We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Great Hotel !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pakse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Athena Hotel
Save
You added Athena Hotel to your Saves list
Ban Pabad, City Centre, Pakse, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 40 Pakse B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, Great Hotel !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were a bit aprehensive about what hotels we would find in Pakse. We booked the Athena based on the reviews below and could not be happier.

The rooms are VERY clean. The furniture and bathrooms in very good condition. The beds are incredibly comfy. The hotel is a fabulous oasis in Pakse - an excellent base to explore the area.

Mr. Onh, at the front desk, was exceptional! He provided incredible service, helped us with everything. He is fluent in German and Anglish, as well as his native Lao - he was GREAT!!

We look forward to staying at the hotel next time we are in Pakse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
29
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Although we only had one night here we felt very comfortable. The rooms are well appointed and luxurious to what we have had in Laos. The pool was perfect and breakfast was perfect,pancakes which we haven't seen for a few weeks. Great place to stay wish we had more time to stay there:-) :-) :-)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near newcastle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We can not speak highly enough of this hotel , it presents exactly as portrayed in its advertising .The rooms are very well appointed , with all the luxuries required . The pool is a welcome relief in the heat that can be experienced here . It is very nicely situated in easy walking distance to some great restaurants , shops and not too far from the central markets . Pakse offers many points of interest , so do yourself a favour and allow at least 3 days here !

Room Tip: Any room will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

There is not alot in paske itself , this hotel was oasis . The room were great,extremly clean,the pool was a must and water was clear and clean. The staff although most only hada spattering of english the manager english was very good and was very helpful. Request a pick up from the airport through the hotel will cost you half what the taxi's will charge as a blanket rate on arrival. Breakfast was good also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at the Athena for 2 nights on separate occasions while in transit and using Pakse as an overnight accomodation. Lovely new very well-run facility in central Pakse within walking distance of many restaurants and sights. There is a charming courtyard pool, very large, spotless and modern rooms and breakfast is included. The management drove us to the airport at 6AM and also made reasonable arrangements for a private driver to take us to and from a hotel in Tad Lo. Pakse itself is primarily a transit stop and the Athena is well worth the stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights on a recent trip to Pakse and couldn't be happier. The property was clean, staff were helpful. The standard rooms are big with beautiful wooden floor, nice big bathroom and comfortable beds. The included ala cart breakfast was great. Free wifi has good speed. At US$60/room, what more can we ask for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The interior of the hotel is very stylish, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the pool is wonderful, surprising to find such a nice place in close-to-the-centre of Pakse.
Upon leaving we were booked to travel to Hue in Vietnam via bus and needed to leave early in the morning (6am). We informed the hotel the day before and arranged an early minimal breakfast. However, come the following morning, the hotel was dark and deserted. After searching around I awoke the reception guy who slowly came around but seemed surprised to see us. By now I could see our pickup was waiting (through the glass front doors). However, the doors weren't unlocked for a few minutes until the guy on reception had awoken another guy who went off to check the room. Suffice to say, getting any breakfast was completely out of the question and the whole experience left a sour taste - which is a shame as the hotel (obviously service aside) is very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Hotel

Address: Ban Pabad, City Centre, Pakse, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Pakse
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.