We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best views in the world” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Serrano Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rio Serrano Hotel to your Saves list
Rio Serrano Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Aguilar 01105, Torres del Paine National Park 6200000, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best views in the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The view is amazing: from your room, from the bar, the lobby and from the restaurant. A true lodge in grand style.
The only downsides are: the food is pretty disappointing (ratio quality-price is not great), sandwiches are awful and if you don't have a car, that will make your stay pretty expensive (as you will need to book a (pretty expensive) transfer shuttle each time you want to go somewhere and visit the park; there are hardly any trails accessible directly from the hotel.
That said, the internal travel agency is pretty good and the staff very nice and helpful (see Martin in particular).
My advice: if you stay there for a couple of nights and have your own car; it will be perfect.
Excursion advice: do not miss the excursion with the boat on Lake Grey to see Glacier Grey: one of the best experience of my life!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanexis P, Gerente at Rio Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest:
First of all we would like to thank you for taking some of your time for this review , which is welcome and helps us improve the weaknesses we could have. We are focusing our attention especilally on what you refer to about quality -price ratio of our meals and sandwiches. Nevertheless, i think it is a good point to explain to you that the main reason for these prices is that the hotel is very far from the cities and everything is really expensive to buy and to bring.
Prices of meals and beverages in general are pretty much the same in all of the hotels in Torres del Paine. I would even say that there is more expensive in many others.Also the prices of the excursions and transfers are expensive because of the long distances and the price of the fuel in the area. It is good for future gests to know that if they come driving their own car (which is an option many people take), they should make sure they have enough fuel when they
get to the hotel, since there is no gas station anywhere in the park, the nearest one is about 150 km away.
We thank you once more for your review.
Yanexis Porro
Operation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    111
    46
    22
    15
See reviews for
68
159
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ampleforth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This must be one of the worst hotels in South America for hospitality. Alright they have a world class view, a nice location and reasonable buildings but they fail big time in looking after guests. Here are three examples 1. Reception is similar to a mix of reporting to the head teacher for a misdemeanour you did not commit and an interview with the bank manager. Negotiating exchange rates and payment of extras is a trial that starts with a long queue and a very poor understanding of english. And don't even think about asking to change your room because it does not have 'the view' (over 50% of rooms look over the back of the hotel) 2. There is nothing in the mini bar/fridge in your room except a price list. 3. There is no indication or signs on the plethora of dishes at each meal. Is it chicken, fish or lamb in that stew? If you ask waiter it is likely to turn into a scene from Fawlty Towers.
This hotel could really benefit from a customer care programme.
Finally it is just unacceptable for a hotel of this size and stature to have such poor internet services. If you possibly can go somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanexis P, Gerente at Rio Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest:
The staff at the Front Desk always informs our guests at their arrival about all the services our hotel offers in a nice and heartwarming way, as they let them know, among other things, that the minibar is not set, but if they want it to be, they may let us know just by dialing 0. There are 95 rooms in our hotel, 62 of them are Superior Rooms with a view to Paine Massive and only 33 of them are Standard Rooms, therefore the quantity of superior rooms nearly doubles the quantity of standard ones. Our hotel is fully booked most of the time during the season, so an upgrade to a superior room would be a hard thing to do, since it is not very usual that people who either reserved or paid for a superior room don´t show up. About the name of the different courses at the buffet,that is already solved. We have written the names of the main courses mainly, because the salads are easy to identify. We are working very hard in order to improve our internet service, which is difficult because of where our hotel is located, though there is always the possibilty for the guests to use our lap top computers when they cannot connect using their cell phones. Like i mentioned above, we are hardly working to improve all the aspects you mention about on your review, that is actually a way for us to know where we are failing a bit and that makes us improve and give a better service.

Best Regards
Yanexis Porro
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great, the surrounding area is incredible, amazing views from our room of the Torres and other surrounding beauties. The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially the outdoor activities guides who arranged great outings during the day giving detailed explanations of the surrounding area. The head of outdoor activities Martin was especially helpful and very friendly. Good vibes all round. I'd definitely recommend a stay here!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I spent 4 nights at this hotel and would not recommend it for the following reasons:
1) No Internet (neither WiFi nor hard cable): super slow connectivity (1 GB for the entire hotel, including the offices in Torres del Paine and their office in Punta Arenas). This is if there was internet connection at all. If the IT manager wasn't there to reset the modem, no one had internet. With no cell phone coverage in the park, internet is your only means of communicating with family and friends back home. So, for a high end, pricy hotel, even when I had their top end luxury room having no Internet on New Year's eve (or most other times) was frustrating! Waiting for 20 minutes or more (even sitting under their WiFi modem in their common areas) for a connection is not acceptable in 2014.
2) Their IT manager Reset all my internet browser setting: Just to see if that would connect me to the internet... after I lost all my passwords he realized the issue is with their modem. Apparently the owner of the hotel has been in that location for 11 years, and this particular hotel has been operational for 7 years... and they still don't have a good system, blaming it on the service providers (I've worked in some very remote areas of the world and we managed to get a satellite that gave us amazing speed/reliability). I spoke with travelers staying in other hotels in the park and they didn't have these issues!
3) The IT manager also deleted all my cookies on my computer which presented all the problems of having to re establish security measures in Chile (such as with my bank). No cell phone coverage, meant having to use the hotel's astronomically expensive phones. I asked the hotel manager if I can use their office phone to correct this error and she refused.
4) Lack of communication/poor service from the hotel administration office: Made reservation on Nov 17, received road closure notification on Nov 29, sent several emails requesting clarification, called their office twice (which is located in Punta Arenas with limited hours) but I did not receive accurate information. This added an extra 3 hours (unplanned) to my trip because Hotel Rio Serrano is located on the southern entrance to the park. They don't tell you that there are no gas stations in the park... only at Puerto Natales. So, I was lucky to find some and paid the hotel handsomely USD $80 for 10 gallons of gas!!!! Just so I can get back out!
5) Poor management: The hotel continuously ran out of things. They didn't even have snacks (almonds) at the bar for three of my 4 night stays. With no room service, and limited restaurant hours, I went hungry. So bring your own food to this hotel or eat heartily at breakfast to last you until the next morning.
6) Poor room quality: The Shower curtain was torn in a couple of places(in the luxury room!!!) , the pillows were flat as pancakes, no TV in the rooms (and of course no internet).
7) Poor signs and an un-kept mud road to this hotel. Since the hotel and the little community of Rio Serrano is located outside of the Park, CONAF (the Chilean Park Service) have no authority to manage their impact/growth/access roads. Therefore, the area is being over run by poorly managed and not regulated development. The giant mud holes going across pastures are adding to the erosion and impacting the watershed into the park. I had a really hard time finding the hotel and once there, I was surprised at how could such a luxury hotel not maintain the road going to its front door!

I would highly recommend other options, especially in the park. Stay out of Rio Serrano area. If in doubt, consult the Park web page for recommendations: http://www.torresdelpaine.com/ingles/secciones/03/a/directorio.asp.


Overall, although the restaurant staff were very nice and warm, the hotel reception and management were not customer friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanexis P, Gerente at Rio Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest:
It is a pitty that you consider you have had such a terrible experience in our hotel, especially when we had all the time our will and the best disposition to help you on your permanent need to be connected to the internet as we even gave you the possibility to connect your notebook using the cables we use at our offices, something that i think many hotels wouldn´t do.
You are certainly right on something,we do have problems with the internet, since we are so far from civilization and our connection is by satellite, but the most important thing is that we let all of our guests know about that once they are in the hotel, as well as we offer them all the necessary help if they have a big need to urgently read their e-mails.
That´s why we find it strange when you say that both the Administrator and the staff at the Front Desk were not friendly. You were nice when you talked to us about your difficulties and we tried to be even nicer by finding a solution and providing you with help. It is good for you to know that we´re working to improve the internet connection at the hotel and we are about to succeed. So we are sure that future guests will benefit from a better service in that direction, including you if you come back.
Regards
Yanexis Porro
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The views are amazing but the service was just about OK. One lady in the restaurant (Cata or Catalina) was amazing and really helpful - the rest looked like they didn't want to be there. Internet access was abysmal and clearly a cost saving measure by the hotel. Food was pretty good though...it also lacked the small luxuries like shower gel and flannels...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a door and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

On the positive side - After we kindly asked to change for another room we received a bigger one and with a great view of the mountains. The restaurant and bar is spacious and the selection of food (especially warm dishes) satisfactory. You are not obliged to take full buffet, we asked if we can just take a main dish and a salad and it was arranged (so we paid less for dinners). Rooms are furnished with taste, spacious and clean. You can really relax after full day hikes in Torres!
On the negative side - the road leading to the hotel is in terrible conditions and it worsens just after the entrance to the hotel premises. Hotel is located just outside the park and it's quite far from the starting points of main excursions (i.e. Valley Francais, Campo Britannico, Glacier Grey) so take some extra petrol (you should count 1 hour, 1h30 one way to get from the hotel to Lago Pehoe or Lago Grey). Avoid hotel's tourist office, it's a trap for reach unexperienced tourists who will pay ridiculous money for a trip you can easily organize yourself (if you have your own car and extra petrol).
All in all it's a good option but not amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We are a family of 6 (4 young kids). We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 2 nights. The location is great and it's very convenient to tour the gorgeous Torres del Paine National Park,with or without the special trips that the hotel organizes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Serrano Hotel

Address: Manuel Aguilar 01105, Torres del Paine National Park 6200000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Different ambiances, fine cuisine, history, expeditions, culture, music, outstanding rooms; all this to complement the most amazing scenery Río Serrano Hotel concedes calm moods and a fresh approach to service; our hospitality aims to exceed its guest expectations and to have them leave with precious memories of their experience at Torres del Paine. Our regional cuisine offers from our world famous king crab, fish, and all sorts of fresh seafood, to Magellan’s lamb, all wild meats, poultry and mouth watering deserts; all framed by the spectacular view of our restaurant. Outdoor & Indoor activities conducted by specialist bilingual guides who seek to fulfill your excursion with enthusiasm, knowledge and culture. Explorations to satisfy every visitor's wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rio Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Serrano Hotel Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Serrano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.