We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean, tidy rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Sisouk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Residence Sisouk to your Saves list
Residence Sisouk
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ban Lakmuang, Pakse LAO PDR , Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Pakse B&B and Inns
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very clean, tidy rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

i stayed 2 days in residence sisouk.
I was satisfied with the hotel.
staffs were very kindy and always smiling.

in 1st floor, there's Cafe Sinouk where i could drink a nice coffee!!

the hotel looks like a gallery which has lots of pictures in the hall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    57
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
108
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Pakse in Laos P.D.R. (Please Dont Rush) is a somewhat sleepy town and it was an absolute delight to come across the Residence Sisouk in downtown Pakse. It is not a large hotel/guest house but what it lacks in size it makes up in atmosphere, charm, friendliness and truly excellent home cooking. Our small party cannot praise this property too highly. In the end it is service that makes a hotel great and the Residence Sisouk staff made us feel truly at home. Nothing was too difficult for them from airport pickup to special dinner requirements. All the rooms were cleverly furnished and comfortable, but is the service and charm offered at the Residence Sisouk that will bring us back to Pakse.

Room Tip: The best rooms are without doubt the superior rooms but they are limited in number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel was our first stay in Laos, having flown in from Bangkok, and just prior to picking up a motorbike for a long trip up north. The location is superb - on a corner just a stone's throw from the Mekong, and from the riverside bars which line it. The family which owns the place also runs the cafe downstairs - and also a coffee plantation on the Bolaven Plateau. The coffee is therefore superb; and the breakfast very pleasant. This is even more so, because it is held in the top-floor room with all the windows open, superb views over the city and the river. The interiors are all teak-floored, scrupulously clean with beautiful decor. We will be returning some day....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

My standard room is small but provide all facilities I need.However,the bed is too small and moving when I move my body so I couldn't sleep well :( Internet was very bad I could't join wifi in room so I had to move to lobby to use wifi.When I get back to room at 11pm. The place scared me coz they turned off all the main lights. Especially feel scary more in very old and slow moving lift.
Hotel is full of mosquitoes. One died under my blanket when I checked-in.
Both of my bath towels got stain.

I like breakfast room, location that close to night market and Sinouk coffee in the cafe below is the best in town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This establishment is an old family home which has been converted to a hotel. We stayed on 2 separate nights, before and after our Wat Phou cruise. We took a superior room with a balcony and had 2 different rooms. The one on the second night, Rm55, was much smaller than the first, Rm53, however the first room was also much noiser than the second one, for some reason we heard a lot more noise from the street (either it was the position or the extra window above the bed) . There was not much of a view from either room as buildings were in the way of the river.

The rooms are very nicely decorated and the beds clean and comfortable. The room has a safe and lots of storage space. There are many windows in the rooms and some an awkward shape so the blinds don't block the light out, so you are woken at dawn. Lighting at night is adequate and there is a small flat-screen TV and good AC. The first bathroom was very spacious and the second one a bit cramped and the shower was awkwardly positioned and hard to manouver in to. Also the shower blocked and overflowed due to the cloth they had over the drain (I didn't see it until too late). I advised them the bathroom flooded but they didn't mop the water, only remove the cloth (and then a smell came up fom the drains). Not pleasant. The towels in the bathroom are rather thin and scratchy (low quality). There was also no hairdryer.
The hotel has lovely wood-lined corridors and is nicley decorated in colonial style. Unfortunately the corridors are teeming with mosquitoes. There is a wonderful antique lift which is better to look at then to use due to its slowness. There is a lovely rooftop bar/breakfast room. We went up to have a drink one night but it is not airconditioned so it is way to hot to sit and enjoy (and there was no staff there anyway). There is also a great cafe downstairs owned by the same people (they too have no AC).They also have computers for use there and they have wifi. The breakfast was definitely one of the best things about this place, with fresh juice, warm pastries, cooked breakfast to order. We went early on our last day as we had to go to the airport but it was very bust at 6.30. There was only 1 lady serving so she was a bit stretched but did a good job under the circumstances.
Staff were pleasant and good on arrival but some need better training. We were also surprised when our boat arrived at the port and everyone else on our trip were collected by a van (one hotel was very close to Sisouk and they picked up their clients) and we were made to walk to the hotel, yes it wasn't far but it was very hot and we had baggage-staff did help us with this.
Overall I would like to give this 3.5 but it is not quite a 4. The hotel is very expensive for what you get but it is a nice-looking place in a good location.

Room Tip: Check your room before accepting it as they vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this lovely boutique hotel, the breakfast was so amazing, great coffee, fresh squeezed juice, fresh warm croissants...etc. you get the picture. The rooms were super comfortable ...but if you have allergies this is not the hotel to stay at.

We stayed in a superior and standard room and found the rooms comfortable but something in the room sent my allergies into over drive. It could have been some kind of cleaner or soap in the linens or the the deodorant they used to hide the sewer smell that came in via the drains...each room had a towel with a blue fluid over the drain hole in the shower. The sewer smell was only noticeable if you removed the towel. We discarded the towel and used a plastic baggy...but the other smells in the room still caused me to cough +++and become very congested. Symptoms improved immediately once I left the premies.

Room Tip: superior room had balcony with view of the Mekong (rm 45/35), standard room no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

In a good location for Pakse. We had a big room at the back of the hotel so no views but it was very quiet & the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean & there was a TV. The breakfast up on the top floor was a very pleasant way to start the day. We wanted to stay another day but they had no standard rooms available. For dinner we totally recommend eating local & walking down to the Mekong & buying a whole fish for dinner whilst sitting in one of the bamboo huts after sunset drinks on the top floor of the Pakse Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Sisouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Sisouk

Address: Ban Lakmuang, Pakse LAO PDR , Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Pakse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Sisouk 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Sisouk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Sisouk Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Sisouk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.