We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome... :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Club Are

Save Saved
You added Holiday Club Are to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Club Are
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Box 68, Are SE-83014, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Are
Georgetown, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome... :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have been visiting Are for skiing year after year and I have been staying at this property every single time I visit Are. Everything is simply perfect and awesome; especially the one-minute-walk to the nearest supermarket which you can very well stock-up your daily needs. If you have your own gears or wish to rent some, the ski shop is just a few steps away. Free daily breakfast is ready for you every morning and you can visit the pool and sauna for free... :)

Room Tip: I always stay in Room 318... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    29
    10
    1
See reviews for
55
31
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I loved this place, the lodge we had was fab! Right on the lake, it was cosy, with a great fire, family kitchen and mezzanine, giving us all enough space if we wanted. Bottom lift station definitely a car ride away though

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

extremely well located beside the train station, lots of activities to do in the hotel- pool was fantastic. closely located to a number of eateries. room was comfortable and well equipped. lake at the back of the hotel was beautiful and peaceful. buffet breakfast was okay, nothing to shout about though. only problem would be that it is located far off from the ski slopes, quite a hassle as a tourist without a car. for eg., a taxi ride to duved cost 400kr, which i felt was pretty steep. nevertheless, for the experience, we are still coming back despite the hassle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

All right hotel. Very nice location, average pool area, nice rooms but horrendous food. That pretty much sums it up. The show that went on while we were there was completely ridiculous. The spa area is pretty cool, but nothing special. The breakfast was all right, but again; nothing special. The whole thing was all right. But... nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson WY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here during the week. Loved our room with a view of the lake. Beds are comfy. The pools are fun even if the chlorine smell is overpowering indoors. Breakfast had the most diversity of the places we stayed on this trip. They are very much understaffed at the front desk for such a huge hotel.

Ultimately though, we wuld never stay here again as they welcome high school groups that are clearly not being supervised by their chaperones. Running and screaming in the hallways all hours of the night!!! When confronted the kids did not respect the late hour and in my husbands face they laughed. The next day i watched a different kid snatch our do not disturb sign and i promptly had him return it to me. After that they kept banging on our door at all times of the night as payback for catching them in the act. This hotel needs to warn guests that it is a party hotel for kids on school trips, and that swedish teens do not show any respect.

Room Tip: Ask for lake side as the back faces the train station. The closer to the reception the louder the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

When you order you can sign on to a sales session for their 'time share' consept and get a weekend stay for abouth 1/2 price. (Well worth the 1-1,5 hours it takes)

Arrival at the hotel.

Hotel is easy to find. They have a large parking area and the trainstation is less than 100 meters away. (you can og directly from 2nd floor on the trainstation to the hotel's 2nd floor)

We arrived a bit early but they had an available room so we got to check in a couple of hours earlier than ordered. (Free of charge) Information at check inn could be better.

We had a Nice room towards the trainstation. Unfortunately the speaker on the station give plenty of warnings before the 06:00 morning Train so its hard to miss.. Sound isolation wasnt good.

Food:
Breakfast was a bit below what we expected but had good bread and a fanzy 'Belgium?' waffel maker. Our kids liked the icecream (unusual thing to offer at a breakfast..)

Dinner.
We tried the 18:00 buffet and got realy disipointed.
You had the choise of two hot dishes, salad and cheese. Kids could also get pomes frites and burger. Service was very slow in taking Our orders.

Bath area 'waterworld':
Nice area with one tube and an outdoor pool you could enter from inside the building. I was clearly expecting more. Most towns in midle parts of Norway got a better bath with tubes and so that is better. No swimingpool for those that whants that.

Training room:
Looked ok, but you need to pay a fee to use it.

Internett Access:
This was free of charge but Wireless Access was not working well from the rooms.


Summary:
Easy to find, and a very good location. Easy vacation for families with small kids that does not demand mutch from a 'waterworld'.

Service and Food is not what you expect, and waterworld is outdated compared to those on the Norwegian side of the border. Common areas gives you the feeling that it is not well kept and heavily used and the sportsbar had several games that was out of order.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a room away from the Train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Might seem slightly expensive at first, but as a family of four, it surely paid off. Swim and pool area was quiet, clean and modern, not to mention free when staying at the hotel. There is also bowling, but unfortunately we didn't get to trying it. Reception area spectacular if you like space and rough design. Food ordered in the restaurant in the evening tasted very good. We had a room with a lake view, which was nice and quiet. The only drawback was the breakfast. There should be a greater variation of both cold and warm foods to choose from. But, over all, we're definitely coming back. Actually, I already regret posting this review, cause I wouldn't like competition in getting rooms here....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Club Are? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Club Are

Address: | Box 68, Are SE-83014, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Jamtland and Harjedalen > Jamtland County > Are
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Are
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Club Are 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Club Are reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Club Are Hotel Are

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Club Are, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.