We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liten Krog

Liten Krog
Are Square, Are, Sweden
0647-522-00
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Are
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: It is in Are square, ski resort/town.
Trondheim
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to this restaurant due to it's ratings on Tripadvisor.

We didn't book in advance, but were lucky to get the last available table. The service was great at first - and we got the wine and food fairly quickly. We bought a "tapas plate" (which was amazing), and the pizza our neighbours bought looked great too, it was so huge with super thin crust, and smelled fantastic.

The service slowed down considerably after we didn't want dessert. We had a hard time getting their attention to get the check, which was a shame. But the food was really, really great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    38
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A little gem in Are.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A little choice of a la carte dishes and a wide selection of pizzas. A small place with a buzzing atmosphere, friendly welcome, excellent quality food and presentation and our most enjoyable dinner in Are - highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Friendly little bistro in the town centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Id say this would be the de facto choice for birthday or anniversary dinners being celebrated in Åre. Friendly staff, brilliant local specialities (reindeer! ) and delicious apple martinis made a memorable evening with old friends. Next time we come we will try the pizzas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best pizza in Åre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the top place if you want to eat pizza in Åre. For several years in a row.
It is very small, cosy and romantic.

Reservation is necessary. Of course they serve other dishes than pizza, but it is the aforementioned you go there for.
The pizzas are very large, but you can take the leftovers in a doggybag and enjoy it for lunch the day after.

Family run restaurant with very helpful staff, you always feel welcome here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great food, perfect service and nice and cosy ambiance. If you are in Are, you should definitely eat in this restaurant. You can eat local food an excellent pizzas. Located in the heart of Are.
Pre booking necessary, the restaurant is always very busy and not very big.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liten Krog also viewed

Are, Jamtland County
 
Are, Jamtland County
Are, Jamtland County
 

Been to Liten Krog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liten Krog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.