We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flemington hotel, Lake Garden Taiping, Malaysia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flemington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Flemington Hotel to your Saves list
Flemington Hotel
No. 1, Jalan Samanea Saman, Taiping 34000 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Taiping
Petaling Jaya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Flemington hotel, Lake Garden Taiping, Malaysia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The booking of rooms in the busy period of Ramadan was done smoothly and efficiently. As promised, my family was given 2 rooms with interconnecting doors. The check-in and out was done effortless with good room services provided. The security in the hotel was excellent as my car was guarded day and night. The morning walks in the nearby Lake Gardens were a joy. The hotel is situated in this iconic Garden. However, the morning of 23rd Aug we were saddened by the century old raintree that was uprooted by a storm the previous night. This visit brought to us so much meaning.

Room Tip: During holidays, book 2 - 3 weeks in advance. The internet connection , both wireless and cabled, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    93
    52
    8
    6
See reviews for
78
33
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

It was after long hours of drive that we reached flemington taiping, it was around 4-5pm . Stepped into the hotel, greeted with good smile and helpful offer by the bellboy . Things were great as we turned our heads around enjoying the interior design of the hotel. One step nearer to the reception counter and...... One of our worst hotel stay begins. Not only that we were greeted with such arrogance by the front desk, it seems that their employer did not pay them the extra bonus to smile. They passed the detail form and "Demanded" us to fill it in and then just handed us the keycards without even saying which room we are getting. Wow! while of course they room numbers were written in the keycard holder, but one would really appreciate some form of good communication , not ? Room was good to begin with... checked the toilet and it was good... bed was good, tv was good... window view was surperb.. and just when we wanted to put the unhappy incident with the frontdesk behind us, one of the ceiling light went "Fire in the hole" on us. Logic and common sense told us to call in and ask for the maintenance guy to come in. Logic and common sense too told us to wait for a while after the call .

And.... Wow! the reinforcement never came.. and we waited for an hour , wasted an hour time that we could have used to get going and enjoy some views and food! We went down to the frontdesk and told them of our problem with the room only to be greeted with one of them holding up her walkie talkie and started speaking unpleasantly to the other side with words like " Hey hurry up! People are making noise already! " ... and Yes we heard all those words perfectly. The girl then stepped out without answering or even looking at us! and was never to be seen again ... So what are we to do ? Common sense told us to wait again at the frontdesk... 10 minutes passed and I went up to a guy that looked like a manager to me, he was there the entire time and I demanded an answer to which he answer "Regarding ?" How can one believe this is happening in such a hotel ? It looked so wonderful from the outside and the frontdesk lack even the basic in the service industry which is the "SMILE!" .

Not all was bad though, the chinese restaurant at first floor serve superb food, their waiter and waitresses smile and was really wonderful. The maintenance guy who eventually came , apologized like never before and got the job done and was all Smiles. Breakfast buffet at the cafe was ok.... Cant complain and cant compliment either, the environment was pretty comfortable.

Thats all from me, and hope to see some positive changes in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taiping hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Booked into the hotel for a 3 days 2 nights stay. We have booked 4 rooms altogether and have specified that we would like to have some lake view. Upon arrival, we will told only rooms that with double bed has lake view and all twin beds are only with street view. As we have requested for one room that with twin bed, we were given a room with 4 air compresses outside the window and you can imagine the noices that it created. After we complained, they did change the room to an upper floor, but the view is horrible. The hotel is also very run down and the bath towel looked so horrible and dirty, it is time they changed the towels as for the price (being in a small town) we paid, it is no cheap! (RM110/-- for twin room without lake view and RM130/- for lake viiew). I will not stay there again as it is not well maintained. We are quite sure with the price we can get a decent hotel around.

Room Tip: Stay there only if you want to have lake view of the Lake Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

On the whole, it was a nice stay. Checking in was a breeze. The room was spartan but well decorated. The buffet breakfast was ok.The only problem i faced was parking problem. There were limited bays for parking and i had difficulty in finding a place to park my car after coming back from dinner, especially when there is a function at the hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was on a company trip when I put up for a night. The room was small and it had a very simple set up with a queen size bed, a table, some hanging racks and plasma TV thought!
I did not like the curtuirns where it did not cover the window properly, so the sunlight come it directly onto your face in the morning.! Breakfast was ok

But for the price paid and since it was a night only, oklah..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Flemington hotel delivers what it promises. The staff are helpful, the rooms were clean and I faced minimal frustrations in my stay there. The area directly outside the hotel is mosquito infested, and i have an arm full of bites now. But this could be due to factors outside tha hotel's control. The food was safe but mediocre. The buffet breakfast was basic. This is my 2nd time staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview room if you are staying more than one night, as the view is serene and beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kedah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

best location facing the lake garden. walking distance to the food court and taiping zoo. the breakfast buffet was ok.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with family i would recommend the executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flemington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flemington Hotel

Address: No. 1, Jalan Samanea Saman, Taiping 34000 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Larut, Matang dan Selama District > Taiping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Taiping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Flemington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flemington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.