We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Buenavista

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Santa Maria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Buenavista
Save
You added Melia Buenavista to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Punta Madruguilla, 52500, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Montreal
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

It was our first trip to cuba, we did lots of research before selecting Melia Buenavista. Thanks for the great comments we saw here in trip advisor, we are so glad that we picked the right one. That's the reason why I want to come back here and share the true experiences we had.

We got a package for 2 in the October for a week. The flight was with cuban airline, its $100 cheaper than Air canada, I would pay $100 extra for air canada next time.

Hotel quality; Extremely clean hotel at all times, fully equipped rooms, outdoor shower, varieties of tv chanel, comfy bed and pillows at your choice.

The beach and pool, nice and calm beach, you never be disturbed. 2 fancy pools not that many people, theres water activities too, my favorite was the afternoon volleyball.

Food: I was told by other travelers that this hotel actually has the best food in cuba, and i wasn't disappointed at all. The shrimp tempura is the best I ever had in my life, i had 2 servings and ordered 2 more back to the room. 3 restaurants total to give enough varieties, you can also go to other melia hotels as well, just book the restaurants in the other hotels with your butler in advance.

Services: Amazing, always there for you. As long you keep in touch with your butler, they will meet your expectations. NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE with them, as long you are generous and creative.

Entertainment: there's shows everyday after dinner at the bar, but nothing crazy. The party usually ends 11h-12h.

Btw, theres lots of mosquitos at night, be prepared.

The most important thing, I didn't saw any unhappy customers around., not even bad comments.



happy vacations

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Fiona from Montreal:
We are so proud to have inspired your review! It is really rewarding to be recognized for our personalized service and professionalism, two aspects we really work hard on to assure our employees’ performance and attitude are the best possible.
It is great that you have shared your experience with our potential travelers. They will surely benefit from it, just like you did before.
We will be honored to welcome you at MBV in the near future for another memorable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    243
    96
    32
    19
See reviews for
56
1,220
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stay at Melia Buenavista, Santa Clara, Cuba– November 8 to 15, 2013

This was our (my husband and my) third time to the Melia Buenavista. We can’t say enough about the people there. The staff are so friendly and kind – they are what make the resort. The service is outstanding. Because the resort is small, we have come to know most of the staff very well. Special thanks go out to Orestes and Osmani at the pool bar - guests kept them hopping! As usual, they were fantastic! Navy & Lily keep the place alive and healthy with their recreational activities, yoga, aqua gym, dance lessons and pool volleyball to name a few!

My husband had a chance to go snorkelling with Keysa - it was fantastic!

Our room was wonderful! It was kept spotless daily. (twice daily I believe!) Olgalidia did such a fabulous job – and the towel art was incredible!.

Our butlers (Maikel and Alien) were awesome as well! As someone else mentioned, even if they were not "your" butler (Adel and Havier, etc.), they were friendly and willing to assist.

The grounds keepers (especially Armando), front desk staff, and all the staff working in the restaurants (Noe was super!) - EVERYONE was friendly. The lobby bar was the happening place in the evenings with live Cuban entertainment - one night there was even a Michael Jackson "concert" (Love MJ). The dancing was spot on and very entertaining! The staff there, including Mario, Yamisella, Yani and all the others are a pleasure.

We are very pleased that each time we go to Cuba, the food improves and this year was no exception – the food was quite good! There was a bit more variety – especially in the Los Marinos – buffet items.

We met the General Manager. He is very approachable, invited suggestions and was willing to listen to what we had to say.

My favourite thing is sunsets and the sunset beach has the most amazing sunsets ever. They now have couples massages at sunset! It is definitely a quiet piece of heaven. Planning our next trip back already!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear friends from Halifax:
We have very much enjoyed reading your review, specially knowing that you are some of our most loyal guests. We heartily appreciate your taking the time to describe your recent experience at Melia Buenavista in details and also, your having praised our staff and facilities in such a touching way. Thank you so much, they will all be very happy to know.
You can be sure we will extend your praising words to all our staff, especially your butlers, so they feel even more motivated to provide some really personalized and professional services. Needless to say: it will be an honor to have you back, once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I was delighted with our stay at the Melia Buenavista. We were looking for a smaller, quieter five-star resort accommodation so we could relax in comfort after a very busy fall. The Melia Buenavista exceeded our expectations. The rooms are large and modern, the pools and beaches are great, the staff is friendly, and the setting is superb. If you're after a party resort, this isn't for you. If you're after an itinerary packed solid with activities, it probably isn't for you either. But if you're after a lovely place to relax, soak up some rays and a fair few stiff cocktails (here's looking at you, Luis and Felix), you could do a lot worse.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms offer a great outlook, but the upstairs Gardenview rooms can provide a great outlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Jimmycomms from Toronto:
We heartily appreciate your sharing with other travelers your experience at Melia Buenavista and praising our services and staff. Be sure we will let our employees know how satisfied they made you feel with their personalized and professional attention.
We certainly hope you give us the honor of receiving you one more time and serve you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

It was amazing!!! Rooms beautiful. Service top - notch! Stuff was very helpful and frendly. Top manager is very affable!!! We really enjoyed the service, nice staff, food and drinkts, entertainment, huge and luxury rooms and beautiful beaches. We will definitely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Diana G from Montreal:
Thank you so much for reviewing your experience at Meliá Buenavista. It feels really good to receive such nice comments regarding our services and facilities. We are glad you felt so happy while under our care.
We hope you honor us with another visit so we can offer you another memorable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was our first trip to Cuba and we were not sure what to expect. We travelled Dec 6 to Dec 13th and we had a fantastic time!! Both my husband and myself were amazed at how helpful everyone was right from the start which was a very late arrival (midnight) due to a flight delay. Thank goodness for 24 hour room service as we ordered once we got in our room that night. We already knew it was a small, quiet resort and that's just what we were looking for and needed! The rooms were great we ended up getting Sunset Beach view room and I couldn't have asked for better!!! We had 2 butlers, Noe and David and were always helpful and pleasant. Best was getting back to our room and finding Noe just finishing preparing a beautiful bubble bath as well as a bottle of sparkling wine and a plate of fresh fruit!! Our maid Diamelys was amazing and always kept our room clean and organized. Of course we can't forget the best beach bartenders Luis and Felix who always made our day!! The 3 beaches were all beautiful and kept seeing something different everyday but loved the main beach the most so we could go swimming and enjoy the waves! The food at all 3 of the restaurants were great ... always a good variety for breakfast and if you didn't see what you like on the buffet you could order off the menu. The beaches were never over crowded or too busy and was truly a restful and beautiful resort. The one thing I will recommend is bug spray for this time of year for the little "no see ums" lol they seemed to love me when there was no wind but that is the only negative thing I can say about here!! We will definitely go back and have already recommended to friends who need that escape from it all!! We look forward to going again next year!! Thanks again to all the staff for a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Dawn:
It has been a pleasure indeed to read this nice review on your recent experience at Melia Buenavista. You make us feel very proud of our hotel acknowledging you are so glad to have spent your holiday at our premises. We have been especially touched by the way you refer to all our employees, praising their professionalism and human warmth. We will extent your compliments to them since that will certainly make them feel happy and motivated to keep up the good work.
Thank you so much for your contribution. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We travelled through Cuba and had a great holiday. At the end of the trip we stayed for a couple of days at Buenavista and we really enjoyed the service, nice staff, food and drinkts, entertainment, huge and luxury rooms and beautiful beaches. We will definitely recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear MMu2013
Our most respectful greetings to you from Cayo Santa María.
I would like to thank you for this synthetic review expressing how good it felt to stay at our resort and experience our natural environment, service and human warmth.
We all hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

.
We took a last miniut vacation here from Oct 19 to Oct 26 and were very glad we did. We have no compaints about the hotel but there is a couple of suggestions I will bring up later.
We flew with Cubano airways with Holasun . They serve a small breakfast on the plane and we had no problems except on the way back the plane could have been a little cleaner.
Check in went very fast and was hastle free for uu but a couple on our bus had their luggage lost so we were held up at the bus. The trip to the resort took 2 hours but the bus was nice so sit back and enjoy. Beer at the airport was $1.50 Canadian and $2.00 on the bus.
We arrived at the hotel at 9 PM and they took us right to the resteraunt to have dinner and then to our room. A suggestion here would be to have our butler meet us here to explain things about the hotel to us but we did not see her till breakfast the next morning
Rooms Very nice large great bathrooms and very comfortable beds.The only compaint would be that the light at the side of the bed was out and we asked for it to be fixed but it never was . We stayed in room 1712 which backs on to the quiet pool and we could sit on our patio and wehen we wanted to swim we only had to walk 20 feet.
Beach Great we stayed on the main beach most of the mornings and until middle of the afternoon and then went to the quiet pool and had a bottle of wine to sip on at the pool . Great snorkalling at this beach and you could walk for a half an hour in 1 direction and then just get to the edge of the next resort
Staff Here is where this resort is the best we have been to . They all are fantastic and could not do enough for you .If you wanted a plate of french frys or anything on the beach all you had to do was ask the bar tender and you got it . The bar tenders at all the bars were great and hand made all drinks . The manager of the hotel is always around and if you needed help he would make sure you got it.
Resteraunts We enjoyed all the food and the only small problem we had is that the 1 day we had the steak they never asked how we would like it and it came a little rare for my wife also it would be nice to get a steak knife instead of a butter knife .
Suggestions The shelters on the main beach could do with a small table put around the post so that you have some place to put your drink or book or any thing esle to keep it out of the sand . Get the butlers to meet you at the beginning so they could explain exactly what their duties are and what you can get them to do for you . This was never explained to us so all we had them do was make reservations for dinner for us and get me a coffee with Baileys in the mornnig and maybe a bottle of wine in the afternoon
I wouild come back here any time and would recomend it to any one who wants a quiet relaxing time . This is not a party hotel but the do have very good entertainment . I would like to thank all the staff for a really great time and hope to see you again next year

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Pepplerr:
We have been delighted to receive your review. It feels very rewarding to acknowledge, through your words, that you found exactly what you needed while staying at Melia Buenavista. We will extend your comments to our staff since they would certainly be very motivated by your praising words.
Be sure we will keep your suggestions in mind so we can, as soon as possible, do something to meet these, our guests’ needs. We are looking forward to welcome you again at Meliá Buenavista for another relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenavista

Address: Punta Madruguilla, 52500, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Buenavista 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located west of Cayo Santa Maria in a privileged ecological environment, and surrounded by beaches and coves. All-Inclusive Five-Star Resort with 105 Junior Suites and Suites, and the Villa "Zaida del Rio". Designed for adults over 18 years. An entire hotel featuring Royal Service. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Buenavista Hotel Cayo Santa Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Buenavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.