We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent; Sept 21-28, 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cayo Santa Maria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Santa Maria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Save
You added Melia Cayo Santa Maria to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jardines del Rey, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent; Sept 21-28, 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Melia Cayo Santa Maria for the past years. This was our 4th time. Each time, we had a great time and I am finally getting around to posting a review.

Weather

We travelled last this September 2012 and the weather was fantastic. The sea was calm and it rained only 1 day and it was during the night. It really allowed us to enjoy the wonderful beach. We do not know whether this was typical for September, but it was great.

Beach

We have travelled extensively and the beach of the resort has been the greatest, like a post-card. Fine white sand, a long strip with great privacy and none of the crowded Varadero experience. The beach is kept immaculate by the beach staff. For anyone that appreciates beaches, this is the place to be.

Grounds

The resort grounds are kept immaculate.

Customer service

Here is where it all makes a difference. From the time you arrive, the bell boys Jorge, Alexis, Michael will welcome you with warm smiles and great attitude. Then you will deal with front desk and reception. Always a pleasant experience. For example, I had my birthday during our vacation. Yudy the manager of the reception noticed and gave us a free massage and bottle of rum. Now, we’ve been there for the past years so we get to know the staff and we feel that we are at home, but what impressed me is that they treated everyone with respect and strived to provide the best customer service that they could.
Moving on to the lobby bar and the restaurants, the people there are excellent. Jullier and Reinne from the lobby bar made my birthday memorable.
We enjoyed the beach restaurant the most and we should thank the girls there Rossi, Xiomara and all the guys at the barbecue. They were wonderful.
We cannot not mention the general manager Paco Benito who one notices immediately as he is very hands on, very friendly and seems like tirelessly makes sure that everything is running smoothly, always with a smile.

Spa

We went to the spa. We had our massage there for my birthday with Mr. Wong. Tremendous service and the facility is very nice. I would highly recommend him and the facility.

Room

We had the ocean view room which was incredible. You could see the sunrise over the ocean from your bed. Enough said. The room was kept clean and the maid service was prompt and on time. We had absolutely no concerns with the room. The mini bar was always stocked with whatever you asked and there were always clean towels.

Food

The food was great with lots of choice – from fresh fruits to crab. We ate at the beach restaurant for lunch every day and went to the other restaurants for dinner (3 days) and 4 days at the main buffet. I could say we enjoyed every night, but for us, the best was the “French” restaurant. We had the lobster there.

Entertainment

The crowd was mixed – from young people to people with small kids to older couples. We are in our 50s and we enjoyed the musicians that they had at the lobby bar every night. It was mostly jazz and classical which set the ambiance just right. There are discos there but we did not go so I cannot comment on them.

Overall, the staff make this resort a wonderful place to visit and just relax and it all makes for an easy choice when you wonder where to go in Cuba or the Caribbean in general. We have been making this choice for the past 3 years for our Caribbean vacation and we can’t wait to book the next one. Kr.&P.

Room Tip: Ocean view all the way. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Kr S

First of all, it was a pleasure meeting you at your arrival, all our clients are very importants but people like you that know everyone and they just come to their second home, are great for us.

Yudy and her whole team are doing great, as you know she is not for long in this position but it looks like she did it for the last 10 years.

I hope we have the possibility meeting you in your next trip, I would really love it.

Best Regards

Paco Benito
General Manager
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    930
    381
    187
    94
See reviews for
521
1,423
96
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was my third trip to this resort. I can honestly say that we are planning to go back again next year. For the travelers thinking of going to this resort please be aware that the bus ride from the airport to the hotel is about an hour and thirty minutes. To some this may be an issue but it didn’t bother us at all. The employees at this resort are outstanding. They are really friendly and make your trip very comfortable. A lot of people mention on tripadvisor that they felt they had to tip to get good service. For us this was not the case. We tipped when we felt it was necessary and gave out some gifts that we brought from home. The service levels were not lacking when we did not tip.

Here are a few pointers:

Over all experience - This is one of the smallest resorts that my husband and I stayed at. With that being said there is lots to do and see at this resort. There are two large pools, a breath taking beach and four a la cart restaurants. There is a town nearby that you can visit and purchase your souvenirs. You pay 1 CUC for a bus ride which is nice because it stops at all the other hotels in the area. For all the ladies, there is a lovely spa but that’s extra.

Rooms – the rooms at this hotel are very spacious. They are kept very clean daily and the cleaning ladies are very nice. I wish that they spoke English a bit better because communication can be a challenge. With that being said French is our second language and I couldn’t compose a sentence to save my life. I’m terrified of cockroaches and I always worry of finding some in our room when visiting a tropical country but I have not encountered any unwanted visitors. I would go back just based on this!

Food – my husband is a very picky eater and he never complained about the food here. There is a lot of variety and with the a la cart restaurants you really can’t get bored. We bring a jar of peanut better with us on every trip just in case, but at this resort you don’t even need it. On a side note, I highly recommend the Japanese restaurant. The show of food being cooked was really neat and it tasted excellent. We really enjoyed this experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Travelled back once again to Santa Maria as the beach here is one of the nicest beaches I have ever seen. I loveee Cuba and the people are always so friendly and welcome you to their resorts. I have travelled once to The Barcelo, 3 times to The Melia Las Dunas before choosing the Cayo Santa Maria.

This resort is quite small compared to the other resorts in Santa Maria. We enjoyed the resort as it was a vacation for 2 friends to hang out and relax in the sunshine.

The room we got was in building 11 which was close to everything and was a definite need as I have walking difficulties at times.

The front bell boy George was truly a gem of a man. He was so friendly warm and had such a genuine concern for us. Keep up the great work George...this resort is lucky to have such a great worker.

The food was good as travelling 9 times to Cuba this is the first and only place that neither one of us had any stomach issues. The beach grill was so conveient to get something at luch time and sit and watch the ocean.

The singers that come around at the lunch buffet are really good and were very friendly. The pools were kepy clean and we never had any issues with them. The only issue that we had at this resort was the disrespect that people showed by reserving chairs at the pool and the beach. I got so fed up after 3 days of watching people do this that we simply removed towels off the chairs and used them. These chairs dont belong to people who are not using them. Have some decency with respect to doing this.The a lacarte restaurants were good and we had no problems with getting resevations for any night. I would return back to this resort as i enjoyed the size of the resort however there is alot of families here which can cause problems with screaming kids if you are looking for quietness.Overall its Cuba...one of my most favourite places to travel. Hope to see you soon....go for the beach its worth it....the people of Cuba always are happy to see you and treat you so well.

Room Tip: Ask for a building in the middle of the resort as some rooms are quite a distance to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night to see family

Have to say this hotel is beautiful from the moment you step in the lobby

Didn't really get to see a lot of the resort as was only there 24 hours but what we did see we liked

Rooms

Clean tidy loads of space

Beach

The most beautiful beach I've ever been on

Food

loads of choice

mosquito spray is a must in this resort as there are millions of them.

Had a great one night stay would definitely look to book this hotel if we return to cuba

Room Tip: dont really know our room was close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley,westmidlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Me and my husband came here on our honeymoon. Weve got mixed views on this holiday!

1st of all the beach is amazing looks just like something off a postcard. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The rooms are very spacious and the maid madelyn was lovely.
There was one day where we didnt have fresh towels this was because the laundry room was out of order! (Not much u can do about that) yes the towels were stained but were clean!

The pool area was lush really nice and the bar man was great coming to take ur drinks order from everyone and bringing them to you in hot weather very good :) although we were informed that the pool bar was going to be shutting on our 7th day we complained about this and they kept it open.

The resturants were good too, the main buffet wasnt open all the time, i can only put that down to that the hotel wasnt at its full capasity and they were saving food by doin made to order meals in the al a carts.
Because they made the reservations for you, you had to eat when they said becuase they were saying it was too busy but it wasnt even busy but oh well we still eat and the food was good!

The snack bar was great, good burgers, hotdogs, pizzas and the all inclusive drinks were ace!! Champaygne all the way!!

As it was our honeymoon we were told by tomas cook that we would get a romantic meal on the beach or in a pod by the jacuzzi (verynice location) and breakfast in the room one morning, however it wasnt for us booking this i dont think we would have ever had it! The hotel didnt make it feel like a honeymoon really we had a bottle of champayne in the room, but you could get this off the all inclusive anyway! But nice touch! That was a bit disapointing really becuase we'll only ever have one honeymoon and it wasnt made special for us.

The highlight of our holiday was meeting some lovely future friends, drink, pool, beach, food, snack bar, entertainers and the weather. The cubans are sooooo friendly and will make your holiday!

Overall the holiday was brill! Little niggly bits but didnt ruin it for us! At the end of the day everyone is different and people have different standards to someone else, so dont not book something because of a review do it because you want to go! You wont find out till you go!! And im sure youll have a fab time here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powys
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This has been our second trip to Cuba and we can honestly say the best out of the two. The hotel was beautifully maintained, the staff couldn't do enough for us whether it was food/drink/entertainment! Special thanks to Osbiel for looking after us so well at the poolside; Ernesto for entertaining us with archery and water polo, and Waldemar for excellent service at the lobby bar. The food was more than acceptable, although the buffet bar was closed on certain days, the a'la carte restaurants were lovely, air-conditioned rooms, serving an excellent choice of foods. The snack bar and beach snack bar provided great lunchtime choice, including PIZZA, hotdogs, burgers, barbecue etc. Our room was clean and tidy, and the maid did a great job looking after this for us. We had a great holiday with our neighbours and we made some great friends.
Some people were complaining, but in our opinion, for no good reason. Cuba is an amazing country with beautiful beaches and people who try their absolute best to look after your every need.
Thanks for a wonderful holiday, love Robin Hood and Maid Marion x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

After a long but informative and interesting transfer from the airport we arrived at the Melia Cayo Santa Maria to the sound of a Cuban band and a welcome drink. We were checked in on the coach and given our keys along with a map to show us the location of our room.Our email request was granted with a upstairs room and a kingsize bed :) .we were in block 17 right near the beach - perfect! We soon settled in and started to explore the complex. The beach is amazing with soft white sand and turquiose water, which was as calm as a mill pond on the night we arrived. We got resevations for the restaurants for the first week on the coach. The buffet always had something nice for us to eat both in the evening and at breakfast. The waiters/waitresses were helpful and friendly.
Most of our days were spent on the beach and we always got a sunshade. The lifeguards were friendly and made me a hat and little gifts of a grasshopper and an angelfish made out of palm leaves. The barman, Nestor, would bring us drinks to our sunloungers and always had a smile!
The was several Hobie Cats (Small catamarans) on the beach and you could go out on them for a sail on the beautiful sea, it was so refreshing! The guys on the hobie cats were pleasant and you always felt safe with them.
Some afternoons we spent at the pool, there was a choice of two, one with a pool bar! The barman came round and brought you drinks at the pool too! There was lots of things to join in with if you wanted, but you were never forced to. Genny and Laz were the two sporty guys who were always there with a cheery smile and a chat! They always made you feel welcome.
We made lots of friends and had some great nights in the lobby bar!
We ate in the French, the Japanese and the Italian restaurants, our favourite was the French. I loved the Pumpkin soup and the Goulash mmmm! There was a lady violinist and a man on a classic guitar playing music in the French restaurant who were really good.
At lunchtime the beach restaurant was good, there was a barbeque every day or a selection of food cooked to order. We were looked after by Rosabel who always had a lovely smile. The calamari was good and we loved the rice pudding too!
The rooms were bright and airy. Good air con! Katia our maid did a great job, she left us some great towel art and lovely little notes every day.
All in all we had a wonderful fun yet relaxing holiday and will definately return in the future!

Thank you Melia Cayo Santa Maria!!!

Room Tip: Block 17 great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Santa Maria

Address: Jardines del Rey, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Cayo Santa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an island paradise off the northern coast of Cuba stands the 5- star All-Inclusive Meliá Cayo Santa María hotel, especially designed for families, surrounded by beautiful beaches and lush tropical vegetation. This property (358 rooms) offers facilities for incentives groups and a special wedding and honeymoon program. A perfect complement for an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Santa Maria Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Cayo Santa Maria Melia
Cayo Santa Maria Cuba
Santa Maria Cuba
Melia Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cayo Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.