We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional staff but ok dormitory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine to your Saves list
Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
arlon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unprofessional staff but ok dormitory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

To be honest, this is the worst reservation process I have experienced fo my whole trip in Patagonia. All my other contacts were friendly and explicit. Here, I merely had a reply without a word but attached documentation. When asking for details, got told that “eveything was in the documentation”. And I wrote in Spanish, so they cannot say they could not understand my queries. I can say that this Carola girl was not my friend at the time. Still is not. Yet that the prices are exagerated, considering the basic offer provided, a more agreeable contact would have been nice.
What do we have here? Well there are few accomodations in Torre Del Paine and they know it. Hence the high prices. You book a bed? Fine. But if you want sheets, it is more expensive. You want a towell? You have to pay. Unless you planned your food for several days, you’ll have to go with their meals too as you cannot buy anything in the parc.
To sleep, you can have a tent, or a dormitory. 6 beds per room. We booked the bed with sheets and it was warm and confortable (could be rearging the price). They have some lockers you can close if you bring a lock. There is a bathroom for men, another for women, with several toilets and 2 showers. Clean.
Regarding the meal, I can say it was very correct. Good breakfast, very nice lunchpack, and good dinner as well. Staff there is ok, but does not speak english.
To sum up, if you put the price, it is fine (not tremendous). But forget about having a nice contact with the booking staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    20
    22
    9
See reviews for
4
54
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Refugio is in a spectacular location, with a view to the Torres. There are few other choices for non-camping accommodation in the park, which is probably why they can get away with charging hotel prices for bunk beds. If you want bed linen, they charge for that. A towel? Additional charge. Bag storage while you do a hike? Yep, there is a charge for that too. Staff were not particularly helpful either and found the food to be quite bland.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torres del Paine National Park hotels

Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Prior to our trip, we had been booked in a different area of Torres del Paine. With the recent fire, our booking company scrambled to find us accommodations so we could experience some hiking of the W and booked us at the Refugio. At first we thought "no way" can we do this but then with a change of attitude on our part, and realizing that we were lucky to get any place to stay, our stay turned out well. We were impressed with the one option food as well as a vegetarian choice. Since we were out hiking each lunch, we were given a box lunch instead. The food staff work hard and take care of you well. The beds are comfortable. We did have problems conversing with staff but that is OUR problem as we do not speak Spanish (we are going to try to fix that). There is a bar for after hour appetizers and beer and wine. Do bring ear plugs and a headlamp or flash light. I found the people sharing the room were respectful of each other and usually too tired after the hiking to do much other than sleep. There is no electricity plugs to recharge anything but were told by others you can go into the expensive nearby hotel and sit in the main area and charge your battery. Do note that if you want a towel, you must rent one. There are also lockers in the room to secure your belongings but bring a lock.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs, towel, lock
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Before going to Torres Del Paine I was worried to be in a poor refugio so I stayed in the Hotel Las Torres (very expensive). But just some steps away there was this nice refugio, clean and new. For young trekkers, I think it is the best cost benefit in the area. I'd stay here for the next vacation. You can reach the towers from here and come back in a one day trek without any guide.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This refugio was the first refugio during our W-trek in Torres del Paine, Patagonia.

For more info on the overall refugio experience of this and other refugios, please read my reviews on the El Chileno and Los Cuernos refugios as well.

Big difference is that this refugio can be reached via road transport. Also it was close to the Torres Central hotel, giving access to the Spa in the hotel (we didn't use it however). Charging of batteries is possible here, 2 USD per charge however.

While we booked for bed only, we were offered a fully made bed here.

Again, like in the other refugios, no voice or data coverage for mobile phones. While a lot of people will consider it a relief not being reachable, I personally believe that this should be a personal choice rather than a given fact. Having traveled in Tanzania two years ago where even in the middle of the Serengeti there was 3G network coverage, it was strange to have no signal at all on the phone, especially as we didn't expect it and we weren't able to tell relatives that we would be cut off. But then again, the world didn't stop turning while we were unreachable ;-) Just keep it in mind however...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

We booked 2 nights, Christma eve and Christmas day, including the Christmas dinner.
The dorm rooms are nice, good storage, clean, light etc.
The dinner was awful, fatty/salty meat and potatoes, no choice and it was expensive. Lunch the next day was leftovers!
On our second day (Christmas day) they messed up our booking!! Very ironic to be told there's no room at the refugio on Christmas day!! The staff were totally unapologetic and unhelpful, after my husband showed them the booking confirmation they begrudgingly moved us to another refugio which wasn't as nice or clean and obviously cheaper. We were offered no refund or recompense, after some persistent complaining they gave us a free dinner!! Oh, and the other refugio was also double booked but that's another story!! The money we paid to stay there as our Christmas treat we expected more, including honouring what you've paid for!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here one night while in Torres Del Paine. Overall the facilities were nice. The place was very clean, the bathrooms were cleaned several times a day and there was always hot water. The food was average. If you're a vegetarian, be sure to let them know in advance. The beds were super comfy with clean fresh NEW linens. However, the staff was less than helpful and didn't seem to notice you unless they were making sure that you got charged for everything including towels and the ability to charge your phone (there were no outlets in the bathrooms or the dorms). The electricity gets cut sometime between 11PM and 11:30PM without warning. If you're in the bathroom taking out your contacts, this can be a problem as my girlfriend found out. Since they generate their own electricity, I can understand why they need to conserve, but a warning of some kind would've been nice. Bring a headlamp. Overall, waaaay to expensive for what you get, but this seems to be the case with most of the joints inside the park. Essentially, you're paying for the location and close access to trails, etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine

Address: Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio Torre Central is located in "las Torres" sector, at the beginning of the W trek, you may access from Laguna Amarga (entrance to the park), taking the shuttles from this point to las torres. Next to Torre Central there is Torre Norte Refugio (for 60 people is the first FS refugio built in the 90´s), where guests must make their check in and have their meals at Refugio Torre Central.Torre Central is a very well equipped Refugio for 60 people, with Shop, Restaurant, Bar, shared rooms for 6, shared bathrooms and central heating.We are an eco friendly company so we do not have high demand devices; here we have a diesel engine to produce energy that we save in our batteries system, we invite you to help us to take care of it. Useful info: bring sandals for showers, towel (rental available).For tax exemption, do not forget to bring your passport, immigration card given when enter to Chile and foreign currency (tax exemption not available for camping guests) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refugio Torre Central-Torres Del Paine Hotel Torres Del Paine
Refugio Torre Central-Torres Del Paine Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.