We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Paine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Paine to your Saves list
Hotel del Paine
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sector Rio Serrano | a 7 km de Administracion, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Epsom, Surrey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stunning setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Don't kid yourself, it's a heck of a journey to get to Torres del Paine whichever way you do it, but goodness is it worth it.

We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel when we arrived - the location in a loop of the Rio Serrano is really pretty, and the view of the mountains themselves is second to none.

Initially we were allocated a room in the main building, which seemed to have a fair amount of noise from the bar area, so we asked if a cabin was free. The staff were really helpful and moved us immediately. The room was a good size with all essentials in place, and pretty clean and tidy. What made it for us was the spectacular view out of the window. Wow - it could not have been more amazing. We were lucky with the weather, so some amazing views from the chairs positioned in the large window.

The cabins are really well insulated - the wind howled for the three days we were there (although we were told this wasn't 'windy' for locals, it drove us crazy in the end!) and yet no whistling at all from inside, so very good glazing in the rooms.

We did two trips organised by the hotel - the first was along the Rio Serrano to Lago O'Higgins. Although pricey, I really recommend this trip - it really was excellent.
Our second trip didn't go quite to plan, as the excursion organiser had the day off - we waited and waited for our lift into the park to go on a hike, but no one appeared. Eventually the receptionist asked if we were okay and we explained. Well - they couldn't have been more helpful. In the end, the charming waiter was commandeered to drive us into the park. The journey was pretty long, and he spoke no English, but was super friendly and very kind about my A-level Spanish, so we learned a lot and chatted as best we could.

The hike we'd planned seemed a bit tricky without a guide, so we decided on a linear route, finishing where we started, and this worked well - so we were on time for our pick up. On the way back, he went out of his way to stop off and show us some amazing viewpoints high above the road, insisting on taking pictures of us. He really was superb.

Others have moaned about the food, and I'd agree that it wasn't gourmet, but once you've journeyed for a minimum of 2 hours along unmade roads into the park, you must realise that your dinner has to come the same way, making the options pretty limited! The wine was great and good choice, and they did an excellent pisco sour. The food was a mix, but all edible and most pretty tasty, if a bit 'cafeteria'. Let's face it, though - you don't travel to somewhere like this for gourmet food - it's all about the place, and Cabanas del Paine delivers on that front!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a cabin, rather than the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
42
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The view from the hotel and its garden over to the Torres del Paine massif is unbelievable, and staying there you will hopefully have the chance to see the view in many different lights and weather conditions. The hotel and its associated bungalows are well-built and well-decorated; the rooms have good beds and the bathrooms all the basics you need. We found our sleep disturbed by strong winds blowing some noise towards us, maybe a generator or something from nearby? All the staff we met were great, though at busy times you might have to wait quite a while to get the attention of the one person working on reception. The food was disappointing though: not so much breakfast, but dinner was expensive for a fairly limited buffet which kept running out - it feels like they are taking advantage of the remote location giving you no other options (right on the edge of the national park, no shops or restaurants around at all).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hotel Cabanas del Paine is actually just outside the Torres Del Paine national park, but the staff were happy to drive us to various locations around the park for a price eg about US$20 to Lago Grey. It's a beautiful location right on the Rio Serrano and looking across at the Cuernos of the Torres del Paine. Unfortunately when we were there in April it was cloudy and rainy much of the time so the view was limited, but when the clouds parted the view of the mountains was spectacular. We stayed in one of the cabins which was clean and comfortable and basically like a good standard motel room. The staff were really great, nothing too much trouble, especially the Manager at the time, Macarena. The only downside for us was the food, the breakfast was OK but lunch and dinner very mediocre and with little variety. Could have been because it was the end of the high season. Overall, it was a great stay, hard not to be in such a spectacular environment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Rustic, good location, spectacular view, clean, no TV

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

the hotel is normal, with staff attentive and caring, standard breakfast, dinner at buffet.
the rooms are mountain style, all wooden internally, the bathroom...forget it.
the position is very nice, close to rio serrano and if you are lucky (as we did) and have the windows face to the rio, the look to Torres del Paine mountain group is something enough to justify the long trip to get there (it takes really 7hrs, with 1 bus change and customs, to get there from El Calafate).
I suggest to organize your excursions with help of Guillermo (Cabanhas Excurciones), still yuong but very attentive and skilled guide.
Very very nice, I suggest, to make the excursion 4hrs trekking to Mirador Torres del Paine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

You would stay here for the spectacular views of Torres del Paines and the rivers that confluence near the hotel. Rustic living with no TV, Internet or phone in your room. Only in the dining hall. The staff I dealt with were very friendly and helpful. Food was good but nothing to write home about.
Do note that some of the farther away cabins have the views blocked by trees. Stay close to the main reception or in the nes double storey accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great scenary but poor services, the room want clean, and not all the rooms have view to the mountains. The dinner is expensive for the quality received. It's not worth 250USD for the room

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria s, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel del Paine, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
We will have in consideration your critic. The average price from the hotel in Torres del Paine is over us$350, we are lower this average. Those prices are expensive because all the things that in the city are normal in Torres del Paine we have to produce ourselves. For example electric light, the treatment of the waste, the gas, the telephone and the internet are satellite, even the supply of fresh food is difficult.

You have to think that you are in a national park at the end of the world and all the basics stuff are no basic there.

Sorry about my English and we appreciate all the critics that help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Paine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Paine

Address: Sector Rio Serrano | a 7 km de Administracion, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Paine 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Cabanas del Paine" is located near to "Serrano" River at 11 km away from Administration Point and 79 km north from "Puerto Natales". It has an excellent panoramic view of the "Paine" Range. Enjoying this scene, our hotel offers a typical gastronomy, including a variety of grilled meats, fresh vegetables, fish and Chilean wines. We have 44 rooms with private bathroom, permanent electricity, central heating and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel del Paine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Paine Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Paine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.