We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not central but riverside setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arawan Riverside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arawan Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Arawan Riverside Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arawan Riverside Hotel
Salakiew St, Phonesavanh Village, Pakse, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Pakse
Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not central but riverside setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Not the most convenient location, but the rooms are nice. When we stayed the pool was clean, virtually no one there. Breakfast offered a big array. Lots of Thai tourists on those one night stops stay here and can overwhelm the brekfast restaurant. Hot water is a little erratic. The price was low, so overall it was OK value, but you need to take an overprice tuk tuk to town. We seem to have enjoyed the Arawan more than other reviewers.

Room Tip: You want to overlook the river rather than the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
3
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crossford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had been advised to stay at this hotel pre and post a two night river cruise, thankfully the cruise was worth the stay! First impressions count and the drive up to the hotel put us right off. We have stayed in many hotels in SE Asia, on tour, and never have we been so disappointed. We weren't looking for luxury either given we were in Pakse. Room was large, clean and shabby, the whole hotel needs a huge overhaul, dirty windows, wonky blinds, warm beer - no glasses offered, female visitor banging on our room door at midnight, no pool service at all until after 3pm when the local DJ insisted on practising his skills - he needs a lot more practice - sadly we couldn't miss hearing his efforts or that of the karaoke. All in all it was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in in Asia, give me a small, locally run hotel where my expectations would have been met. This was a shambles.

Room Tip: Take a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

location and view are perfect on Mekong riverside. Sunset and Mountain are absolute our favorite site. Room is large and clean with wonderful A/C on. Staff is very helpful providing transportation as needed to get around city. It is reasonable price compare to Europe stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here in April for a few days - not in central Pakse,you will need transport to get there. Great potential but still so many areas that need work.....
Nearly no English spoken at all - went to the Chinese restaurant on site, lovely food when it did arrive but staff spoke no English at all here which did make things quite interesting.......The pool area was nice but we had to get the umbrellas out ourselves and also ended up cleaning the pool as it was full of flies - easier to do it overselves than try to explain....One plus the rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was fine the first morning the next morning we found ants in the bread..... Would I stay here again - NO.....

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011 via mobile

As per the last review, the website seems to make this place sound incredible. There is still no tennis court, no fitness center, and nothing that can be considered anywhere close to five stars. It seems that management has made up there own rating system. Maybe it's 5 stars out of 100. The pool is nice, the river is beautiful, but it is extremely far from town. They advertise that the hotel is "in the city center" but it is most certainly not. I implore you, DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Despite the attracting website and wonderful position on the Mekong river, at Dec 2009 the hotel is far from being a 5 stars. Rooms are poorly decorated and with old furniture, offer no amenities (no safety box, no hangers, no tea/coffee, not a pen or piece of paper, no information whatsoever, no direct telephone line, no internet access, no hot water, just warm, and often yellow colour). The service is also poor, staff is still not trained as it should and their English knowledge is very basic. At december 2009 the hotel still has no tennis court, no sauna/massage and fitness center (the last two should be ready in a month we were told). No pool bar/restaurant, no umbrellas or chair around the swimming pool (but they will have in the future). Internet connection must be paid and is available only in some areas of the hotel. No transport service to the city centre/airport, so every time you must go out you must hope a tuk tuk will appear, sooner or later. The reception staff seems to be lost when asked to call a tuk-tuk/taxi. The location on the river is wonderful but quite inconvenient if no transport service whatsoever is offered. One good Chinese restaurant inside and mainly Asian breakfast. . They charge as a five star but they offer much less... A newly appointed manager admitted the needs of improvement, the misleading information on the website and presented his excuses; he was very kind towards us and we are sure he will do a good job, but it will certainly take some time to reorganize things and be able to offer a five star level facility and service. We would then suggest to wait a few months before using this hotel, and double check if what they offer is really existent before booking.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arawan Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawan Riverside Hotel

Address: Salakiew St, Phonesavanh Village, Pakse, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Pakse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Arawan Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arawan Riverside Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arawan Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.