We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Pakse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pakse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pakse Hotel to your Saves list
Pakse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street no. 5 | Bane Watlouang, Pakse, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pakse
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best in Pakse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Pakse is not a destination - it's jumping off/transit point and the hotels cater fro this. That said the Pakse is the best in town and although the room are average and probably secure you will not spend too much time here. The well reviewed roof top bar is worth a visit as the drinks and food are good as is the sunset. Breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    168
    89
    22
    7
See reviews for
27
193
58
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 the night before and the night after our trip into the jungle for Zip lining. Top floor, corner room, air con not brilliant. Bathroom tiny, dated but adequate. My biggest memory of this hotel was the 'map' with a marked out route to take, given to us by the owner. It outlined the best places to see (in walking distance) from the hotel. So off we set. Never saw one restaurant, eating place, struggled to be a bottle of water along the way. I think this 'map' to show 'all the sights' of Pakse was designed to make you think there is no where else to eat in Pakse - except Pakse Hotel..... so we did eat there the first night... great food - had a big feed before heading into the unknown of the jungle ! When we came out of the jungle, we met our new jungle friends a few streets away ... where all the backpackers, other hotels, restaurants etc were.... Conveniently we had completely missed this section on our walking tour of Pakse. Breakfast was average and probably the most uninviting we had found in Laos and Cambodia. Wifi non existant in our room and even in the hotel foyer using their computers. Staff... mmm not sure they wanted to be there to be honest. Did not seem happy nor helpful.

Room Tip: we had the top floor, right under the restaurant and i guess if you want to go to bed early and slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice clean hotel, friendly staff. The clean and large room was lovely designed with good aircon and nice beds. Very good breakfast. The room (209) was located a little bit outside the normal corridor. This meant you have to go to the 3rd floor and walk down a hallway and one store to go to your room. Not a big effort if you're young but with luggage it is a sweaty undertaking. All in all a good enjoyable place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banlung, Ratanakiri, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've done plenty of travel in Southeast Asia, and have stayed everywhere from $7-a-night roach-fests to 4-and-5-Star resorts, so I feel like I have a fairly balanced view of Southeast Asian hotels.

Negatives: for the price, ($32) the rooms are small, dated, poorly appointed. I never could get the wireless internet to work properly, so if you're a blogger/photography like me, that'll ruin your stay. The AC leaked in the room—not cool. 20 bucks more could have had me in true 4-star splendor in the Champasak Grand down the street. Hmmm...

Positives: Location is perfect, with everything in Pakse within walking distance. Nice bathroom with excellent shower (I hate trickly showers), good free breakfast, friendly staff, awesome rooftop restaurant which makes the other negatives more palatable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The rates are very high considering that the Hotel is really dated and a bit shabby. Stayed here for a total of 6 nights - between visits. Rooms on the 6th floor are spacious but the beds are hard. Ask for a room with a view of the river. The roof top Terrance has a lovely ambiance with a nice view - especially at sunset, the food was fantastic. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful which we appreciated upon returning after a long day touring.We did all our Tour bookings at agencies outside of the Hotel as they were allot cheaper for the same deal. The Hotel is well situated. As mentioned just requires a bit of tender love and care.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had no idea where to go in the beginning of our trip in Pakse. Our book suggest us the Sala Champa guesthouse, but we thought the price was too high for what it were! The Pakse hotel was just beside so we decide to go there. And it was just perfect! We had a deal on the price because of low season rate. The room was spacious with efficient air cond. and really clean. The owners are such nice and welcoming people!! The roof top restaurant is good and really nice for an afternoon drinks!

Room Tip: Room 302 have a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Rates similar to 4 & 5 star hotels' in other cities ($50) for very basic premises and less than average rooms. We declined many rooms on the 3rd, 4th & 5th floors as they were rather horrid. We paid an extra for 605 with a double view but the A/C was hardly working & we were baking; the room was alright, the bathroom very old and run-down, potentially not great value for money when compared to other cities (not sure about other hotels in Pakse). Breakfast was ok and in hindsight nicer than some of the hotels that followed Pakse. Their tours are well pricey, use agencies nearby or the Lankham Hotel for affordable days out of Pakse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pakse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakse Hotel

Address: Street no. 5 | Bane Watlouang, Pakse, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Pakse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pakse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pakse Hotel is ideally located in the historical heart of the city. French colonial houses, evening and day markets, all shops and services (banks, airlines, money exchange, ...), As well as Mekong and Sedone banks are just nearby. Built in the early 60's by the last Prince of Champassak, Chao Boun Oum, it has been totally renovated in 2000 by the Lao-French owning and managing couple. It reaches international standards whilst the traditional Lao-colonial influence is preserved. The panoramic restaurant on the top of the hotel has become one of the hubs of the city, serving traditional Lao, western and fusion foods. The restaurant is set in a wonderful open-air green environment, away from mosquitoes, air conditioners and traffic nuisances. The view on the city and the Mekong is really wonderful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pakse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakse Hotel Laos - Champasak Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pakse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.