We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall...We will Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Santa Maria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Save
You added Royalton Cayo Santa Maria to your Saves list
05200, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Riverview, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overall...We will Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Royalton the first week of April 2014 and overall, the resort, the people and the experience was excellent. When we vacation, we want quality and we were very, very satisfied with this trip. Our Friends had recommended the Royalton Cayo Santa Maria and they were right...it is truly a resort that is focused on service. Ariel, Lester, Daymi, Tatiana, Alex and the list goes on...everybody was wonderful.

The beach, pools, grounds, food and drinks, and overall facility as good as any of the five star resorts we have been too. But the difference here...the staff and management really care!

Every employee we met at all levels did their part to make you feel welcomed and to ensure your satisfaction was a #1 priority. This culture of service, was clearly something we appreciated and one the big reasons while we will return!

Room Tip: It is a small resort and in 5 minutes you can be anywhere on the site. We stayed near the beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Rob M,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and thank you for choosing our hotel in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

Thak you for said that this is a tuly a resort that is focused on service, and thank you for share with us the names of the workers who made you stay unforgettable.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    210
    72
    16
    3
See reviews for
90
1,226
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The five of us arrived after an very early flight from Havana to a warm greeting, welcome drink and cold towels. We knew that an 8am arrival would mean our rooms understandably would not be ready but the staff were still apologetic and guided us to breakfast. It was great. Varied menu with eggs all ways, pancakes, great selections of cheese, ham, fruit and also cava on request! After breakfast our butler showed us around the absolutely stunning resort. Infinity pool overlooking smaller pool beneath, hammocks in the trees, third large pool, cabanas, stunning grounds, and three restaurants. After another apology over the lack of rooms he guided us the fine white sand beach which was actually very peaceful with crystal clear waters. There are more than enough sun loungers for all. Ariel left brought us towels and said he would get us when the rooms were ready. Great start so far.

After a wander round the resort we passed reception who told us our room was ready, at 11am! We were incredibly impressed with the quick turnaround and real effort to get us in ASAP. Rooms are lovely, spacious with living area. Bathroom is also large with rainfall shower, and shower over an also large bathtub. Safe in the room, mini bars restocked daily, iron, lots of storage space. Outside we had a hammock and two deck chairs and a table looking into the jungle shrubbery.

We spent a few days at the beach, a few of us tried the the free sailing and the beach bar staff were always asking whether we needed more drinks which was great! Beach mojitos are perhaps not so great.... All the other cocktails were fantastic though. The chef also seemed to come down most days too to bring BBQ lobster or the highly recommended enchiladas! A full day and a couple of afternoons we're spend by the pool and in the cabanas. A relaxation soundtrack plays in the background which did exactly what it was meant to, piña coladas in the pool (again brought regularly to us by the beach bar staff) were the best I've ever tasted! The snack bar has a great lunch menu and the Royalton burger is everything everyone says it is! Steak sandwich is a win as well and the steak always so well cooked, not chewy at all! Mozzys do get a bit bad here though even during the day. Towel reserving everywhere is a massive annoyance....

Both restaurants were great. We dined at eggselence our first two nights. On our first our butler could only get a booking at 8.30 which was fine with us. The restaurant staff made clear they preferred early diners. It does seem to what there used to though with most eating before 7.30 which was complete alien to me. Senses is pegged as the "posh" restaurant. There is little difference in presentation, quality of food or service in all honesty just in decor. Desserts when we could get them were great. They ran out of everything bar ice cream and flan on all but one of our 7 nights.

The entertainment at night was fantastic. Classical bands, singers, aqua ballet, salsa and all of by what I could only describe as experts. The only draw back was that the entertainment was only an hour, which wouldn't be a problem if the was ANY background music at all in the bar and lobby area. You can always head over to memories for entertainment too such as the Jackson tribute show we saw.

The potential problem with leaving to go to memories is that they don't use bands here - which is a nice touch - but their alternative is unlaminated bits of paper printed by reception. Remembering them is difficult and obviously they are liable to damp... Would it not make more sense to have Royalton branded room cards instead?

The cafe Royalton bar is open 24 hours and make some of the best cocktails I've ever tasted. There is a piano but this has a player on only one out of 7 nights. Again wouldn't be an issue if there was any background music at all being played to create a nicer atmosphere and maybe stop the majority of people heading to bed after all the entertainment was done. The resort is quiet and relaxing and that's the way it should be but at night he only effort to create some background activity, or at least the illusion, is the hour of entertainment. Only issues in the bar was when they ran out of mint leaves which also happened another night at the snack bar.

Room service was hit and miss. You would order one day and snacks or drinks would arrive promptly. Order another day and order 5 times over 3 hours and nothing would appear. They serve cava and as a group of 5 we would often like to chat or get ready in our rooms with a bottle of it. It was like gold dust, but only for our group... We were by far the youngest in our mid twenties and this seemed to affect the service we got despite constant and generous tipping when we did get service. This was in addition to seeming to have requests by one of the three rooms being treated as a request for the group. Food, alcohol or toiletries would often just come to one of the rooms as opposed to the allocated just because we were a group.

On leaving it was worth noting that whilst the room was clearly cleaned daily the bathroom never seemed to really be touched. In addition to this the towels in the room never outnumbered 2 which can be a problem if you have more than one shower a day in a room they never dry with very effective air con.

I want to say first that this was truly the best all inclusive or hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff are all so happy and friendly and they provide predominantly exceptional service. They offer a heck of a lot service wise, the problem is that they are not always apparently capable of offering these service effectively or efficiently e.g laundry never being picked up, running out of mint, toilet roll, bacon, room service never arriving and never with an apology or warning. Given the ridiculously cheap £800pp we paid for the stay exc flights + transfers for a week I am happy to give the resort 5 stars despite some flaws. If the Royalton had charged what a resort like theirs could, for all the services they provide, and fallen short as described above it would have been 3/5.

They have room for improvement, especially with night time atmosphere but I would still more than happily come back another holiday.

Room Tip: Bungalows 6 and 7 are the most private for standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmarD530, Gerente at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing you 5 star experience in Royalton Cayo Santa maria with other travellers on the internet.

We have read all your complete review and we are very happy knowing that you called us "Absolute paradise" and this was the best all inclusive hotel you have ever been.

We will share all your suggestions with our management team and we hope we can see you here again.

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Royalton in May and it was fabulous. I loved the boutique size of the resort especially in comparison to he behemouth next door (Memories)! It was so easy to navigate this resort.

Overall the food was fantastic. There were a couple of dishes that weren't perfect but generally everything was really tasty and fabulous.

The beach and pools were lovely. Of course there is always the problem of people reserving loungers all day long (even if they're not using them) but that didn't put a dampter on my stay at all.

It did rain for a few days (it is rainy season after all) and the most disappointing thing about that was how some other guests reacted to it (ie getting angry because their excursions were cancelled) and how everyone but us avoided the pools when it rained! I couldn't believe it...it's vacation people, get in the pool and enjoy yourselves!!! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmarD530, Gerente at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Catherine D,

Thank you for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and thank you for choosing our hotel in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

It is very nice to see that you called us a "true gem" and your vacation with us was "fabulous".

We will share your comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A bit late with this review, we stayed here last November, The hotel is beautiful, lovely rooms, great staff, fabulous beach. Lots of choices to eat. Lunch time there are several choices, sit down restaurant, BBQ, pizza oven on the beach. sandwiches at the bar. Nothing to complain about here.
Take lots of gifts for the staff, not a lot of good giving them money as they don't get to keep it. Shared evidently with all Cuban's. Take tee shirts, cosmetics, baby clothes, look through your closet. We went with 2 suitcases, came home with one inside the other as gave the gifts and most of the clothes we took to staff who very much appreciated it.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are all on second floor, not a lot of use as the vegetation is very thick, no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmarD530, Gerente at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and thank you for choosing our hotel Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very happy reading that you had a nice vacation in November 2013 and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Following 8 days travelling round the hustle and bustle of beautiful Cuba, this was the perfect rest place.

From the moment you arrive, with a great welcoming drink, the Royalton oozes quality and refinement.

The layout and styling of the Royaton are first class and obviously something that they take great care of. Every building, pool and public area are well maintained and spotless. A haven to relax into.

Our room was one of the standard ones, in a normal build complex and was perfect. Everything worked and was well stocked. Room cleaning and service was again, first class.

There are a range of activities that happen every day and we quickly got into a routine of Yoga, beach volleyball and Spanish lessons. Special mention here has to go to Frank and the volleyball coach as they offer great and friendly service and really go the extra mile to ensure that guests are having a good time. Frank surely is destined for great things here at the Royalton. The yoga classes were taken by both Frank and Lilly and were excellent.

The beach area of the resort is also perfect and well run by the team at the beach bar. All of the bar staff and the chef are a credit to the Royalton and the food and drinks were all perfectly presented.

If you are thinking of visiting this area of Cuba, please do not consider anywhere else. This was our first time at an all inclusive resort and it was perfect. From the very visible manager all the way through to the cleaning staff, this was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts by Blue Diamond hotel and resorts, and thank you for choosing our hotel in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

It is fantastic to see how you enjoyed your stay with us calling our hotel: "Heaven in Cuba" and being a "Top contributor" for tripadvisor.com Thank you so much!!

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife Donna and I returned recently from our first ever trip to Cuba. Typically we are Dominican Republic travelers, and were a wee hesitant to actually go to Cuba due to the usual complaints...namely the food, and lower quality accommodations. The Royalton blew those preconceived notions out of the water! The resort itself is quite small, but well laid out. Walking everywhere is definitely not a chore, and it's so picturesque. The bungalows were well appointed, and located to give optimal ocean views, or garden views, depending on the floor you were on. It offers two pools - a multilevel infinity pool right by the lobby, and a larger pool near Sunset restaurant - both are beautiful and the perfect temp. Donna and I tried each pool, but preferred the incredible beach..I've never seen anything like it. White sand, the consistency of flour..and turquoise water...almost bath-tub warm...crazy. Hands down, the nicest we've ever been too. The staff are really top-notch..and genuinely take pride in their work..doing it to the best of their abilities..and ALWAYS with a smile. Most speak some level of English, and are very patient with my rather pathetic attempts at anything Spanish. A few staffers deserve mention, and special recognition in my opinion - Yorgi (Sunset's best bartender and comedian..always willing to make us a new 'Yorgi Special'....Yuri and Sandy...the beach bar's talented mixologists. Yuri can make a killer Mojito...and became a good friend too. Osvaldo - all around great guy..even though this 26 yr old tried to convince us he was 43 for some reason.. :) Roland and Franco..two more guys that made our stay great. I'd love to ask the management to make special mention of our appreciation to all of them, from BUNGALOW 6! The food and service in most restaurants was superb...but Eggselence and Sunset both stand out in my opinion. Senses is the hot ticket, but didnt really deliver on either food or service - it was just okay.

Having traveled a bit..I can honestly say that a truly great resort vacation, is made great, by three things: The resort itself, the staff there, and the friendships you make. Based on those three things, this is the best vacation Donna and I have ever had...truly. Everything I've already mention notwithstanding...we made some lifelong friendships, within our first 10 minutes at the resort. James and Shauna, Ryan and Amanda, who together with us made the core of Bungalow 6, as well as Lane and Kendra..changed our lives in a way. Lane and Kendra are getting married at the Royalton next May, and we're all returning (hopefully!) to celebrate with them...along with a few pool parties this summer. Ironically..most of us live pretty close to each other..lol. I appreciate that not everyone has had that type of experience, but the Royalton just may be the place for it to happen. The resort's size lends itself to new friendships.

We cannot wait to return next May. I hope you'll take my advice, and do not hesitate to book a vacation at this beautiful resort!

Room Tip: Bungalow #6 - We were in 609 - offers a great ocean view. Its considered a Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Darren H,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very happy reading that you had an amazing vacay at the Royalton Cayo santa Maria. Thank you for share with us the names of the workers who looked after you during your stay and make your stay unforgetable.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the Royalton from May 25th until June 1st. We were not disappointed the second time around. A lot of the staff remebered who we were, which felt nice and was very welcoming. We didn't get the same butler as last time who was Noelvis but he sure remembered who we were and he went out of his way to assist us in any way, he even surprised us with a bubble bath with flowers in it. Next time we go back, we'll definitely be requesting him again. All the entertainment staff (especially Frank) are awesome. Our main Yuliet was so sweet. She even left us a little gift with a note the day we were leaving. Very nice touch. Management is always present asking how everything is and if you need anything. There's no words to say how nice it was to be back at the Royalton. We have found our paradise and will back for a third time very soon!! Thank you to all the staff who work so hard everyday!

See you all soon!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for trsut in our company Royalton luxury resorts and thank you for choosing our hotel in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very happy reading than in your second stay with us you had "another amazing trip in Royalton Cayo Santa Maria" Thank you!!

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

Address: 05200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Number of rooms: 122

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.