We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made for families.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Club Are

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Club Are to your Saves list
Holiday Club Are
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Box 68, Are SE-83014, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Are
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Made for families.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here four nights. No toiletries, had to ring for a jog to boil water. Was told to come down and buy a coffee. Eventually got a jug and went and bought some coffee and milk and tissues and water. Rooms nice and comfortable and lovely balconies. Staff at reception if they get time to breath are very very helpful. Would not recommend unless you have children. Running up and down outside can get a bit wearing.
They cater so well for families. Food excellent best I have eaten in a long while. Breakfasts busy but get there early!
lso be prepared to sit in the hall to get wifi. They are nice and big.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    64
    37
    15
    3
See reviews for
74
38
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We give Holiday Club Åre a begrudging four stars. The apartment in which we stayed - part of the resort's timeshare setup so not a hotel room - was spacious for two and ticked all of the boxes. It had a bedroom, bathroom, cloakroom, lobby and an open plan kitchen/dining/ living room. It was mostly very clean, comfortable and well appointed. The fridge freezer was large; the washing machine and drying cupboard were an effective combination; the cutlery and glasses were enough for eight at one sitting. There was a dishwasher, an iron and board, kettle, two ways of making fresh coffee and a toaster. The TV was large and had an efficient sound system and there was even a sauna that whiled away the odd hour. The only things lacking were an omelette pan and a medium-sized saucepan. Oh, and a set of coasters would have done wonders for protecting the many wooden surfaces which were already showing the rings of previous guests' glasses and cups.
So if the room was so good, why did we end up feeling that a week in September was more than enough time to spend at what is essentially a ski resort with summer pretensions? Might it have been the overall grey effect of the cinder-like material used in the grounds complemented by the barrack-like appearance of the apartment blocks? Could it have been that Åre Strand on which the club sits is beside the lake, but that one wouldn't know it from the apartments? Was it perhaps that the whole resort is separated from the main town by a railway track and station? Or was the whole setup simply too big? There were three restaurants, a ten-pin bowling alley, and a swimming,sauna and gym complex at the club. All these plus several on-site activities came at extra charge. We ate in the town rather than the Club's al la carte restaurant which we felt lacked intimacy. The staff tried to be helpful but we felt they knew more about the ski-ing which wouldn't start until December than the attractions available locally while we were there.
The one big failing was the way in which the resort is promoted to potentially international clients as a summer destination with many activities. This would appear to be true until the last week of August. At that point almost everything stops. The promised zipline rides; most of the cable car runs and the funicular which facilitate many of the walks; the Sami open air museum; the local "Kiss a Moose" attraction and more than half the restaurants, all close. If you are planning to do a particular activity, check that it will be available.

Room Tip: Go for the apartments if you want space. Hotel rooms have the lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wonderful array of facilities avalible to suit the whole family. Kids club was awsome. Directly attatched to the train station with supermarket and so on all under one roof. Helpful and attentive staff and the location......

Room Tip: Take a lakeside room then there is no chance of noise which can come from pubs and bars oppersite th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We chose this hotel for the kids. We spent two days in the pool and one night in a very nice room with veranda and view over the lake. The room was very nice although a bit crowded for four. Free internet access and decent breakfast was appreciated. The location of the hotel is very good when visiting downtown Åre. We had a IATA discount so we cannot evaluate value for money. The full rate looks a bit expensive from our point of view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I went for a summer weekend stay with my wife and 13 year old son together with my sister and family.

The rooms are ok, a bit wared but spacious. The interior is nice in the public areas, and the pool is a nice advantage when staying there. The price for a room is quite inexpensive, and you get free entrance to the pool and free Internet. However, everything else is really expensive.

The downside of this hotel is the level of service - it is absent. It does not appear to be a policy in the hotel to make the guests feel well. The great majority of the staff will not offer any service and are not even polite - we never observed them smile.

The first evening I went to the bar to get a cold beer at 8 pm. I then discovered there was a notice saying to contact the restaurant staff as there was no bartender at the moment. I waited for some time before I succeeded in getting in contact with one of the waiters in the restaurant, where there was a long line of people waiting to be shown to a table, even though there were a majority of empty tables. I told the waitress I wanted a glass of beer from the cask. The waitress said in an unfriendly way that she would come in a moment, and I sat down by the bar waiting. After 15 minutes my patience wared out and I went over to ask the staff how long it was going to take. The waiter I approached told me I had to go upstairs to the Sparts-bar so I went there. In the sports there was only one young girl working to serve all the guests, so I waited about 20 minutes before I was served, I was then tild they did only have beer in small bottles and I ordered one for my wife and one for me. The bartender then placed the bottles on the bar and turned away, I tried for several time to ask for a pair of glasses but to no avail. My wife leaned over the bar and managed to get our gases. It took me 35 minuted to get a beer in this establishment, and I would have saved a few kroner if I had just taken it from the mini bar in the room, or walked across the street to buy it in the shop!

When my sister and her family arrived the hotel the terminal would not take their Visa card. They tried 3 different cards, and the terminal did not accept any of them, the person in the reception was not trying to help in any way, but caused a very embarrassing situation by talking out loud that there was no coverage on their cards. My sisters husband had to go up town to withdraw cash from a mini bank (using the same visa card) before the receptionist would give them the room.

In the breakfast area the next day there were long lines to get food. When a small child became sic and vomited in the dining room, no one came to clean. The staff was notified several times and said the cleaning staff had been called, but no one came within the 1 hour when we were there.

There must be a management problem in this hotel - there appears to be no service policy, and it is obviously understaffed. This could really be a great place to stay, but the lack of service ruins it completely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Plus:
Swimming pool which is family friendly
Large rooms with a view
Central located to train, shops etc
Relatively new hotel

Minus:
Dirty rooms
Smelly bathroom
Some noise towards the hotel corridor
AND CHECKIN TIME AT 1600 and CHECKOUT AT 1100!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Ideal hub for families of all ages for an active summer holiday, as long as you have a large budget as all activities cost a lot. The best value for money was we bought a week pass and used the "swimming land" every day - it rained a lot unfortunately. There are lots of outdoor activities: downhill biking, trail walking, canoeing, etc, but they cost a lot. We had a lakeside house/apartment that was luxurious. There are 2 impressive waterfalls nearby, "Tännforsen", a short drive towards the Norwegian border, and in the opposite direction an equally accessible waterfall with walking trail is "Ristafallet".

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Club Are? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Club Are

Address: | Box 68, Are SE-83014, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Jamtland and Harjedalen > Jamtland County > Are
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Are
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Club Are 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Club Are reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Club Are Hotel Are

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Club Are, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.