We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Property - Just Go Out to Eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort to your Saves list
The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort
29-1 Toyakonsen, Abuta-gun, Toyako-cho 049-5721, Hokkaido (Toyako Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
4.5 of 5 stars 164 Reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property - Just Go Out to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Despite a rainstorm putting a damper on some outdoor Lake Toya adventures this beautiful hotel and location supported some R & R and local shopping. Like most Japanese Hotels - last minute booking on-line showed no rooms available - made a call to the hotel and was booked. Large lobby spaces, in-house store, cafe, arcade, sports viewing, art, music, and an exceptional Onsen space was very confomfortabke. Ate all meals out in town - this is due to in house meals and restaurants very confusing and inconvenient times - no a la carte or laundry services was also surprising. Beautiful rooms, a magnificent spa Onsen experience, and evening fireworks made for lovely evenings.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    61
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
64
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We were being served with refreshing welcome drinks upon arrival while waiting at the huge lobby with full length ceiling to floor glass window facing LakeToya. It was a pleasant surprise that we were upgraded to a Japanese cum Western suite at no additional charge. We enjoyed the view and fireworks from the room. The onsen is facing the lake. At the outdoor onsen, you can just lean on the slanting ledge to enjoy the full view of Lake Toya. Our room rate was inclusive of buffet dinner and breakfast. The modern restaurant is also facing the lake, with a good variety of dishes. This is the most luxurious and best hotel I had ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We loved this hotel and will most definitely come back next time we're in Japan!
We only stayed 1 night, but what an amazing stay.
We had booked directly with them and initially I had booked a non smoking room, however as we prefer to sleep on the tatami we ended up in a smoking room, which actually was not an issue at all as the room smelled fine. Note that the normal beds are twin beds with unfortunately a small table in between that cannot be removed, hence you cannot move the beds directly next to each other.
The room was spacious with a decent bathroom and nice amenities, although I was not a big fan of the shower, since the shower head was a bit low. The biggest attraction of this room is the view of Lake Toya: amazing! Sleeping on the tatami meant that we woke up to this view (we decided not to close the curtains) which was just great.
The onsen is furthermore really great. This has by far the nicest outdoor onsen we saw at hotels in Japan, as it is on the roof, infinity pool style and quite large and gives you a great chance to see the fireworks (only in summer) at night or an amazing view of Lake Toya by day. The indoor onsens are really nice as well with 3 different types of water. Note that they switch the men and women access at some point (not sure when to be honest) so you get to enjoy both sides, as they are slightly different.

The reception area is really lovely in terms of set up and quite relaxed. Some of the staff speak English quite well, so we never had any issues. They furthermore have a large shopping area with some nice products of which the prices seemed actually reasonable. Downstairs there is a gaming room and even a pet shop, as they seem to have a floor that welcomes guests with their dogs. Quite a cool concept!

As we have been to a number of hotels with buffet restaurants, we were pleasantly surprised by this one. It is massive (Japanese, Chinese and Western), but the quality is really good! They also serve some nice innovative beers (I at least had never seen it before) where a dark beer is combined with a light beer in such a way that the bottom half of your glass is dark and the top light and the 2 beers do not really mix: looks and tastes great!. If you are two people: just order 1 dark beer and 2 of the light beers, since you use less of the dark beer.

For breakfast the buffet was nice as well, although I was surprised that they did not have any of the nice farm bread that they were serving in the evening available in the morning. That would have been a great addition. I had a soft boiled egg, but it was a little too soft boiled for me unfortunately as the egg white was still see through. I read in one of the reviews about the apple juice, and yes, I can recommend it!

The village around the hotel is quite large and it is lovely to take a walk along the lake. There seem to be fewer annoying insects in comparison to Lake Shikotsu. You can further rent a little swan boat to paddle onto the lake. Quite a corny experience, but the view is worth it. Try at the end of the day a little before the sun sets.

The only little point that annoyed me a bit was the big "fairy tale castle" boat that moors in front of the hotel. It has quite loud music till late at night and you do hear this a bit in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Lake Toya Nonokaze has a great ambience and the view is exceedingly beautiful. My main reason for choosing it was that reviews for other hotels complained about non-smoking rooms which were not really just deodorised smoking rooms. I have a sensitive nose and the rooms smelt great. In fact, the rooms exceeded my expectations as it was both beautiful and well-equipped. A great range of toiletries was provided and they even provided Yukatas and pyjamas.

We opted for the Kaiseki meal and the food quality was outstanding. Unfortunately the service was a little haphazard as courses would come in erratic servings so sometimes our table would be empty and other times it would be so full of food that we had no idea what to start with.

The biggest downside of this hotel would be the language barrier. English standards of the staff were limited at best. There was confusion when making our reservation for the private onsen and our kaiseki meal consisted of single-word explanations.

What was most important was perhaps the alarming siren that rang at midnight. Hotel guests were gathered outside of their rooms in confusion and there was only 1 announcement in Japanese during the first 10 minutes. Several guests went back to their rooms while others went down the stairs. Quite alarming as we had just been to the volcano information centre that day. Hotel staff at the front desk were ill-equipped at dealing with the situation, and unable to explain what was happening in English.Thankfully it was a false fire alarm or there might have been casualties.

Despite the language difficulties, I would recommend this hotel as it really is a beautiful establishment. Just remember to hurry down when the fire alarm sounds.

Room Tip: Fireworks start 8.45pm. Get a room that's higher up for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Excellent hotel. Very beautiful views of the Lake Toya. Spacious room with big bed and sofa. Very good amenities. Welcome drinks and snacks were a nice touch. The roof top hot spring bath is like an infinity pool, if you're lucky enough, you can enjoy it all by yourself. The only thing that is not perfect is that the air-conditioning is a bit weak, and is kinda hot in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel was designed in Japanese minimalist style and all rooms face the lake, so the views are fantastic! We had a hot spring bath inside our bathroom so it was tempting not to even try the public baths! But the roof top baths is quite an experience.

At 8:45pm there are fireworks on the lake (I believe they are on nightly from April to September) which you can see from your room or from the walkway in front of the hotel. If you really want to eat outside the hotel there are some local shops just outside the hotel. After dinner we took a walk along the lake shore which goes right in front of the hotel. The location of the hotel is great.

Dinner and breakfast were buffets in the hotel restaurants. It's funny if we hadn't just been to Hotel Mahoroba at Noboribetsu we would have found the buffet adequate. But after experiencing that, the buffets at Nonokaze didn't seem that good. Variety was less but also the food didn't seem as fresh. I had some steak pieces which were very tough (first time such a thing happened to me in Hokkaido). For this price you do expect the top.

Room Tip: You have to get a room above the 4th floor to get a good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was our favourite hotel of our stay in Hokkaido. Lobby was super impressive and our room (combined Western/Japanese club room) was absolutely huge with a sweeping view of the lake, islands and Mt Yotei beyond. Everything was spotlessly clean and had obviously been well thought out in a very Japanese way. The hot springs were absolutely amazing especially the rooftop infinity onsen "Tenqoo". Our only complaint really was the lack of good meeting and dining options in the hotel. We were keen for pre-dinner drinks with friends who were also staying at the hotel but having a different dinner option to us (kaiseki vs buffet), but there wasn't a bar or cafe to do so. Our only option was to sit awkwardly in the lobby chairs with no drinks service. Also, the kaiseki restaurant was lacking in personality and felt more like an underground dungeon - not sure why this couldn't have been set up with a nice view of the lake for example, as we had to rush our dinner to get out in time for fireworks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort

Address: 29-1 Toyakonsen, Abuta-gun, Toyako-cho 049-5721, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Toyako-cho > Toyako Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Toyako-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and JAPANiCAN so you can book your The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort Toyako-Cho, Hokkaido, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.