We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very average service...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Refugio, Camping and Cabins Los Cuernos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torres del Paine National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Refugio, Camping and Cabins Los Cuernos
Save
You added Refugio, Camping and Cabins Los Cuernos to your Saves list
Torres del Paine - W trek Circuit, Torres del Paine National Park 610000, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$48 (USD)
Montreal
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Great location, very average service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

As with all of the Fantastico Sur refugios in the park, this one was strategically located right in the middle of the W circuit and in a very beautiful location right on a stunning rock beach. The accomodations were similar to the other refugios, very cramped bedrooms, cramped common area, small bathrooms, not enough hooks to hang clothes to dry or shelves to store personal items. On the positive side, the beds were warm and clean and the food was actually pretty decent, atleast on the night that we stayed here. While certain of the staff were pleasant, others were cold and impatient, particularly during meal service. We felt as if we were bothering them at times in asking for simple things like a refill of hot water for tea and coffee. As with the other Fantastico Sur refugios, my main complaint is that the high price charged for bed and board is not justified by what is provided. Clearly, the owners of these refugios are aware that hikers (who don't wish to camp) have no where else to go and therefore there is no incentive to improve or offer a better product and service.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    50
    20
    15
    19
See reviews for
11
73
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The refugios here undoubtedly have a high price tag tagged to it - afterall they are in the middle of nowhere and are providing a service to you. I stayed in the bunk rooms (the cabanas were all sold out 3mths ago) and they were quite alright. Usual problem with the Fantastico Sur runned refugios are that the rooms are not sound proof-ed. You can hear people talking and snoring next door. Another downside is that they have limited showers - only 3 cubicles, so if you arrive early, shower first! My stay here was alright, barring the Canadian couple who insisted on airing their smelly socks in the room and stinking up the entire bunk!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

First of all: what I am reviewing here is not the beautiful scenery or the overall W track experience (that's simply gorgeous)
But: my reviews try to help other travelers to get information about the accommodation.
And, this must be said in this case, all the Refugio's are a rip off in Torres del Paine. In my opinion this is clearly due to a lack of competition between different operators.
Fantastico sur has the privilege of running a camp that is strategically positioned in the middle of the W track, that normally you don't get around staying there on your hike.

Problem is: of course they know. This is why they charge you heavily for Food, drinks and accommodation and work with young, inexperienced, grumpy staff who, sry to say, has never heard about service or even common sense (nobody knows stuff or is responsible for anything). You leave with the impression of having paid 100US (easily, depending on weather and your last track) for almost nothing in return.

The argument of "they have to get everything via horse or boot" is valid but apparently the staff lives well on it (the food they make for themselves is far better than the gringo stuff). If you have the chance, whenever you can, go camping, enjoy the scenery and leave the Refugios aside!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We enjoyed two days here and had a nice experience. There is a lovely outdoor deck and when the wind wasn't blowing 100mph it was nice to sit in the sun amidst gorgeous scenery. The refugio was clean with dorm styled bunk beds. We found the food to be good considering how remote the location is. Staff were very accommodating and were always busy working. The common area was cozy and inviting. The weather was snotty so we were grateful to be inside, fed and dry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed one night in the cabins during our W Trek. The service and food were both very good. When we came back from supper they had even lit the fireplace in our cabin, it was very nice. The cabins have sky lights so we feel asleep gazing at the stars and shadow of the peaks. The showers were a bit small, but I was happy just to have running water on a trek!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here for a few days in the cabins as a break during our time in Torres del Paine. I note the following:
- Food and service. Disorganised and disappointing, even running out of staples such as milk. At both breakfast and dinner service, people constantly had to keep asking for basics like butter, milk, jam and bread. The beef one night was cooked beyond salvaging - so tough you needed a saw. Portion sizes varied significantly at all dinners eaten - some were small and insufficient and others more than double the size - for the same meal.
- Hot tub. Supposed to used by the guests staying in the cabins. The appearance of the water was dirty and looked very uninviting so we didn't use it. The water was not hot late in the day on arrival. It was used by people not staying in the cabins - so crowded at one stage even if we had wanted to use it, there would have not been sufficient room.
- Lunch. We had pre-booked "lunch or a lunch box". On arrival we asked what time lunch was served and were told "come when you want". On the second day at 1 pm we went to the dining room. There was a large table set and food was cooking, When I asked about lunch I was told only a "lunch" box was available and that we had no choice. As we ate our less than fresh rolls filled with the remains of the previous evening's dinner, the staff sat down to the set table and ate a freshly cooked lunch.
- Fire in cabin: I asked for some matches to light the fire as it was going to be a cool evening and was told someone would be up later to light it. At 9.30 I finally went down and asked. We were not alone and other people asked for the same.
- The bathrooms allocated to the cabins are woeful. The shower has no pressure, the toilets are in a small enclosed space with louvre type doors offering little room or privacy. The facilities in the main lodge are probably better.
As you can tell, our stay was very disappointing. It is a shame because the location is incredible and if managed differently could be so much better. Although some staff were helpful, most were not. Overall it does not represent value for money even given that with a remote location and short season you would expect to pay a premium.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This place was way overpriced, 6000 pesos and the toilets didnt work, staff were extremely rude and the whole place was disappointing.

When we payed the camping staff they just took the money, wouldn't give us a receipt and didn't ask us to register (which I believe is a safety requirement in TdP). This is not very reassuring given that 5 days before we left somebody had gone missing in Torres del Paine, but staff don't really care about you here.

Our tent had a small rip due to the very strong wind, and we asked if they had anything to help to 3 different members of staff. 2 replied no without even looking for something. The third staff we adked then found something in their office, and then tried to sell it to us even though it was opened...... Pretty pathetic when you're paying so much.

We had better experiences at the free campsites (and also other private ones that are not run by fantastico sur) where the staff explain general things and register you etc.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Refugio, Camping and Cabins Los Cuernos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio, Camping and Cabins Los Cuernos

Address: Torres del Paine - W trek Circuit, Torres del Paine National Park 610000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Cuernos is located in the heart of the W trek Circuit, if you have started your trek from las Torres sector, this would be your third or second night at the Circuit, from las Torres or El Chileno the trek is about 4 to 5 hours until you reach Los Cuernos.Los Cuernos is for most off us our favorite spot in the W trek, just in the base of Los CuernosIn this sector you´ll find our Refugio, Domes, Cabins and Camping, all of them with 24 hours hot water bathrooms (Domes guests must use Refugio´s Bathrooms). Yo can also have your meals at our Restaurant inside the Refugio. Useful info: bring sandals for showers, towel (rental available).For tax exemption, do not forget to bring your passport, immigration card given when enter to Chile, foreign currency (tax exemption not available for camping guests) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Refugio, Camping And Cabins Los Cuernos Hotel Torres Del Paine
Refugio, Camping And Cabins Los Cuernos Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refugio, Camping and Cabins Los Cuernos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.