We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgerbar for believers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broken

Broken
Are, Sweden
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 43 Restaurants in Are
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Trondheim
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Burgerbar for believers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rustic place with great burgers and steaks. Side orders like real onion rings make a winner out of every meal!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    26
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergsjö, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice deco sportsbar, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good food and service, ok price, nicely located in the centre of town. Music was little loud, but not too much.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good, honest burgers thou a bit slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is the place to go in Åre if you want to sit down and have a burger according to your desire. You will have to communicate to the personal if you want it cooked to anything else then medium.

The menu has a wide choice of different burgers to decent Swedish prices. Starters arrive sometimes as the main course. Our table of 7 ordered 6 different burgers and several of them with extra that and none of that and all burgers arrived at the same time as ordered, thou it took the kitchen a good 30 minutes to prepare them.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mostly good, not always”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Short review here. Little mixed feelings about this place.

It is a great place for relaxed afterski, drinking, hang out with friends. Please try changing the movie on the tele once in a while cause watching ski videos in Åre is rather amuzing, but gets almost annoying when its always the same.

Great music, lively place.

The food is american style. Great burgers, not 5/5 but they are really good. Not so much luck with the other food. Spicy wings is ok, but tastes pretty acidic and a little dry.

Last experience there was a really bad enchilada. There been tasted so sour we thought they were spoiled, at the point we wanted to ask which we almost never ever do. We asked, and after some time got the answer, NO it is not spoiled. Well, ok then we REALLY did not like them i said cause it actually makes us sick. No one came to taste it with us or said sorry. Felt like leaving and we got 20% of that dish, but it ruined the whole meal for both and a good time.

For me that is bad service, at least when we been there so much that week that they even knew us when arriving and got us "our" table. Which is good service. I will put this on the account on inexperienced season based staff, but it left us with a bad feeling. Have not been back there yet. Not that we dislike it so much, but that memory is not nice.

All in all average to poor for food, great for athmosphere and drinking. There are many better places to eat in åre, but Broken appears as a focus point downtown so more consistant quality would be better for the whole town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiruna
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“American Style!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A group of Bikers visited the Restaurant at Kungsgatan Stockholm. Crowdy but friendly! Beer, hamburgers, starters, yes everything tasted good. The staff was really helpful and serviceminded.
I can relly recommend this place for a good party! We will visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broken also viewed

Are, Jamtland County
 
Are, Jamtland County
Are, Jamtland County
 

Been to Broken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.