We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cinta Sayang Resort

Save Saved
You added Cinta Sayang Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cinta Sayang Resort
Persiaran Cinta Sayang, Sungai Petani 08000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Sungai Petani
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just about decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

The hotel is located within a resort complex which also includes houses and condominiums. The Deluxe room was generally clean and spacious with all the standard trappings, however channel selection on the TV was quite limited. I wish to make a note about the cleanliness of the bathroom, which I thought needed work. The shower curtain was mouldy and stains were present on the bathtub.

Dinner was at the hotel restaurant and the (Malaysian) food served was of good quality. Group check in was handled efficiently and we were given our room keys in a jiffy.

Overall an acceptable place to escape the bustle of Penang, or for a short quiet getaway.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

According to the review, this was suppose to be quite a good hotel to stay at. However, after staying for one night, I had decided to check out. The hotel was quite old with upgrading needed. The water from the shower was brown in colour and I had to let it flow for a few minutes before clear water came out. The bathroom tower looks like it has just been used. I found a dead cockroache in the bathroom the moment I step in. The hot water shower was not hot especially if you want to take shower in the morning. The room that I stay in was quite far from the reception and it was very quiet in the evening with very little light on the road outside the room. The aircon in the room was very noisy and it was not cold although the temperature is already set 16°C.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

This would have been a nice resort fifteen years ago but the rooms and surrounds are quite tired. This appears to be more of a local convention centre. The three restaurants offered diverse menues, buffet and a la carte, but two of them were taken over by conventions leaving only one a la carte restaurant for guests. This is not a great resort for westerners unless you can find a translator - language problems in the restaurant, getting service and booking golf.

The standard rooms are quite large with separate bedroom and large bathroom. The internet did not work but the staff gladly allowed us to use the business centre computer when we needed to check on business emails.

The food was tasty but it would have been nice to have a variation.

The golf course was well presented and the greens staff enthusiastic when we managed to find one with enough English to realise we were congratulating him on the course condition. The swimming pool was beautiful but no service - towels, food or drinks.

The luxury suites had great views out over the golf course but our unit looked into the back of the archery shed with its tattered screen and bits of discarded palm fronds and, across the road, the back of another unit with an old mattress and rusted bath outside.

A long trip from New Zealand for this disappointing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

If you are going to Sungai Petani the Cinta Sayang Resort is an very nice place to stay at. The resort is spacious. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant and pool area are nice. The food is excellent, but you might need some patience, as the restaurant service was slow. The rooms are comfortable even if they are not at the newest standard. The golf facilities look nice, but as I am no golfer I cannot say more about it. They do offer other activities such as paintball or karaoke rooms. The hotel has a nice ballroom and is well equipped to host wedding and similar events. They also offers free WiFi access in some of the rooms and in the reception area. Overall a very nice place to stay if you go to Sungai Petani or if you are planning a conference or event.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Lots of + points but the unit we stayed in didnt have hot water & furniture a bit old.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cinta Sayang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinta Sayang Resort

Address: Persiaran Cinta Sayang, Sungai Petani 08000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Kuala Muda District > Sungai Petani
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Sungai Petani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinta Sayang Resort is labelled as the "One Stop Vacation & Happening Place" in the North Malaysia and an ideal venue for all occasions, be it in golf, theme park, convention centre, leisure, vacation, stay, learn & play, it offers a unique lifestyle for business meetings, family and friends under one roof and lives up to its name as "The Most Happening Place Around." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cinta Sayang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinta Sayang Hotel Sungai Petani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinta Sayang Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.