We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patagonia Camp

Save Saved
You added Patagonia Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 1 more site!
Patagonia Camp
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Camino Milodon-Porteno km 74, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Thank you to everyone at Patagonia Camp for making our stay so enjoyable. The yurts were truly sumptuous with spectacular views. We really enjoyed the excursions. Although direct access to the park was blocked and we had to take the long way round, we were rewarded by some memorable wildlife sightings along the road. We saw condors, foxes, buzzard eagles, caracara, rheas and (most memorably) a whole colony of armadillos. Carlos and Ivan, our guide and driver, were helpful and enthusiastic. Once again many thanks - it has been the highlight of our holiday so far.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear traveler,
We are very glad that you had enjoyed your stay at Patagonia Camp and also that you had the opportunity to observe an important amount of wildlife species; they one of the most important reasons why we love our home! The whole team at Patagonia Camp is happy given special and warm hospitality to our guest, we truly hope to welcome you again in the future! All the best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    15
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
97
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Being at Patagonia Camp was an amazing experience! We went to Patagonia to run the International Marathon and found Patagonia Camp to be the perfect place, tailored shuttle service and hiking excursions, incredible food and excellent wine and piscos, warm comfy yurt with an incredible view of the mountains by the lake including a huge bath tub and delicious chocolates found on the bed pillow every evening....all included!

Customer service was AMAZING with our excellent guide to Patagonia, Francisco, who took us on hikes, lunch spots with incredible views, and even took pictures of us crossing the finish line!

Truly amazing experience and make it incredible hard to come back to the dirty overcrowded streets of Sao Paulo, Brazil.....we stopped to watch wildlife, including condors and guanacos, and the food was truly outstanding! great breakfast spread, smoked lamb and chilean ceviche, excursion lunch sandwiches of local smoked salmon (with wine of course!!!!)

sincerely cannot thank Patagonia Camp enough for the amazing experience we had, please please please stay here, its so much more than a yurt on a lake!

Room Tip: yurts by the lake are great and you can hear birds calling in the morning (softly). Each yurt had sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments!

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Patagonia Camp and also the Patagonian International Marathon, we hope to welcome you for the next race!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you like hiking
If you don't want to worry about what or where to eat
If you love nature this place is an excellent option
My husband and I went for a week vacation to this glam camp with 2 other friends, we took the all inclusive package. Included accommodation, meals, excursions

You have at least 2 Excursions to choose each day with a guide. All guides are well informed and made us feel at home. I am a slow walker and was always taken into consideration

Lovely picnics in the wilderness with many special details.

And besides the fact that they had a problem with the roads to the national park, they made every effort to not let this issue ruin our stay. (A massage would have been perfect).

Since it is not a large hotel, we received personalized attention and made friends with all the guests, sharing our daily experiences and pictures

So many things to see
Wildlife, lakes, the many mountains in different colors and shapes, glaciers etc.

The last night we all sat together at the same table and shared emails.

Food was great, caught a rainbow trout in the lake and came back with a few more kilos.

Thanks Loreto, Rodrigo, Francisco, Jorge, Juan Luis, Juan Francisco, Connie, Eladio, the drivers, the chef and su chef and everyone else who made are stay so wonderful.

Best

Room Tip: All yurts have a view to the lake but yurt 18 has a path that takes you directly to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Patagonia Camp, we are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay and also we are very happy that you have appreciated all the details we do for our travelers to make their stay warmer, just like home! We hope you can visit us in some other occasion, All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The yurts are very pretty with great views and the food was quite good. That said, in all of my travels I've never encountered such terrible customer service as we experienced at the camp. My boyfriend and I were staying in El Calafate and trying to decide whether to venture to El Chalten or to Torres del Paine for the few days that we had free before flying back to Buenos Aires - we booked this place after corresponding with someone directly from the camp who assured us that all trails and roads were open. The camp's website boasts being a mere 20 minutes from the entrance to the park. Upon our arrival, we were extremely disappointed to learn that in addition to multiple trekking trails in the park being closed, the park entrance closest to the camp had been closed for several weeks due to an avalanche, which meant that hotel guests needed to drive 2 plus hours (each way) to the other entrance of the park. This was never disclosed to us even though the booking was only completed a week prior to our arrival through a specific sales rep for the camp. After explaining to the reception that we found this lack of communication to be completely unacceptable and deceptive given that the main draw of the camp was its proximity to the park, we asked to speak to someone in management no less than five times. We were never able to speak to anyone (even though apparently one of the managers was dining next to us during this entire initial conversation). Later, the sales rep tried to cover his tracks by claiming that he had sent us an email on the day of our arrival explaining this situation, but this email was never received and it quite frankly would have been much too late at this point. I should also add that the camp's general response time to inquiries was about 2 days. They gave us a free box lunch and "allowed" us to cancel our third night at the camp. That was it. They did not provide any assistance in rebooking us inside the park despite our request that they do so. I would not recommend staying here. We ended up staying at Hosteria Las Torres our third night, which is a more quaint and lodge-style accommodation, but the location was perfect and the service was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedbacks from our travelers and we are constantly working on our improvement in all areas of the Camp.
We are very sorry about your disappointed experience regarding our service; however, we would like to explain you that the situation of the blasting works at the begining of August due to rocks on the road to Torres del Paine is completely out of our hands and the works they do and results are a thing that change on an every day basis, depending on their advance and weather conditions.
Our reservation team is always taking care of our travelers, so, we are always informing every change or situation that could affect their trips, that is why we e-mail you back after your questions about how to reach Patagonia Camp and the road condition; we are very sorry that you did not receive our e-mail sent last Tuesday 17th at 11:00 hrs after your questions. Please, receive our most sincere apologize for any inconvenient you have had. Also because when our sales executive gave you the information about the trails in the park being all opened then the situation changed when we received an announcement from Conaf (Park´s administration) that Las Torres Base and Valle del Francés would be closed for weather conditions and that is what our chief guide informed you at the Camp.

As you commented, our Hotel Manager was dinning beside you, with another guest, but while you were speaking with the front desk about your inconveniences she was trying to find a concrete solution, and that is when we offered you the box lunch to assist you in your excursion and after she could confirm with the reservation office the annulment of your 3rd night, as you requested, she gave you that information along with the receipts needed, helping also assisting you with the flat tire you had in your car and with the Front desk giving you the recommendation of staying in Hotel Las Torres.

We want to add that because of the problem with the works on the road to the park, that is not in our full control, we have implemented a new assist for our Bed & Breakfast guests until the situation continues, since they come on their own vehicles the gas availability could be an issue. For this reason, what we do is to offer them excursions to the park with us with a very special discount. This would be done at the hotel subject to availability and joining the excursions defined every day with our All Inclusive guests.

I again apologize for your unfortunate experience. As Patagonia Camp team it is always in our best interest to support our guests in anything they might need, and assist them when they find themselves in trouble.

We hope you had enjoyed your trip to Patagonia and we hope you had a safe return back to your home.

Kind regards,

Mariana Ramirez
General Manager
Patagonia Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Patagonia camp was incredible. They picked us up in Punto Arenas with a guide in the van, Jorge, who explained everything to us as we drove to Patagonia Camp. When we arrived, the reception staff couldn't have been nicer. Juan Francisco, the head of reception was very helpful and courteous. He walked us to our yurts and explained everything about them personally.
The food every day was that of a 5 star restaurant. Most of the nights we were there there was a menu with a few options for us to choose from - always a three course meal. One night there was a buffet. All of the food was good - there wasn't one thing we didn't like.
The excursions were so wonderful. The two guides whom we had were Francisco and Jorge. They both were just great. They seemed so happy to be there, and knew everything to every question we asked. On our trip we did the "Fauna" hike, the "Cuernos" trek, and the "Navigacion" to Grey Glacier. It is hard to pick a favorite excursion.
The service staff at Patagonia Camp couldn't have been better. They were attentive and helpful.
Lastly, the yurts. They were great - comfortable beds, great bathrooms. Only one small complaint: I was in yurt 10, and the water never really got hot in the shower. However, if that's the only complaint I have - I feel like that is okay. I would absolutely return to Patagonia Camp if my travels bring me back to Patagonia. The all-inclusive pricing is nice - it may be hard to swallow at first, but not needing to keep track of spending is great. Patagonia Camp was 100% worth it. Thanks, Patagonia Camp!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments!

The best price for the work we do is having happy travelers like you! We are very glad that you like our services and that you appreciated the warm service of our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards from Patagonia Camp!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Staying at Patagonia Camp was a unique experience. When we arrived, we couldn't believe how the yurts could have heating and showers - and it all worked! It was super comfortable but still felt very much like being in nature. The staff was amazing, there was lots of help and advice with planning activities and we got along very well with the servers in the dining room. The food was very good. The camp is not inside the park, which is the only downside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I spent four amazing nights at Patagonia Camp in March 2013 and it exceeded most of our expectations. The yurts are a treasure, so comfortable, private and decorated in all local wares including shearling throw rugs. In all the yurts there is a skylight built into the tent located perfectly above the bed, where on a clear night you can see the stars. Incredibly romantic and beautiful!

The staff are lovely, helpful and most speak a little English and if they don’t, they will find someone to communicate with you. The tour packages were absolutely amazing. We went on the Glacier Grey tour, the French Valley tour and the Base of the Towers tour (for the Base excursion, note that it is a four hour round trip van ride). Be aware that the weather conditions in the park change on a dime, so not every tour will be available on the morning you may want to go. The guides will suggest which tour is best for the weather conditions. All of the guides were informative, bilingual and patient with the slower trekkers. Glacier grey was by far my favorite; the day was beautiful, our guide Rodrigo was so knowledgeable about everything we were viewing and is so passionate about the parks environment, it’s refreshing to be around a guide who is not jaded or bored. He definitely enhanced my experience. We enjoyed a full blown, red carpet lunch with beer and wine. It couldn’t have been a more perfect day tour. This excursion also included a special (imbibing related) surprise, however, if I shared it in this review, it may diminish the experience for future participants.

All the meals are included, and for the most part were delicious, but we felt that the dinners could have been better; maybe a bit more variety, flavor and heated properly. Some of the lunches are better than others depending on your excursion.

Overall, I can’t say enough wonderful things about Patagonia Camp. When it came time to leave, my husband had to practically drag me out of the yurt by my hair! It was a magical experience only enhanced by the unbelievably beautiful surroundings of Torres Del Paine. A place one must try to visit at least once in a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Patagonia Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Camp

Also Known As:
Patagonia Camp Hotel Torres Del Paine
Patagonia Camp Aisen Region/Torres Del Paine National Park, Chile
Address: Camino Milodon-Porteno km 74, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Patagonia Camp 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patagonia Camp is the first luxury Camp in South America, an original and distinctive concept where every detail has been carefully thought of so that our guests may thoroughly enjoy the magnificent and wild nature of Torres del Paine National Park and mythical Patagonia, combining comfort, convenience, and the warm hospitality that Chileans are known for. Patagonia Camp invites you to live an experience unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Patagonia Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patagonia Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.