We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, great rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Serrano Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rio Serrano Hotel to your Saves list
Rio Serrano Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Aguilar 01105, Torres del Paine National Park 6200000, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing location, great rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I had a great experience with this hotel. They offered every amenity you could ask for in such a remote area of the world.

The hotel also had guides available to take you up to the treks at Torres Del Paine.

The food was great, service was great, environment was great, scenery was even better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    112
    46
    22
    15
See reviews for
70
161
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

It's not just the view from your room, although that is absolutely beautiful. The rooms themselves are extremely comfortable. Catering is expensive, but delicious. It's a beautiful hotel in one of the loveliest places in the world. There were a couple of American waitresses, who have probably moved on by now, who were utterly charming.

Room Tip: I think that all the customers' rooms face towards the mountains. You really can't lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a very controversial review.
5 balls: location and view from the room, the hall and the restaurant. 5 balls also to the relaxing massage, great after a trekking day.
4 balls: the room was big and confortable.
3 balls: good breakfast.
2balls: service overall, the staff is not so kind. 2 balls also for the self-service restaurant, a lot of stuff but nothing special...and you don't have a lot of alternative place to have dinner in the nearby.
1ball: the room was cold! We set the maximum but not enough to warm up. A last very disappointing thing, the last day before the checkout we started receiving phone calls from 8am, just some rings to wake you up, for 4/5 times.. .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Spent 2 nights here.beautiful location with wonderful views over the Tores del Paine. Lovely, modern design and relaxing common areas with fabulous large windows making the most of the scenery. Rooms nice, great comfy beds, bathrooms average though. Food abysmal. At all cost, avoid eating in the hotel restaurant. Shockingly poor and eyewateringly overpriced. Try the restaurant 5 minutes away instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We did the all inclusive package and loved everything about it. On the excursions they treated us like Queens and Kings, serving us lunch with wine or beer and many added delicious items. The restaurant at the hotel was good if you got there early, however, if you were later to get there the main dishes were a bit over cooked. The salads were always delicious and many of them! Our room was awesome with such a fantastic view!! Watching the pink sky come each morning surrounding the mountains was spectacular!

Room Tip: Face the mountains! Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had 2 nights at the Rio Serrano in mid February. We were in a Superior room with a small balcony/terrace (There are 6 of these, ask for level 2 or 3 if available), and a table & chairs inside facing the Cuernos through a huge window. We spent hours watching and photographing as storm after storm swept through the peaks - probably the moodiest and most spectacular sight in the park.
The room was big and comfortable, and surprisingly quiet.
Other reviewers say food is expensive, but considering the location and the tortuous route all food must take to get there, I didn't think it unreasonable (About 25GBP for 3 courses including coffee & a large glass of wine). Also, if you have your own transport, delaying breakfast until 8.30 avoids all of the crowds, and dinner after 8.30pm also achieves the same.
Regarding the route to the hotel, the access road past the Milodon cave has been closed between 10am & 9pm, so access is via the north park entrance beyond Cerro Castillo, about 170Km, outside these times. If you're driving yourself, make sure the car's very full of fuel before you leave Puerto Natales.
We planned our own trips out in our rental car, but we received great information and advice from the hotel tour organisers, who listened to what we wanted then advised spectacular and little walked routes to Mirador Ferrier and other places, with no hint of them trying to sell trips to us. A brilliant service.
We moved on to Las Torres after 2 days, but would have been happy to have stayed on at Rio Serrano as so many things there are done well.
Finally, regarding the internet, anyone going to a remote place should accept they won't get big city service, so if this is a problem to you my advice is stay at home!

Room Tip: Make sure you face the Cuernos, higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The location on the edge of the National Park was a delight, the all round views were splendid, and it was much better than staying outside the park in terms of travelling. The staff were very pleasant. The bedrooms were good, and the facilities were fine. Wifi worked well for us in the public rooms;so we just downloaded newspapers, BBC, emails etc and read them at leisure.
Obviously all the food and drink etc had to be conveyed a distance there, so a cost premium was not unexpected for consumables.
The only drawback for us was the buffet dinner. The main courses were not good, and at pesos 24,000 plus 18pc tax it was very expensive for the quality (hence my poor rating for value below). The dining parties did not appear to be staggered and our group clearly arrived at a busy time; there was a really noisy hubbub and melee. It was not an enjoyable experience.
Our early breakfast was a delight though. The restaurant was relatively quiet, we could take in the external views and the buffet availability was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Serrano Hotel

Address: Manuel Aguilar 01105, Torres del Paine National Park 6200000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Different ambiances, fine cuisine, history, expeditions, culture, music, outstanding rooms; all this to complement the most amazing scenery Río Serrano Hotel concedes calm moods and a fresh approach to service; our hospitality aims to exceed its guest expectations and to have them leave with precious memories of their experience at Torres del Paine. Our regional cuisine offers from our world famous king crab, fish, and all sorts of fresh seafood, to Magellan’s lamb, all wild meats, poultry and mouth watering deserts; all framed by the spectacular view of our restaurant. Outdoor & Indoor activities conducted by specialist bilingual guides who seek to fulfill your excursion with enthusiasm, knowledge and culture. Explorations to satisfy every visitor's wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rio Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Serrano Hotel Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Serrano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.