We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Hotel Seri Warisan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Regency Hotel Seri Warisan to your Saves list
Regency Hotel Seri Warisan
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2453 Jalan Convent, Taiping 34000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Taiping B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good stay.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I arrived at the hotel on the 14th Dec 2013 at about 0300hrs after a long drive from Singapore.
In spite of a 2 weeks booking and a reminder a week later the registration went wrong. The family room that I have booked was not available.
I was referred via phone to the hotel manager. This gentleman somehow resolved the matter amicably. Barely twenty minutes later, my family and I was sound asleep in the room.
The room is clean and spacious. All staff was courteous and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and relatives and would come back if I visit Taiping again.

Khir (Pasir Ris, Singapore)

Room Tip: For advance booking(any hotel) please confirm and confirm again after a few days for type of room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyTaiping, Manager at Regency Hotel Seri Warisan, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Greetings Khir,

First and foremost may we extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your reservation was indeed noted however there was just a minor hiccup on the timing of your arrival. Nonetheless, we apologise for the mishap.

We are please to know that you are satisfied with our rooms and service. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and please, do come and visit us again whenever you are in Taiping.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had a church function nearby and decided to give this hotel a try. It is indeed spacious and had a cosy feeling. Although the breakfast spread could have a little bit more variety, and room, we have no complaints.

Room Tip: Please request for room away from the 'swiftlets centre'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyTaiping, Manager at Regency Hotel Seri Warisan, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Bedlammers,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan. We are pleased that you are satisfied with our accommodation and services. We do acknowledge your comments as all guest feedback is very important to us.

Pertaining your comments on the breakfast, we will investigate and revise the spread to ensure that there is more variety. We aim to provide the best for all our guests. Once again, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see and serve you again in the near future. Do drop by and visit us again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I will never stay at Hotel Seri Warisan (by The Regency) in Taiping ever again. Why? Because a hotel is a hospitality service and I expected excellent service.
Disappointment # 1: I was given a room that faced a swiflet hotel that broadcast a recording of a thousand chirping birds day and night. My mother and I didn’t sleep soundly for three nights. It was an infringement on our right for a noise-free environment.
Disappointment # 2: The ramp for disabled people is almost halfway round the building – why not at the front door, or even at the restaurant next door? Why do people like my mother who uses a cane and finds it difficult to go up steps have to endure this kind of insensitivity?
Disappointment # 3: The receptionist told me at check-in they had the ASTRO News, Discovery, ESPN, RIA, Chinese and HBO channels, but only after repeated complaints was I able to watch the BBC news. On day three, I was surprised to see the NST lying outside some guestrooms when one receptionist had told me they don’t subscribe to the English paper. A different receptionist said I should have been asked at check-in if I wanted the Malay or English newspaper. I complained to the manager and got the NST on the last day of my stay.
Disappointment # 4: With all of the above, the hotel had the cheek to ask for a RM600 deposit when the actual bill was less than that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyTaiping, Manager at Regency Hotel Seri Warisan, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear MalaysianTraveller13,

First and foremost thank you for staying with us at The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan. With regards to your comments and feedback, we take all criticism constructively and positively. We shall act accordingly to rectify your issues raised.

As per the matter raised pertaining the noise caused by the swifllets, we have already raised this issue to the owner of the shoplots and relevant authorities many times. However, no action has been taken. We will proceed again until this matter is resolved.

With regards to the ramp, it is located at the front of the building (facing the main road). Unfortunately, the Hotel was built and designed in such manner. Nonetheless, we understand the inconvenience it causes and will liaise to the owners on such matter.

Regarding the TV channels, all channels were operating smoothly as mentioned by the service provider technician except the BBC channel whereby the decoder was faulty. It was immediately rectified the following day. Nonetheless, we utterly regret and apologize for the inconvenience caused. Also, we had just recently signed up with NST which was implemented and provided to all guest on the 1st of November 2013 which was a day after your arrival. It is also an industry practice and policy for most Hotels to collect deposit upfront prior check-in.

Nonetheless, we sincerely and deeply apologize for all inconveniences caused during your stay. We understand your concerns and issues raised as we seek to offer ultimate guest satisfaction. We will rectify and act accordingly to ensure these issues do not happen again. Once again, on behalf of the entire Hotel staff, sincere apologies. We hope to see and serve you soon in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Was in Taiping for a Business visit. Heard about this newly opened Hotel and decided to give it a go. When I first arrived, the lobby was a bit small but it was practical and perhaps it gives it the cozy feel. Decor and furnishings was alright.

Stayed in the Deluxe (Single) room which was pleasantly big and spacious indeed. Rooms felt fresh and new. Even the toilet was spacious. Overall, the stay was nice and the price was reasonable. The breakfast spread was also decent. Overall a good stay in Taiping.

Room Tip: The Deluxe (Single) is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyTaiping, Manager at Regency Hotel Seri Warisan, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Abukoster,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and response pertaining our Hotel. We appreciate and acknowledge your review and we hope to further improve our services to ensure only the best possible experience for all guests.

We have noted your comments. We thank you once again for staying with us at The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan. We hope to see and serve you soon in the near future. Thank you

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Hotel Seri Warisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel Seri Warisan

Address: 2453 Jalan Convent, Taiping 34000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Larut, Matang dan Selama District > Taiping
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Taiping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency Hotel Seri Warisan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in what was once the capital city of Perak sits The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan. Strategically located in the centre of the historical township of Taiping, The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan offers discerning guests and business travelers alike comfortable and accommodating hospitality as well as the proximity to various significant sites and business districts that are literally meters away from your doorstep. The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan offers a range of excellent services and amenities whilst providing utmost comfort and convenience to guests whether for leisure or business activities.The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan has been designed to cater for banquets as well as classroom, theatre and boardroom functions. The Long Jaafar ballroom accommodates up to 334 guests in banquet style . Located on the highest level of the building, The Long Jaafar ballroom offers a breathtaking view of the city. All seminar rooms and ballroom are fitted with audio, visual and presentation capabilities which are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Regency Hotel Seri Warisan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Hotel Seri Warisan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.