We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Average Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Husa Cayo Santa Maria Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Santa Maria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Husa Cayo Santa Maria Beach
Cayo Santa Maria / Caibarien / Villa Clara, 52610 , Cuba (Formerly Cayo Santa Maria Beach & Colonial Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Average Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Clean and decent place. Staff and security (not sure why) were all polite and professional. Meals are ok, it still amazes me that people go to cuba to complain on the food. it is basic and wholesome, not the Keg etc. Excursions - catamaran and fishing was great. stay away from the 2 colonial cities tour unless you want total of 7 hours on a bus, and a few hours in sourvenirs (all same). Not recommended. Beach is amazing and so is water and sun. Go with the expectations that you will eat better than cuban nationals but less variety than Canada/USA and you will be fine. Forget internet being consistent, leave phone at home. Gave loonies as tips and exchanged them for bills with the staff when we left. they were happy with that arrangement. Night shows were actually very good. Enjoy this place we will be back!

Room Tip: select ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    380
    213
    125
    101
See reviews for
373
329
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Husa from February 2 - February 9, this was our first time to Santa Maria, but not our first time in Cuba. We wanted a break from the snow in Calgary and booked our trip last minute.

We would not hesitate to go back to this resort, our room was clean, the bar fridge was stocked daily, the resort is lovely, and the beach is amazing and the weather was beautiful!!!!

We arrived at 2:30 pm and quickly got through customs, got our suitcases and were on the bus to the resort. The bus ride to the resort is approx. 90 minutes, The tour guide on the bus was very informative pointing out different things along the way,we found the bus ride enjoyable, you go through three towns on the way to the resort, there is lots to see or if you prefer you can have a nap.

Once at the resort we were asked to go and check in while the bus driver got our suitcases off the bus, once you have checked in you just have to go back to the bus, point your bags out to the bell boys who will load them on a golf cart and take them to your room, or if you prefer you can take them yourself. Our bags arrived at our room shortly after we did. We were in building 6 which is situated close to the beach and the pool but it is a bit of a walk to the main lobby area and the buffet. ***IF YOU ARE ELDERLY, OR HAVE TROUBLE WITH KNEES, HIPS, ETC MAKE SURE YOU ASK FOR A ROOM ON THE MAIN FLOOR!!!!*** There are no elevators in the buildings just stairs, we were on the second floor so there were 2 flights of stairs. We did not have a problem with them but noticed some older guests struggling with the stairs.We were concerned about the noise from the pool but building 6 is far enough away we did not hear anything.

The entertainment staff come to the pool area daily from 3 - 5 and do daily activities, there are also activities on the beach like kayak races and beach volleyball. THE BEACH IS AMAZING!!!!! Take your snorkel, mask and flippers with you because you can snorkel right off the beach. Some people were taking bread into the water and the fish would swim right up and eat it from your hand!!!

There are no clocks in any of the rooms, or anywhere in the resort for that matter so make sure you take a watch. As far as 220 v converters I went to the AMA and bought a single converter specifically for Cuba, 2 couples we met said that they bought packages of world wide converters and they did not work in Cuba, I do not know why they did not work, we did not have a problem.

So now for the food part...its Cuba...my husband and I did not eat in any of the a la carte restaurants we preferred to eat in the buffet, even the pickiest eaters will be able to find something to eat, whether its freshly made to order pizza, stir fry or pasta there is a good variety, but just remember its Cuba!!!! We did not hear of anyone getting sick from the food while we were there, and neither my husband or myself got sick...I was very concerned about this from reading other reviews.

As far as excursions go we did the sunset catamaran & dinner ....AWESOME!!!!! You get on the bus about 5:00 pm and go to the marina, board the catamaran, sail for about 1.5 hours (drinks are included), then head back to the dolphinarium for either a lobster or chicken dinner and then after dinner enjoy a dolphin show then board the bus back to the resort (we were back by 9:30). This was a nice way to end our vacation.

We visited the Pueblo ( a market near the hotel) daily as the vendors change daily. It is just a short 10 minutes walk from the resort or you can catch a ride on one of the resort golf carts that go there every 10 minutes or pay 1 peso and go on the bus, its worth a trip to the Pueblo!!

We took small gifts (hand cream, earrings, etc) for our housekeeper and left them on our pillow for her daily, we always came back to the room to find a "towel surprise" on the bed, from kissing swans to an elephant.... it made us chuckle.

I did ask the front desk staff why the colonial part of the hotel was shut down and I was told that when Husa took over the resort they started renovating and updating that side of the resort and when it was finished they would start using it, then close down the part we stayed in, renovate it and update it then the entire resort would be used.

As I stated at the beginning of this review, we would not hesitate to stay at this resort again, it was prefect for a mid-winter getaway, out of the snow and into the sun!!!

Room Tip: Building 6 is close to the beach and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I went to husa in January 2012when it was still Barcelona for the first time and I can't believe the reviews that I read. It's like they were at a different resort all together. The rooms are Spanish decor you are in cuba not new york city. They were doing renovations but rooms were always clean. The people friendly and do speak limited English again your in cuba. We went back in November 2012 with two more people and they loved it. It was slower time and repairs were still going. I never saw any roaches near buffet or any of the dirt these people claim. As for food alot of variety for everyone including stations for making personalized eggs etc. The bus ride is long but your not going to Varadero your in Cayo santana maria hellloooo. As for ripped this website my god never ever did I see one. The tv not working mine was but if you went to cuba to watch tv should have stayed home. We went air transit first time and west jet second time and each time we'll organized rooms ready bus waiting at airport And always ready to answer anything u needed. As from real door being broken when we first got there we had a problem. With our door and within half an hour they came to fix it. Hot water was always always their. Our representative with weather and air transit said if you need anything. Call me no matter what time it is I am here to help. It saddens me to here such garbage. I loved husa and I will be going back again twice this year and this time bringing six more people with us. You rock husa keep up the great amazing work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in Husa from Feb 3 to Feb 10... the weather was beautiful . We have stayed at this resort last year when it was a Barcello and loved it. Our rooms were clean, fridge was always stocked and the maids were awesome and very friendly. The food was good and there is something even for the pickest eater. This year we did the Santa Clara bus tour and it was a great adventure our tour guide was awesome and very helpful even when one of the locals was bugging us to trade our shirt for his.
The beach is AMAZING !!! All the staff were helpful and amazing. I recommend renting the scooters and touring the cos way. We went to the marnia and talked the the staff we returned that evening and were spoiled with an amazing dinner of chicken and lobster and shrimp. The dolphin excursion is entertaining and so it the catamarine . We had a great week and cant wait to go back to Husa. The 90 minute bus ride isnt all that bad yes you do see some shady areas of Cuba but there are shady areas even in Canada. If you get to be friendly with the staff they will spoil you and share some history of cuba and even tell you places to check out.

Room Tip: the first year we stayed in building 8 very close to the pool , this year stayed in building 2 near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Travelled as a couple from January 31st – February 7th.

This resort suited our needs just fine. We wanted to escape from the Toronto snow for a cheap and cheerful holiday in the sun. We knew the food wouldn’t be great going to Cuba and figured the quality wouldn’t be the best at a Cuba 4.5 star but all we really wanted was a beach and some sun!

Santa Clara Airport:
Upon arriving in the Santa Clara airport we were very quickly off the plane and going through customs. You will be asked to go into a cubicle individually where the agents ask a few questions and take your photo. Having read other reviews we decided to change our CND money at the airport. We changed $400 CND anticipating we would be doing a few excursions, we received $386 Cuban in return. We felt that this was not too bad and found it cheaper than to exchange at the hotel. Before you change your money, do check with the bus tour guide that you have time too as the buses to the resorts roll out quite quickly once the plane has landed.
*Remember $25.00 Cuban per person for the departing tax

Bus Ride:
The bus ride is certainly long at 1 hour 40 minutes. However, we were driving about 11:00am and therefore had lots of things to see during the bus ride. There is a tour guide offering information and tips throughout the bus ride. Though a very nice man, we found with his accent it was quite difficult to understand what he was saying but we did enjoyed the scenery. The bus drives through a few towns and cities which was quite interesting. During the bus ride the tour guide was selling beer for $1, it was a bit early for us to start drinking but the beers were quite cold and looked refreshing! We had a great tour guide on the way back to the airport, Eileen, who is a student at the Santa Clara University. She told us tons of interesting facts about Cuba!
The bus ride is long, but it is doable and we had no problems with it whatsoever.

Check in:
Zero issues with our check in. It was very quick and efficient. We arrived at 12:30pm and assumed that our room would not be ready as check in is 3:00pm. We were pleased to find that our room was ready and we were able to go straight away to our home for the week: Bungalow 5. Some guests chose to have bell boys assist with their luggage but we were quite happy to walk to our room.

Room:
Having requested being on a 3rd floor room, and reception telling us that our room was on the third floor, we were disappointed to find we were on the ground floor. The room itself was fine. Though outdated, it was clean and had a stocked mini bar with pop, beer and bottled water. We asked reception if it was possibly to be switch to a higher floor, the only option was a room with two double beds that smelled of cigarettes so we decided to enjoy the ground floor room we had initially been given. We had figured there was no harm in asking for a better room but as we spent so little time there it really was not an issue.
We were located in Bungalow 5. I highly recommend this building. We were seconds from both the beach and the pool which was perfect for us as we spent all day at the beach. Our room was on the beach side and we had zero issue with noise from the pool or restaurants at night.
Our maid, Dinah was very kind. We left her a couple dollars every day as well as some gum, candy and things. The sheets are not changed during your stay, however, we left Dinah a note and she very nicely changed our sheets for new halfway through our trip.
The man who stocked our mini fridge was Erik, he is lovely. Again, we left him a dollar or two every day along with a note saying we would appreciate an extra bottle or two of water which he very kindly did.
Be aware that there are no clocks anywhere on the resort or in the room. We were at a complete loss time wise as we both decided to leave cell phones and expensive watches at home during the trip. It wasn’t too much of a problem for us… but I think reception was a bit fed up at being our personal time tellers!
In summary, the room was completely fine as we spent so little time there… but bring a watch!

Staff:
There is quite a difficult language barrier with many of the staff. Apart from the “hello” and “how are you” we had a lot of trouble when it came to asking for things. For example, we noticed our coffee pot in the room was broken and even had glass in the bottom. We asked for a new one 4 times throughout the holiday and was told each time that we would receive a new on. Same with the screen door which came unhinged on day three. We were told numerous times someone would be by to fix it but no one came. Asking for directions was also incredibly difficult – As a side note, if you are dining at the A’La Carte Spanish restaurant, have someone physically show you where it is as it’s on the Colonial Side which was closed. The people who work at the excursions desk speak great English if you find yourself needing directions. All that aside, the staff tried their best. I know I would be a disaster if I needed to give directions in Spanish!

Tipping:
There was to be a really big expectation to tip the staff. Probably just us being naïve to travelling in Cuba, but we were not prepared for the constant tipping. We tipped our maid, the man who stocked our mini bar every day and tipped a few other staff we were in frequent contact with. Other guests seemed to tip all the time, I saw people tipping the bartenders after every drink, tipping the guys at the buffet every meal. Next time we would probably ask for more $1.00 and $3.00 bills and try to tip a little bit more but not to the extent that some of the others were.

Food:
We knew it wouldn’t be great, and it wasn’t but we were fine for the week. We found ourselves totally fine at breakfast. Loved the egg station as well as the orange juice. We were always hesitant with the food at the buffet as it looked as though it had been sitting out for quite a while. We stuck with the pasta station, pizza station, stir-fry station etc. We liked that they made the meal in front of you and it was also a lot tastier! The wait for these stations could be quite long but we were lucky in that the line was 4 people deep at most. We ate at the Trinidad Buffet as there were far fewer people there than at the main buffet. Perhaps guests did not realize the Trinidad Buffet was open as well. The A ’La Cartes were good, a lovely change from the buffet. We enjoyed the Cuban the most, followed by Seafood and then Spanish. It was nice to try some new foods! We did go into town for a few meals as well as a break from the buffet. Bring snacks like granola bars, pringles and some other things to nibble. These proved to be great on the beach in the afternoon when you didn’t want to trek to the buffet for a small snack.

Entertainment:
We enjoyed checking out the shows put on in the evening. Very entertaining and funny, especially the Musical night and the Grease night. The dancers dance their hearts out and really give it their best effort. Other than the shows in the evening there is not too much going on at the resort past 11:00. This was fine for us as we were exhausted from being on the beach and in the water all day! The exception to this is the lobby bar which was super busy in the evenings, tons of people to chat too and musicians playing some great music.

Excursions:
Despite our best intentions we did not end up doing any excursions. None of the excursions offered at the resort particularly jumped out at us and we were so happy on the beach that we just ended up enjoying the resort for the week. The beach was so lovely it made it very difficult to leave!

Town:
La Pueblo Estrella is the “town” made for the resorts. There are a few restaurants as well as a few shops and stands where you can buy souvenirs. To get here, many took a bus that cost $1.00 but we found there was a well lite path through Bungalow 11 that took you straight to the town after a 5 minute walk. They did not advertise this path and we found it quite by accident, I imagine it is due to making a bit of money off the bus rides. We found that with such an easy walk it seemed silly for us to wait for a bus. The food at the buffet was okay for the odd dinner but we really were struggling towards the end of the trip and decided to have two dinners in the town. We went to the Trattoria – Italian which was quite good and inexpensive at $20 included tip. We had a calzone and a pizza, both were yummy. We also went to the steakhouse which was a bit pricier but the meat was done nicely. Both times we went to the restaurants was about 8:00pm and we were the only ones there which was quite funny. We found it a bit strange, but all the stores and restaurants share a restroom in the town so you have to leave the restaurant to use them. This in itself was fine, however, when I went there was no soap (luckily I carry hand sanitizer) and another time there was no toilet paper.

Beach:
The beach is the best part of this resort hands down. It is positively stunning and one of the nicest (if not the nicest) I have ever seen. The water is crystal clear and completely sand on the bottom. We never had any concern about stepping on anything rocky or sharp. Having walked along the entire beach from one end to the other, it is safe to say that though the entire beach is beautiful, the HUSA has the nicest stretch. There is a bar located by the beach. People seemed to position themselves on the beach right beside the bar which meant it was very crowded in that section. I suggest when you hit the beach turn right and walk 2-3 minutes down the beach where you will find a much more space both on the beach and in the water.
Due to the weather being a bit windy we were unable to use kayaks, peddle boats etc. The water seemed very calm to us most days, but I am sure they had their reasons to keep the boats on shore.
The catamarans were fantastic! Make sure you do it! They are free, but it would be nice to tip the guys who take you out on the water as they are lovely and you will get a bit longer of a sail if you do. The man who took us out let me be skipper the whole time. That was really fun.
Two of the days on the beach were red flag days due to the high winds making the waves very big. We went in the water as we are both strong swimmers. Please be aware that the water is very strong and pulls you out quickly. We were warned by the lifeguards to stay out of the water for safety reasons. We decided to remain in the water but stayed extremely close to shore just to be careful.

Final Tips:
-Bring a watch
-Change your money at the airport: hotel and bank in town had long lines or overcharged
-Air Fresheners: the rooms get a bit musky
-Bug spray: There are mosquitos
-Carry Hand Sanitizer: there was a few times where there was no soap in the bathrooms – both in the resort and the town
-Bring Snacks to the resort : We brought granola bars and some chips which were great when we got a bit peckish on the beach in the afternoon.
-Bring snacks to the airport: We brought pringles with us for the long bus ride back to the airport as well as to have while we were waiting for our flight.
-Bring insulated mugs: We purchased 2x$15.00 mugs from Canadian Day that were fantastic. The bartenders use small plastic cups for drinks. With these mugs, not only could you hold much more of your fave drink but it also kept cold for hours. The majority of people on the resort seemed to own similar if not identical mugs.
-Take the secret path through Bungalow 11 to get to the town
-Bungalow 5: Fantastic room location if you are a beach baby!
-Trinidad Buffet: Not open all the time but far fewer lines when it is.

This holiday was cheap and cheerful which is exactly what we were looking for. I would not reccomend this hotel, or even Santa Maria, for people looking to party. The hotel catered to couples and young families. The beach was positively gorgeous and I will not be forgetting it any time soon. We wouldn’t go back again to the HUSA but that’s because we’d prefer to be closer to Havana or Veradero next time. If you find this resort for a really good price then it is worth looking into.

Room Tip: Bungalow 5 was a great spot very close to the pool and beach. Our room was on the ground level facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I were transferred to this resort from Melia las Dunas due to flight cancelations during the blizzard in Toronto as our resort did not have room for our flight group. I must say I am extremely greatful that this resort took us for the night at no charge. Though due to us not being paying customers the bellboys would not help us with our luggage etc. Our flight was placed in block 01. When we arrived there was no power to the building. They did not turn on the hot water for us nor could we flush the toilets. The towels in the room were ripped, and appeared quite old and warn. I didn't find the cleanliness of this room to be comparable to Melia las dunas. The buffet location appeared quite dated, and dirty to be honest. The food options were quite limited. The bar service was good, and the bartenders were very pleasant. I did not see all of the resort as we were only there from 8pm - 6 am but from what I saw I wouldn't pay to travel to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at this resort the third week of January, we are 4 couples in our late 40's. Below is my honest and somewhat long review and I hope it helps!

FOOD: We actually found the food really good at the buffets, maybe because our expectations were so low based on previous reviews we read here. There were some dishes that looked a bit scary to me so i wouldn't try them lol, but generally everything was the right temperature and tasted like it should. Excellent fresh crepes, eggs, fish, chicken, pasta and steak prepared to order, just have to wait in line for a few minutes. Delicious local dishes too.

The a la carte restaurants are another story. When we arrived, the reservation dates and times were already made for us, and we were not able to pick a specific restaurant. When we tried to change one of the reservation times at the front desk (6pm was a bit too early for us), they said no because the restaurant was already fully committed. However, when we showed up at the restaurant, it was practically empty. So I wouldn't ask the front desk next time, I'd ask the restaurant directly. We went to the seafood (oh, so very bad!) and the Spanish (somewhat better food and simply incredible service.) We never did try the Italian, and all of the other restaurants were closed due to renovations.

STAFF: The staff are so polite and hardworking and friendly. They would do whatever they could to make our stay as lazy as possible. ;) Definitely a language barrier that I haven't experienced at other resorts, so best brush up on your Spanish, or bring a little dictionary. Warning: the bartenders make drinks ridiculously strong. Not kidding. We brought our own bubba keg mugs and when I ordered 3 refills for our group, the bartender tipped the bottle of rum upsidedown and left it like that while he made the other two drinks. There had to be 5 times as much alcohol as there should have been in that drink. I like to drink and party when I'm on holidays just as much as anyone, but be careful or you'll be absolutely wasted in no time.

ROOMS: Our room was actually rather pretty, I thought. We were on the ground floor and had absolutely no view but we didn't care. We wanted clean and functional, which is what we got. Everyday we were treated with towel art upon our return. And one thing I loved was that they actually wash the coverlet, not just the sheets. Whole room felt very clean. The TV was ancient and got hardly no English stations, but who really cares what's on TV when you're there. Although the infomercials are hilarious to watch lol.

THE RESORT: Very big! Don't worry about gaining weight on this trip, the walking everywhere will keep that in check! Although if you get too hot and tired, there are some little golf-cart driving men who will be happy to stop and drive you where you need to go. The paths are narrow and they drive like Andretti, so careful when you're walking around curves in the paths or you may get a fright.

It's also very pretty and clean, and you'll see the occasional cat, but they are pretty feral and don't come near (except one or two smart kitties who hang around outside the buffets and turn on the cute). Very impressive, gigantic pool. Pool games and excercise in the afternoons if you're into that, or sit in another area if you're not.

BEACH: Holy schmoly, is the beach gorgeous! White sand that feels like cool flour, lots of beach chairs and shaded little huts. Some people get up super early to reserve shaded chairs with their towels (there's a lovely man there waiting to set up and wipe down loungers for you) but I think there were still plenty. Even if there weren't, I am wayyy to chillaxed on vacation to get up at the [-]-crack of dawn to reserve the perfect lounger lol.

BUS TRIP FROM AIRPORT: It's long, but it's fairly interesting going through tiny little towns. Consider it a free tour...with $2 beer grin. The bathroom on the bus is disgusting, by the way (oh gawd, the horror, the horror) so try to go at the airport before you get on the bus.

THINGS TO BRING:
-faceclothes (rooms don't have them)
-conditioner (rooms have shampoo and body wash dispencers but not conditioner). I tend to bring my own of everything, but some people don't.
-ketchup and whatever other condiments you feel you might like.
-travel mugs for drinks. The resort's plastic glasses are tiny and just get thrown away each time you refill.
-a sweater cuz it gets chilly at night sometimes, especially after being in the sun all day.

FINAL NOTES: After dinner, there's not much to do at night, other than go to one of the nightly shows, which are pretty good, by the way. But once you grow tired of that, there's not a lot to do. We brought playing cards and packable little games in case the weather was bad (which, sadly, it was for most of our trip) but there's no where to play. All the tables in the lobby are too low and there's no bar that we found that had high enough tables. We ended up sitting in the lobby along with hundreds of others every night, talking and drinking.

Which brings me to another point...I got a bit bored on this trip. I can only lay about or sit and chat for so long, then I want to get up and do stuff. There's a little shopping area about 10 minutes away, which we visited twice, and we did one catamaran excursion (LOVED it), but due to really bad weather, most other trips were cancelled. We contemplated going to the disco down the road but that didn't happen due to a general disinterest in dancing lol. That gorgeous beach I spoke of earlier? Closed. No swimming permitted. Sad sigh. Not the resort's fault. It's a very quiet, tiny island, so if adventure and action are your thing, don't go here. If you love to relax and nap and read by the pool or on the beach and turn in early, then this resort is made for you.

By the way, if you are a SCUBA-diver, book your excursions with a divemaster weeks in advance of your trip or you won't be going diving. There simply aren't enough divemasters to meet the demand, and our active, adventurous men were a bit bummed that they wouldn't be going diving.

Ok, that's everything I can think of. Have a fantastic time and watch out for those drinks. ;)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Husa Cayo Santa Maria Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husa Cayo Santa Maria Beach

Address: Cayo Santa Maria / Caibarien / Villa Clara, 52610 , Cuba (Formerly Cayo Santa Maria Beach & Colonial Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cayo Santa Maria Beach And Colonial Resort
Barcelo Cayo Santa Maria Beach & Colonial Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Cayo Santa Maria Barcelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husa Cayo Santa Maria Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Husa Cayo Santa Maria Beach to your Saves list