We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managed expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Refugio El Chileno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torres del Paine National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Refugio El Chileno
Torres del Paine | Estancia Cerro Paine, Torres del Paine National Park 610000, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$48 (USD)
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Managed expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

for a first night in Torres del Paine, Refugio El Chileno does all right. However...after staying at Los Cuernos and Mountain Lodge Grand Paine, Chileno suffers drastically in comparison. The location, however, is why you would stay here. The negatives: the women's bathroom was a complete and dirty mess (1 of the 2 sinks had a leak that went all over the floor if you used the faucet); the 1 window in our room of 8 bunk beds would not close completely -- the room was unusually cold throughout the night; there is no place to sit while the staff sets up for or cleans up after a meal. That being said, the kitchen crew was pleasant. They need a bit more maintenance to keep the place in shape.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FantasticoSur T, Gerente at Refugio El Chileno, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your comment, is very useful for us to improve our services.

We´ve had an unusual cold and windy spring - summer, so some nights it might be cold, but be sure that we are supplying all necessary to keep it warm.

I have already sent your comment to our Operations Manager and they will check the bathroom and window.

Best, FS team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    13
    5
    14
See reviews for
8
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The refugio was kept neat and tidy. The staff was helpful. Cant judge on food (we didnt eat dinner there). Atmosphere is cosy and friendly. The only thing i would advice to improve: to have more solid walls of the refugio itself, because of the strong wind when we were there it was very cold during the night!

Cant judge on campsite!

Room Tip: Definitely have a bed instead of camping (it was very cold when i was there)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FantasticoSur T, Gerente at Refugio El Chileno, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi !

Thank you for your comment, it´s nice to know you had a great experience with us.
This has been a very particular windy season, we will check to improve the walls exposed to wind.

All best, FS Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The rooms of 8 bunks each are very tight and up to 3 stacks high- no natural light or personal space. Hooks would really be a huge help for hanging jackets and stuff. The storage cubbies for your packs are in the hall too, so you have to bring your own lock. The electricity was out for part of day and morning when we were there (not sure how common). The only outlet to charge things is behind the reception. The bathroom (3 stalls/showers) were good, but could really use a bench/hooks/changing space for each stall. The small dining area and back room with fireplaces are cozy ski-lodge style spaces, with games you can borrow. They sell snacks, beer, wine, and delicious homemade chocolate covered cookies. Dinner was way better than I expected, sweet potato(?) manicotti as the vegetarian option. You have to leave your shoes outside or in the doorway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FantasticoSur T, Gerente at Refugio El Chileno, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your advice,

Glad to know you liked El Chileno, their great chocolate cookies and atmosphere!
About the hooks we have send the information to our manager so soon there will be more hooks.

About leaving outside the shoes, if you are staying at the Refugio you can leave them in you room or at the storage cubbies. Even we are always cleaning, if you get inside with shoes coming from the outside is almost impossible to keep the floor clean.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have stayed one night at the shelter Chile and I am happy I have chosen them.
I really liked their food, we got a hot and delicious consomee of mushrooms and mixted puree with tasety beef. The waiter that serving me and my mates was hilarious and nice, made us laugh a lot .
They make those delicious oatmeal cookies and nice herbal tea :D
The place is nice and clean , the people that work there clean it all the time so please, take off your shoes cause I see loads of visitors don't do it. And believe me there are more of us wanting to stay there without unnecesairy mess.
Also they were really nice and even tho we didn't had the booking they manage to make a place for me and my friends.
In general it's a very good place to be and we will come back again.
Big Thank you Juan and Oscar for tips and for taking care of us without you guys we would probably get lost!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FantasticoSur T, Gerente at Refugio El Chileno, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We are very happy to know that you had such a good experience at El Chileno and we also love the cookies. Carmen is a great chef !!

We hope to see you again, best wishes from el Chileno Team - W Trek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Refugio Chileno is is the middle way to Las Torres de Paine, the location is very nice. By side there's a brook. The atmosphere is very calm and peaceful. The food there are delicious. AndJuan, the manager and all the staffs are very kind and helpful. The place is clean and warm. You can feel safe and warm there. Recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FantasticoSur T, Gerente at Refugio El Chileno, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your message!

We are very glad to hear that you have a nice experience with us, hope to see you again at the W Trek!

Best, El Chileno Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a mixed stay, generally everything was ok. The area to cook for the campers is just really not very nice, opposite the toilets and a bit dark. The tents need to be put on a wooden platform. There was not enough opportunities to fix your tent as the hooks wouldn't work some people used stones. But he Refugio itself was really nice and cosy. Especially the service was great. One of the Refugio guys stefano helped me a lot when somebody else took my shoes by mistake. He organised for my stuff to be arranged and gave me his shoes so I could continue my trip. Thanks for that. It changed my entire trip.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FantasticoSur T, Gerente at Refugio El Chileno, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for your comment,
We are glad to know that you were happy with the service at El Chileno, about you suggestions we have already sent it to operations so we can improve the platform hooks, and will work to improve the cooking area.
Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The location of this Refugio adds to its attraction. It is conveniently located en route to the Base of the Torres hike, which in my opinion is one of the highlights of the park - a must see!

Operated by Fantástico Sur, prepare yourself for high prices on extras. The meal offering here was above average compared to their other refugios. Small and intimate, this refugio makes for a very intimate stay.

The bedrooms appear neater and better maintained even though there are also about 10 bunk beds per room. The bathroom facilities are OK, as to be expected from an establishment that handles the traffic it does.

Plan your time to either do a morning or afternoon trek to the base of the Torres. The refugio is conveniently located for this purpose and they will even store your luggage for you. I would certainly recommend a stay here

Room Tip: Try and arrive early to ask for a bunk bed at the bottom of the pile! A lot easier to move around! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Refugio El Chileno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio El Chileno

Address: Torres del Paine | Estancia Cerro Paine, Torres del Paine National Park 610000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio El Chileno is located on the way to "Mirador Base Torres" a "must" in Torres del Paine, it is 2 hour from Las Torres sector. Many visitors pass through here on their trek to the base to recover energies and drink a nice hot chocolate.We highly recommend to stay here and wake up before sunrise to the base to see the red and orange colors of it reflected on the granite towers (sunrise hour depends on the month).Here you´ll find the Refugio, camping a little store and our Restaurant where you can have all your meals.At El Chileno we produce almost all of our energy, using a wind turbine combined with a diesel engine and batteries, we also do not use here high demand energy devices, please help us to take care of our energy.The only way to get to El Chileno is by trekking or horse, even for our staff, meals and all supplies - when you get here think about how we did it with the stoves, eggs, fridge, etc....Useful info: bring sandals for showers, towel (rental available).For tax exemption, do not forget to bring your passport, immigration card given when enter to Chile and foreign currency (tax exemption not available for camping guests) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Refugio El Chileno Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refugio El Chileno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Refugio El Chileno to your Saves list