We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location but don't expect a memorable experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flemington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Flemington Hotel to your Saves list
Flemington Hotel
No. 1, Jalan Samanea Saman, Taiping 34000 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Taiping
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Awesome location but don't expect a memorable experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Recently I was in Taiping for a business trip and decided to stay here due to its ranking in TA. The room assigned to me was at the 4th floor overseeing the beautiful Taiping Lake Garden. As per the reception this room is called a Premier Room due to its size and view. The room condition was acceptable, spacious and cleanliness was not an issue, however the furniture looked dated. They provided you with soaps, toothbrushes and shower cap. No shampoo. They installed a dispenser in the shower room but was empty and looked malfunction. No minibar and closet but hangers were provided.

Breakfast was included in my room rate but the spread was not exciting, they served the typical Malaysian breakfast that was not presented properly hence it looked stale and not appetizing. There was an egg station managed by a bartender (name tag) but no fried eggs were available and its only 9.00am.

Limited carpark hence you can see a lot cars parked at the road side or opposite the hotel.

The hotel has a Chinese Restaurant, a lobby bar, a sky bar and a nice swimming pool up at the rooftop.

Overall was a pleasant stay but I might think twice to return as the price (RM 158.00 per night) seemed a bit high for a mediocre hotel despite its location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    100
    60
    9
    6
See reviews for
82
39
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Premier rooms which face lake gardens and tree/mountain view are nice, albeit slightly showing some wear around the edges. Breakfast and the cafe (we had lunch) are good and we found service very good all around. The location allows more avid walkers to head both into town center or to zoo on foot. We even walked about 2km past zoo to base of Bukit Larut and enjoyed land rover ride up to hill station where you can walk or hike a bit in cooler climate and return at scheduled time. Taiping is a mish mash of (often neglected) colonial buildings mixed in a sea of moderately bustling small city. Hawker centers are interesting and you will be one of the few tourists about on a weekday.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Taiping folks are always proud of their man made lake in which I would personally agree that it is a beauty. This hotel is located exactly in front of the lake, overlooking the mountains in which it does take your breath away especially after it rains. The front office staff was busy hence they were less smiling, instead just wanted to get the check in done asap. I love the lobby lift; it was quiet and fast and the building has only 4 floors with a roof top bar.

My room was on the 2nd floor and I requested for a front lake view costing me extra RM20 in which it was worth it. The room was spacious, full amenities and was superb. However what was miserable that the WIFI was down in all the room (perhaps due to the heavy rain earlier) making us cripple to work. We could not work at night in our rooms until the next morning where wifi was only available at the restaurant. The staff took no initiative to update us on WIFI progress despite knowing that we are travelling on business.

The housekeeping team that was working at night was excellent. Very helpful and attentive. In total I paid RM158 for a room with breakfast in which it is a little expensive for a small town; however worth the price paid.

The breakfast spread was good ranging from nasi lemak, mee hun, fruits, a chap to make you fresh eggs, cordial juices, breads etc which I personally thought it was okay.

We were unhappy with the fact that the parking in the basement was full and we had to park outside. When I asked the front office staff; she said ' check with the guard lah'. That showed no ownership. Hence we had to park externally by the streets in which it was a one-two minute walk.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a nice view facing the lake and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I would consider this a very good hotel even if it weren't located just across the road from the lovely Lake Gardens and w/in easy walking distance of Zoo Tailing. But the location clinches it. Our room was very comfortable and good value. The breakfast (included) was very good especially. If you like Malaysian specialties like Nazi Lemak, but the eggs were well-cooked, the fruit was good and the puddings were a treat. The rooftop pool was also a pleasure. All-in-all, an excellent deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and we were pleasantly surprised at the location and overall standard of the hotel.
Situated about ten minutes walk from Taiping and facing the lakes, gardens and Mountains this hotel is ideally situated to visit the Zoo, about 15 minutes walk and the towns museums. The rooftop swimming pool and bar is superb and the Chinese Restaurant serves great good at very reasonable prices and is a great favourite with locals.
Our lake view room with picture window was comfortable and the bathroom was OK.
Ask for a lake-view room as the outlook is stunning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We booked our stay in Flemington hotel while attending a friend's wedding. It was pleasing to see a decently sized hotel located near the otherwise sleepy Taiping town.

Basement parking is very limited and is reserved only for hotel guests. You will need to inform the guard that you are a guest here before they let you in. Check in was a breeze and we were at our room on the 4th floor in a jiffy.

The room we got was facing the back end of the hotel. If you want to enjoy a lake front view, then you'll need to fork out a bit more for the Premier room. The room was small but not cramped. It comes with a queen sized bed, wall hanging LCD TV, attached bathroom with separate shower closet, hair dryer & in-room safe. There were some setbacks though - aircond cond wasn't working properly, some stains & water marks on the walls,no proper wardrobe & no fridge either. Other than that, the room is good for a comfortable stay.

In terms of general amenities, I have no complains as it meets my basic expectations - ie. Coffee house (international fare), chinese restaurant, lounge, swimming pool & wading pool.

I was pleasantly surprised to find a rooftop bar on the same floor at the swimming pool. It is likely operated by 3rd party operators & not by the hotel. Beautiful 360 degree view of your surrounding and offers an alfresco experience.

Overall, my stay was nothing short of expectation & must highlight that the service was exceptionally good & prompt. We asked for a technician to inspect our faulty air conditioning unit and they were at my door step in less than 3mins! We ended up requesting for a room change as the technicians required and hour to repair the damage. We got the key card to our new room in less than 5mins. Kudos to the employees of Flemington hotel!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed at Executive Suite juz a week before CNY 2014. The room was fantastic. Clean and spacious. And the price is reasonable. My family enjoyed our stay.
The front office personnels are friendly and polite.

VERY BAD SERVICE FOR F&B
However, the buffet breakfast is SUCKS!! Serve limited of variaties and the waiter didnt even bother to wait for us to pour our coffee. The coffee pot was juz in my hand reach, the waiter didnt bother to ask 1st, he juz took away the pot and other beverages - even drinking water!!
The waiter juz walk off and into the kitchen.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flemington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flemington Hotel

Address: No. 1, Jalan Samanea Saman, Taiping 34000 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Larut, Matang dan Selama District > Taiping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Taiping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Flemington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flemington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.