We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hotel and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Champagne Hotel

New Champagne Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taiping
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Champagne Hotel
17 Jalan Lim Swee Aun, Taiping 34000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Taiping
ck_choo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very good budget hotel and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My family stayed at Room 208, Sept 16. 2012. Big room with 2 queen size beds firm and clean sheets for RM93 per night . Over looking the restaurant opposite the hotel. It was quiet after business hours. It was good for light sleeper like me. The customer service at the front desk was fantastic and I was being told she worked for the hotel for 12 long years. Walking distance to 2 food courts and right besides the new food court was the Taiping Lake Garden. The hotel very easy to locate and parking were plenty.Its a small town and its safe to walk around. Taiping zoo and night safari also walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a big luggage choose rooms located at the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hotel close to Lake Garden and 24 hours food court. Room very clean and spacious.
Try to avoid stay at higher floor as hotel no lift.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night on 15 April2012. I booked for standard room for RM68 the day before. I was very pleased with the room. Spacious queen bed, with TV, many space to store your stuff (not like I needed them) shower, with A/C. Will recommend this for those who are staying in Penang :)

Location wise, it is very near with the Taiping Zoo and Lake Garden. We walk to both places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

I book 2 family rooms. The rooms are clean and big.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Not really ‘new’; that is just the name; the New Champagne Hotel is a budget hotel that is neat, clean and central to walk to the night food market, restaurants, shops, convenience stores, etc.

Free drinking water on each level in a common area (both boiling and ice cold on top) with a spot to sit. Large water jug in each room and glasses.

We took a twin and a double room. Twin cost RM63 with 2 single beds: Room 211 (2nd flr directly left of stairwell, but didn’t hear anyone). AC (no fan) that worked well. T/C making. Shower was over toilet (typical Asian style) but angled correctly the loo didn’t really get wet and you could easily stand in front of it – not straddled over it).

Double cost RM93 with 2 queen size beds: Room 309 (3rd flr corner room in quiet spot) (good size room with lots of luggage space). Friends stayed in this one and said beds were comfy. Has AC and a really good fan. Lots of luggage space in a light, airy corner. Large bathroom with shower in own spot (not over loo).

Both rooms had a small TV, small dressing table with mirror, cupboard and toiletries & towels provided.

Could walk up the road to the Lake Gardens if you wished (we drove as we had a hire car). Stores like 7-11 close by.

Free wifi with password from front desk if you have an iphone, laptop etc.

No pool, spa, sauna etc if these are important to you.

Parking is out front on street in metered bays however the hotel pays the parking for you within your room cost. This worked fine and there was no ticket on the car in the morning.

Note: due to it being the Public Holiday weekend the rooms were more expensive than their usual cost. Good value as it was; great value at the normal price.

We forgot to take piccies of the better room (2 queen beds in spacious Rm# 309) so apologies but I have uploaded the 2 I took of the basic room (still clean and neat before we got to it!)

Room Tip: Rm#309 spacious with 2 queen beds, AC & fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Champagne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Champagne Hotel

Address: 17 Jalan Lim Swee Aun, Taiping 34000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Larut, Matang dan Selama District > Taiping
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Taiping

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Champagne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New Champagne Hotel to your Saves list