We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liten Krog

Liten Krog
Are Square, Are, Sweden
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 restaurants in Are
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: It is in Are square, ski resort/town.
Espoo Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Picked up Liten Krog from TA - and boy it was fantastic! We were sure to boom a table for a second visit within the same week.

Good selection of slightly Italian geared items on menu. 1st time I had a arctic char, 2nd time the lamb rack. Both excellent but especially the lamb which is their specialty was to die for...

Size of meals was enough, there was plenty of interesting accompaniments included in mains. The kids ate pasta and pizza both very good.

Overall very nice small "krog" in the centre of Åre by - highly recommended for a better dinner!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    23
    26
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good place in Åre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Choosed this place for their pizza reviews. First night we had pizza and choose an italian piemonte wine from their wine chart. Their wine chart is good and has a good selection even for wine by the glass. The wines where good, not spoiled (which often seen when serving by the glass from bottles), nice temperature (not stored near spotlights), but we did not get the chance to taste first. My personal opinion is that even though its by the glass you should be able to taste, cause to often the wines are stored in the main bar with spotlights or left open for too long. That was not a problem here, but as a courtesy to guests a small taste would be nice.

The pizza is great. Very good italian style pizza, with home made nice tomato sauce. The crust was also good although it gets rather moist after spending time on the plate due to condensation.

We had pizza two days in a row, both times with consistent quality. The third day we chose to eat their lamb. Also a very good choice, super tasty, cooked right and it was plenty of food on the plate. A little expensive maybe, but they serve more food than normal for this type of restaurant.

We had different servers every time, last day with had what seemed like the oweners. Mid 50's maybe, husband and wife i assume. That was the time for me, not the most proffesional, but you really felt you were visiting friends. Great job. Good place to go without doubt.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cousy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Cousy, good food, good service. Perfect location. Excellent coffee drinks by waitress recommendation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice and cosy little place, very charming. The food was good as the very friendly service. Selection was a bit scarce but again the quality of what was served was very good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The place is small but really nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had asked at the Hotel to recomened a place were to have a good meal, and they recomeneded the Liten Krog so we booked a table. The food was excellent and although it was packed so was the service. Would highly recomened the place.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liten Krog also viewed

Are, Jamtland County
Are, Jamtland County
 
Are, Jamtland County
Are, Jamtland County
 
Are, Jamtland County
Are, Jamtland County
 
Are, Jamtland County
Are, Jamtland County
 
Are, Jamtland County

Been to Liten Krog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liten Krog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.