We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Holiday to Greece Mature Couple Liverpool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alia Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alia Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Alia Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1109, Pefkohori 63085, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pefkohori
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First Time Holiday to Greece Mature Couple Liverpool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The brochure pictures of the main reception area and pool came to life when we arrived. We had read about the elevated position but we did not expect such steep hill to the Accommodation Blocks. We were designated block 4 and the top floor of three and we found we were not able to get there all in one go! The reception kindly found us a room in block 2 middle floor but we lost the sea view, now looking onto the back of block 1. The staff were all friendly and helpful and very obliging. The hotel was advertised as Adults only but there were quite a lof of children and youngsters staying, there was no entertainment for them apart from the pool. This was good as there was a shallower end and a deep end. there was no entertainment, one night in our seven and the shuttle bus to the town finished running from town at 7.15pm. Taxis were available at 3 to 4 Euros. The climb down to the town and beach area was not suitable for persons not in training for marathons, there was a short cut down a dirt track and there was no lighting. The rooms were very nice in size and decor and were kept well by the room staff. Towels and bed linen changed a couple of times and poolside towels were available. The food at breakfast and dinner had buffet selections and in general one could find something suitable. The Dinner menu cards placed early in the day but did not match the foods at the buffet tables. The dress code stipulated for dinner (to keep up 5 star appearances - a welcome change) was not enforced and smoking at the tables during and between courses was practise to its full advantage - NON SMOKERS TAKE NOTE AND BE WARNED, THERE WAS NO ESCAPE! The meals did not live up to 5 star, we were generous with a 3 star.

Room Tip: choose room 101 in block 1 for the shortest uphill distance to the main reception, pool and restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    69
    34
    16
    7
See reviews for
48
109
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for a week in June 2012 and it was the best holiday we have ever had! The hotel is gorgeous and the views amazing. The staff were exceptional especially Demitri in the restaurant, they couldn't do enough for you for example it was Daniel's birthday during our stay and they decorated a table for us in the restaurant and presented him with a cake and offered free drinks at the bar with Bobby (who is also fab!).

Pefkohori was a bit limited for restaurant choice but Hanioti is just down the road and has a lot more to offer just hire a car/scooter/quad bike or even a taxi would be easy/cheap enough.

We absolutely loved our stay at Alia and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The views from the pool and hotel are fantastic. The staff at the hotel are great. The contrast in the luxury setting this hotel enjoys and the beachfront facilities bears no resemblance. I am not a lover of kiss me quick type places and the town of Pefkohori had little traditional greek culture to offer.

If you book this hotel you will not be disappointedy it is lovely. Hire a car and once you have got past the crazy roundabout at the bottom of the hill and head out of pefkohori to some more tranquil beaches peace will be returned. However if you like a contrast and like very busy noise ridden places then this is the place for you.

I would definately go back to the hotel if it was just to stay there around the pool etc. I probably would not go back anywhere near the beachfront too busy and tacky for me and restaurants bit predictable. There is a village square on the walk down to the town which is a bit of a hidden gem and the locals seem to go there.

Expect a walk down to the town, short cut down the dirt track, you would need a torch for the way home or get a taxi for 4/5 euros. My daughter and I only walked back once in the day and heat, I felt like I needed oxygen after that and settled for a lie down, not for the unfit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just got back from our vacation and I can say that staying at Alia Palace was above my expectations!!!
Hotel is located on the hill above the town. Nice and quite ambience is just perfect for your vacation. See view from our room ( balcony ) was spectacular as well as the view from the pool area.
Pool is very nice, clean with comfortable sun beds. Quiet music from pool bar and nice staff makes a relaxing atmosphere. I have to say that food at the restaurant and the staff, specially manager were great! I truly don`t understand some of the comments about the food not being good ?!?!
Room was nice and clean with minibar, AC and it was cleaned every day. They changed bed sheets every third day. I would like to recommend this hotel to anybody, who is looking for quiet and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia - Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We did stay at the hotel for 9 days. We had wonderful holidays really relaxing and fab. I m suggesting this hotel if you have in mind to rent a car otherwise you must use the shuttle bus and back, there are certain hours that it running and it stop early in the evening.

Overall we had really nice breakfast and dinner with variety of foods. People working there are really friendly and want to help you in any way.

It's pool is really nice either in the morning or night its really romantic with nice view and music.

The only thing you must improve is the internet connection which is poor.

We thank you all for the great holidays we did have kisses from Cyprus

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

There is a 5-star hotel as written on them. Maximum of 3 +. Cleanliness is lacking. No robes and slippers in the bathroom, do not change the sheets every day and no baie.Internetul cosmetics do not work but hardly rooms and reception hall pool. Food quite good but very salty and am not very different from one day to alta.Parcare unpaid but not too big asigurata.Tarife putintele services. catch if an offer is OK but the asking price on the internet or inadvisable reception. The villas are OK .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The room was clean and basic, ask to be in a room within buildings 1 and 2 for the best views and less of a walk. The air con and a light broke during the week but were quickly repair when reported.

The hotel is set away from Pefkohori village and the walk back (uphill) took us about 15 minutes. We were OK with this but something you may wish to keep in mind. There is a shuttle bus but this finishes early in the evening.

The views from the hotel and the pool are lovely. The pool itself is a highlight and is clean and very well maintained. The sun loungers are of good quality and the pool bar is well stocked and staffed. Hint: buy soft drinks, water and icecream from the small shop not the bar - they are much cheaper.

Breakfast is a large buffet which includes food for all tastes. There were cooked breakfasts and also fruits, yoghurts, eggs, cereals, breads etc. Only quibble was the quality of some of the meats and cheeses - not nice.
Lunch meals are served around the pool area in a nice shaded area. The food is well made and good for the price.
We ate in the evening restaurant once, I really do not recommend this. It was a buffet and not of a high standard, the food tasted cheap. There is also a ridiculous foot wear policy - no sandals - many people took no notice of this but the owner did stop some people coming in because of it and it made for an uncomfortable scene.

Overall, we wanted a very relaxing holiday and got it. I'd give it 3.5 out of 5.

Oh, and at the time of booking (June 2012) Thomas Cook was advertising this hotel as Adults Only. It certainly isn't.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 1 and 2 for the best views and to avoid a walk up hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alia Palace Hotel

Address: PO Box 1109, Pefkohori 63085, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Pefkohori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pefkohori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alia Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil yet stunning location overlooking the Cassandra Gulf. The Alia Palace Hotel is situated in Chalkidiki, close to the village of Pefkohori. The hotel is just 500 meters from shops, restaurants and the nightlife of Pefkohori.The hotel provides a free shuttle bus to town and the beach located 600-800 meters away. After relaxing on the beach or by the pool, treat yourself in the spa. Feel the benefits of a seaweed mask, massage or facial nail treatments, massages. Pilates, yoga and other activities like tennis court e.t.a. are available. Free access to the gym is also available. A mini market with tobacco, newspapers and the necessities you would need during your stay is there for you.Enjoy fine wine and cuisine of authentic Greek flavors at the 2 restaurants offering a la carte or buffet-style dining options. Drinks and coffee are provided at the poolside bar, while a welcome cocktail is offered upon arrival. Greek cooking demonstration and wine testing takes place once a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alia Palace
Alia Palace Pefkohori
Alia Palace Hotel Pefkohori, Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alia Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.