We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room with double bed and bunkbed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copperhill Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Copperhill Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Copperhill Mountain Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Are Bjornen | Box 19, Are 83013, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Are
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family room with double bed and bunkbed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We were offered a family room and expected simple temporary spare beds in a large room. None the case here. Absolutely perfect room for our famliy weekend retreat.

A spacious room - or rather a suite - with one bedroom with bunkbed for the kids, one room with king size bed for the parents. Small livingroom with flatscreen TV and full size - however small - kitchen with cutlery, dishes, glasses inkluding dishwasher and fridge as well. Large bathroom and spacious double shower and separate room toilet.
Elaborate breakfast - smørgåsbord - breakfast with hot and cold foods. Kids loved the mini pancakes.
We could make our own food for dinner, but preferred the restaurant that impressed all the way. Also the kids loved the food.

No noise from the party outside our room reached the bedrooms.

Perfect skiing conditions for kids. Our girls aged 4 and 7 years loved the slopes, and for the first time - the four year old did slalom completely by herself in the kid slopes in Björnen.

Recommended for families with small kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InformationDpt, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Claus O -
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are so happy to hear about your successful family trip - not to mention the slalom debut of your youngest girl. It's very valuable for us to hear about each personal experience at Copperhill Mountain Lodge. Your elaborate description of the Brass Suite will also help other guests learn what to expect from us. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    42
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
39
Solo
0
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was our third visit to Copperhill, always with parents and two children, and it surpassed our already high expectations as we'd enjoyed it immensely the last two times as well.

It's a very well thought-out resort, with ski store and rentals directly downstairs from the lobby and true ski-in ski-out access to the slopes (although for true beginners - I speak from experience two years ago - it's better to take the hotel bus down to the green slopes rather than ski down on the intermediate slope that you can access directly out the door from ski shop). As one example of the built-in thoughtfulness, every ski locker has heated air pegs for ski boots so that every time you put your boots on they're both warm and dry - a real treat in the morning or after lunch break, say. That kind of thinking continues everywhere - the excellent spa with pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, saunas, for example, or touches like the bunk bed alcove in the Copper suites for kids that can be closed off with sliding door so parents (if they're not absolutely knackered from the day of skiing) can enjoy the suite or infloor heating in the superbly comfortable bathroom and showers.

The coup de grace this year for our daughters was the fish pedicure - over the top to my mind, but delightful to them and strangely inexpensive too.

The buffet breakfast (included in our rate) was lovely, although much more peaceful early in the morning than later on, and we've done both full-board and half-board options. For the first, the food at either fireside lounge or formal restaurant was at a very high standard, but we quite honestly enjoyed the relaxed and casual nature of dining ensuite with the fully equipped (only two burner induction stove-top, but enough) kitchenette. The local grocery stores (one at bottom of mountain from Copperhill, which you will need a car to access, and Co-op or larger ICA slightly farther away in town) are great, and significantly less expensive than the admittedly gourmet cuisine of Niesti (the formal restaurant) or the lounge.

All in all, we couldn't rate Copperhill more highly. I would fail in reviewing if I didn't mention the wonderfully helpful staff, either at desk, restaurant, spa, or Skistar ski shop. We're not high maintenance travellers, but whenever we did need something, we were taken care of immediately and so pleasantly it felt like home. I guess that must be evident for such dedicated repeat customers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InformationDpt, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Hi John and family!
We are so happy to read your wonderful review. Seeing guests return for a third stay really is a compliment in itself, and hearing about the details of your trip make us truly proud. I will make sure to share your praise with the staff on site. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope you decide to make this trip a tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My family stayed at Copperhill Mountain Lodge Feburary 12-16 2012. What a great stay indeed! This is a top notch international grade hotell. Welcoming staf with a service attitude not normally found in Sweden. Beautiful design, nice family rooms for four, great breakfast and quality cuisine. But the single best thing with Copperhill is its spa. How can we ever go skiing in the future without relaxing afterwards in a luxury spa? Impossible. We loved every minute. Go there. We will. Again and again. Henrik Andersson with family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swedensara, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Henrik - Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review – and for all the beautiful words. You almost make us blush :-)
We hope see you again and again. Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in a Brass suite during our vacation in january 2012. We were very impressed with the decor and the nice feel of the hotel. This place is stunning, and the decoration inspirational.

Also the breakfast is very nice, both for kids and adults. We really enjoyed that. The bread is fantastic.

However - the staff were not very serviceminded, and there was none of that "little extra" which usually is standard at a 5-star hotel. Also we had problems in one of the toilets of the suite. Someone clearly had been sick in there, and the there hadn't been cleaned proberly, so the smell was awfull. Despite of several calls to the reception, and visits from the cleaning staff, the smell stayed in the room for the duration of our stay. In no way where we compensated for this inconvienience.

Also we found it strange, that there was no "info-book" in the room, explaining about the little things, such as how to call the reception. No information about roomservice (dont even know if they have it), no information about the hotel in general.

When we spoke to the staff at the reception desk, they seemed like they did not really care if we could use the information or not. We had problems with the parking facillities - but was met with a ignorant behavior, when we spoke to the staff.

The hotel still gets 3 stars for the decor, the surrondings and the atmosphere, wich is very nice - so if you like stunning surrondings and can manage without the service, I can certainly recommend Copperhill mountain lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swedensara, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear appeline,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review - your comments help us to improve. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel décor and our breakfast, but apologize for the lacking service that you experienced.

Of course there should have been an info book in your room. We will improve our routines to make sure the info book is not missing in any room.

And of course you should feel that you are met with interest and engagement from every member of the staff, at every time. Obviously this time we failed and we are very sorry for that. We will work even harder with our service training programme to accomplish this.

Best of wishes - and welcome back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Having just returned from this excellent hotel we cannot wait to go back! Reception and house keeping staff could not do enough for us.

I do agree with the comments that the food model is not quite right yet. What is available in the hotel is quite limited and it is expensive to get into town. Also the staff involved in serving food were not as efficient as other staff in the hotel. Our stay would have been significantly enhanced if there was a constant (or at least half-hourly) shuttle to Are Bjornen and Are between 9am and 9pm.

However as a family we enjoyed every aspect of this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swedensara, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear GruffaloMum,

Thank you for sharing your views. We are happy to hear that you were pleased - and thank you for your comment about the shuttle bus. We are considering an extended shuttle bus service and hopefully we can offer this next ski season.

We hope to see you again in the future. Until then - all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My other half and I just came back from a long weekend in Åre. Its not very often that I feel the need to make hotel recommendations, but this occasion was an exception. What put this hotel in a different league compared to other was the great service provided by all the members of staff that we came into contact with. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they really made this feel like 'home away from home', albeit a very exclusive one! This is a luxury weekend and certainly not for the budget traveller, but paying that bit extra was worth every penny. most luxury hotels feel elitist and ostentatious, whereas Copperhill feels inviting, warm and cosy. Well worth the 7 hours drive from Stockholm for anyone looking for a ski holiday away from the rowdy alps!

Room Tip: There are a few rooms available for those with dogs like us, but book early. Dogs are made to feel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swedensara, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your comments! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you soon again

Kindest regards from all of us at Copperhill Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel is a member of Design hotels, however lacks the standards peculiar to this chain. We have stayed at the Christmas/New Year period, which might partly explain the poor service and encountered problems.
The hotel was almost fully booked, families with kids below 10 accounting to roughly 90 percent of all the guests.
The correspondence with the hotel was below standards; they would not respond to the mails before you would send the reminder mail.
The reservation in the system of the hotel was not correct, so we had to send a correct version upon check-in to them via email.
The room in reality is very different to the impression you are getting looking at the web-site because photoshopped and shown from the best angles without scruples.
The main problem of the hotel though is efficiency of the stuff working there. Every request you would need to repeat at least twice, since they forget the first sentence, if you make two. Asking for the bottled water was a huge challenge. Apparently they store none, and finding two bottles lasted around 2 hours, with us calling the reception twice, and twice going downstairs.
The bar downstairs is very nice to sit after skiing in case you find any space, since it is full. Ordering the drinks and food you would need to do at the bar unless you want to wait around half an hour that somebody is coming to you. Alcoholic drinks at around 10 euros per one, be it a glass of wine or a cocktail. This is the starting point. The quality of food at the bar is excellent though.
Breakfast in terms of selection is nothing to complain about, the quality of scrambled eggs is under the question. Fresh orange juice is do-it-yourself, with a line of 5 people to squeeze, and all the children touching the juice machine from inside out and all over, so that you would think twice, if this is the very juice you want to have.
The noise level at the breakfast makes you think it is rather happening evening than early morning.
Since around 5 kids of different families are screaming at the same time, none of the families would bother to do anything about it. Why care?
New Year dinner was funny. Since I am allergic to the seafood, that was communicated 3!times to the reception and restaurant (the dinner is preset, of course). Nevertheless, the seafood starter appeared there, as if nothing was earlier said. As the waitress disappeared to exchange, another waiter has brought us desserts! )). The service is a complete mess!
Massages at the Spa were nice, however the public spa area and the changing rooms were beyond any words. No-one was cleaning the dressing rooms, there were tons of dirty towels lying there together with half-bitten apples. Honestly, being to over 50 hotels worldwide (not only 5 star), I have never seen anything like that.
The hotel seems to be understaffed with professionals. If it positions itself to be in the Design Hotels chain, there should be also some standards to be kept, not only the price.
Are by itself is a wonderful ski-area, I would gladly return there again, however I am not sure if I would again come to Copperhill, because being a good design hotel takes more than a couple peaces of art and premium prices, it starts with the right people working there.
PS. The hotel is located at quite some distance from the downtown. So if you do not want to eat every evening at the hotel, please add 50 euros at least for the taxi to go there and back.

Room Tip: 5th floor has good views, ask for not noisy room though
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swedensara, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear AdventurerHamburg,

Thank you for sharing your experiences. Your comments, especially the negative ones, help us to improve.

We are sorry that you were not informed that a lot of families are staying at the hotel during Christmas. We are currently looking into how we can communicate this in a better way on our website, since it is the same during Easter and the Swedish Winter Break (weeks 8-9). However during all other times of the year, I assure you that our hotel has a much higher average age.

Also I understand that you experienced several issues of substandard service during your stay. I know that the hotel was understaffed for a period - which is the explanation, but definitely not an excuse. We can only apologize for not meeting up to your (and our own) standards this time, and do all we can to improve.

Once again – thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copperhill Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperhill Mountain Lodge

Address: Are Bjornen | Box 19, Are 83013, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Jamtland and Harjedalen > Jamtland County > Are
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Are
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Copperhill Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The site is stunning, perched on the tree line, high on the mountain and commanding magnificent views. The mountain resort hotel has 112 suites and hotel rooms, conference capacity for 600 people, restaurants, bars, spa, and its own ski lift with access to Are's large piste system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Copperhill Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperhill Mountain Hotel Are

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copperhill Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.