed particularly confused and dozy but we put this down to teething problems and these failings didn't spoil an overall good experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

After being unable to stay at the Explora hotel due to fire we stayed here as it looked similar. What a fabulous surprise! Amazing location. What can I say about that view apart from jaw dropping?! Food was great, guides excellent, service fantastic, amazing massages in the spa. I agree with previous comments about packed lunch quality, portion sizes at dinner and the lack of hot options at breakfast. However I am sure they are just teething issues and will be resolved. The main issue is transfers to and from El Calafate and Punta Arenas. They aren't included and really should be, even if the price is higher. Other than that wonderful wonderful wonderful! I dream about that view at night.....!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were in awe of the dramatic light changes over the Torres del Paine reflected in Lake Sarmiento in front of Tierra Patagonia, all from bedside! Conveniently 45 minutes from the National Park we enjoyed trekking, horse back riding and an estancia BBQ. The guides were friendly, helpful and informative. In time the enthusiastic staff of this 3 month old eco-friendly architectural marvel hotel-spa will hit their stride. Chris, Natalia, Isadora, Alejandra thank you for a wonderful Patagonian experience! (Next time fly fishing!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Accommodations: excellent, rooms are very comfortable and chic, bathrooms beautiful. Beautiful architecture and design overall. Incredible views of the lake and torres.

Service: I would say they try to do their best, but it was evident that they were understaffed especially at dinner so we ended up waiting too long for our entrees and main courses as well as wine to accompany our meal. Breakfast was disappointing. You got eggs if you asked, but were never asked or if so, only at the end of the meal, orange juice from concentrate was often not the right concentration of water and juice so undrinkable even though other options mango, strawberry and raspberry were available and delicious. In the common area bathrooms, they failed several times to restock the towels for drying your hands.

Spa area: Spa facilities great, swimming pool has fantastic view of lake and torres, but unfortunately the outdoor jacuzzi was not operating.

Location: Great, approximately 30 minutes from the park entrance. Probably the best possible since presently and probably for the next few years, the Explora is surrounded by burnt forest.

Activities: Some great hikes which allowed us to see wildlife up close and some of the most beautiful landscapes ever. Guides are helpful, but ... considering prices:
Asking for extra for lake Grey glacier navigation seems slightly ridiculous,
Packed lunches for full day excursions were pretty horrible
Snacks were basically chocolate bars or dried nuts (how about granola bars as a healthier option?)
In Tierra Atacama (sister hotel) we were given wine, beer, smoked salmon, cheese and crackers as a snack/aperitif at the end of some half day excursions, which we expected to occur with Tierra Patagonia as well. For example at Glacier Grey, we had one hour waiting and were given our packed lunches, which consisted of dry sandwiches, brown bananas and a chocolate bar. We ended up ordering beer and appetizer at the Glacier Grey hotel restaurant while we waited so that we could eat our lunches inside (as it was raining outside and there was no organized lunch plan). Here would have been a great opportunity for Tierra Patagonia to whip out a nice little snack and aperitivo while we waited for the boat.
Most of the excursions were very satisfying, one of the excursions they proposed Mirador de Cuernos was through a burnt part of the forest, and we were not informed of this and was quite a shock when my mother in law took the excursion herself.

Food: Generally good (except for the box lunches). Portions sometimes small, but we saw that some of the guests got seconds if they asked. Sometimes menu items were misleading. For example one night they were offering pineapple sorbet with caramelized fruit, but the fruit that came with it was clearly out of a can.

Overall we had a good experience, though considering price range we would have expected a bit more attention to details and would have appreciated if the staff went the extra mile just like they did in sister hotel (Tierra Atacama) and other locations we have stayed at in this kind of 'luxury package'.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I don't know where to start. We were suppose to stay at Explora but due to the fire in Torres del Paine we had to change to another hotel. I found Tierra Patagonia by looking hotels on Internet it looked good and offered the same services as Explora. When I saw the architecture on the website I thought wow this place seems great! So I followed UESnewyorker's advice: Don't think, just book, and I booked 4 nights - all inclusive.

We arrived at the hotel quite late at night but they kept the kitchen opened for us so we could have diner. The living areas are very comfy and warm with tasteful decoration. The place was built so you have a panoramic view of Lake Sarmiento and Torres del Paine.

All room has gorgeous view so you don't have to choose the perfect room, they're all great. Beds and linen are comfy. Minus: There is a nice bathtub but no bath salt or bubble bath.

Now the excursions. The guides are just GREAT!I have to say they were all very well organized and they handled all the excursions extremely well. Loreto was one of our favorite guide, but they are all very good!If you want to take a picture or take the time to see something or ask questions, it's always possible. It is organized so well in a way you don't feel it is organized, it is very pleasant!

Food. Very good, always fresh and varied and well presented + good wines. The only minus of our jurney would have to be the breakfast, no pancakes or viennoiseries not much choice in breads, they proposed eggs only our 3rd day.

Staff was mostly great, some of the bar tenders were not always paying attention so we sometimes had to go get them to be served, they should have their eyes more opened (but the hotel has just opened so I guess automatism was not yet completely in place.)

Nathalie one of the manager is extremely nice and helpful with the smile and there is also another gentleman who was sometimes at the reception or at the bar to help and HE had always his eyes opened and always made the difference with details, don't know his name unfortunately.

Overall an AMAZING experience we would recommend this place to everyone, we enjoyed every minute of it and hope we can return sometimes in the future! We visited Patagonia in Argentina after Chile but it wasn't as great...

WE LOVE TIERRA PATAGONIA!!!!!

"Don't think, just book"

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraHotels, Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Camelia2005,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and for your great comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to your specific comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed having Loreto as a guide! I am happy to say that she is working again with us this season. As for the slow service at the bar and dining room, our staff have been reminded to inform all guests of the breakfast options and to keep their eyes open and be attentive at all times. I apologise for any trouble this may have caused. I predict that the man you are referring to is Gonzalo, our restaurant manager, and much loved employee. We have informed him of your great feedback and he couldn't be happier!

We are constantly trying to improve our product and are confident that our second season will only be better than the last!

I hope that we are able to welcome you back to Tierra Patagonia in the near future.

Warm regards and thank you again,

Tierra Patagonia Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Address: Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa is a casual but luxurious design hotel with 40 guest rooms. The hotel ambiance is Patagonian, one that radiates warmth, safety and togetherness; all things desired by those who've spent their day in the Patagonian outdoors. The hotel sits on a bluff where the vast pampas meet Lake Sarmiento, and enjoys a magnificent view of Torres del Paine peaks on the other side of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.