We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slightly Chilled

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Slightly Chilled to your Saves list
Slightly Chilled
Adam's Peak, Dalhousie, Nallathanniya 22070, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed with two friends, and all of us thoroughly enjoyed our two nights here. The location is amazing (great views of teh surrounding areas, inl. the Adam's Peak), the rooms were big enough and very clean (and no mosquitos as the village is quite high up, which was a nice bonus; just mind when we were there the water wasn't exaclty piping hot - it was manageable though). The owners also arranged a guide for us to take us on a hike around tea plantations and the jungle, a guide for the Adam's Peak climb, arranged a driver to take us to Kithulgala andthen also to the South (Mirissa).
Alos the food was in my opinion some of the best I ate in Sri Lanka - rice & curry for dinner (incl. various kinds of curries), also soup and dessert (fruit salad/yoghurt) and great breakfats - eggs and pancakes, fresh fruit plate and papaya juice (tasted especiallyu amazing after coming back from Adam's Peak).
So overall highloy recommended to anyone planning on climbing the Adam's Peak/hiking in the area!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    135
    59
    13
    9
See reviews for
21
151
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived at Slightly Chilled very late, around 11 pm, and they were there to greet us and make sure we were prepared for our climb up Adam's Peak the next morning (2:30am). We mentioned that we had no food or water, and were very pleased to see that they left us takeaway containers with fruit and some water bottles on the front desk for us to take before the climb. When we asked about the laundry service, they offered it to us for free(!) since we were staying more than one night. The rooms are spacious, clean, good bathrooms with hot water, comfy bed, and breathtaking views of Adam's Peak. The food was very good, and reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful with advice on transportation to and from the area, answering all our questions. One thing though, they did not accept any cards, and the closest ATM is about a half hour drive away, so it's best to have cash handy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a nice place to stay with good food and helpful staff. They have torches, drinks and some chocolate for sale before going up Adam's Peak.

Currently you would only come here to walk up Adam's Peak and then leave but there's a lot of room for expansion in this place. They could in future provide rock climbing trips, water sports on the lake or add extra things like a hot tub to help relax after the walk and for people to stay on longer.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms on the higher floors for better views and less walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our stay at Slightly Chilled was very enjoyable. The rooms were extremely spacious and impeccably clean, comfortably sleeping four individuals. The views of Adam's Peak and the surrounding greenery from our balcony was only rivaled by the view from the panoramic restaurant on the top floor.

The food was extremely tasty - the very reasonably priced buffet dinner was very welcoming after a long day travelling to Dalhousie and the breakfast was appropriately hearty to recuperate our aching muscles after our climb of Adams Peak.

The manager and his family were extremely hospitable and we would thoroughly recommend staying at Slightly Chilled if you are planning to visit Dalhousie and climb Adam's Peak.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We only stayed at Slightly Chilled for one night to climb Adam's Peak, but I have only good things to say about this charming guest house. Since we were there off season, we were the only guests, but that doesn't mean that the service was any lower then usual. Room was really clean, big and comfortable, views on the river and the Peak are just amazing. We were treated with great dinner and the food was plentiful and delicious; only unfortunate thing was that we couldn't manage to eat all! And the staff was incredibly friendly, the owner even found a guide for us to Peak; he was a bit shy, but very nice and got us to Peak in 3 hours. After the climb, we were served with perfect and hearty breakfast to get some of the energy lost in the climb back. All in all, I would recommend this guest house to anyone who wishes to climb the Adam's Peak as the service is impeacable and they really know, what you would crave for after the climb.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nice location with Adams Peak. Rooms are well organize with clean environment. The staffs are accommodating & friendly, nice food, rooms are affordable price. My room was located in 2nd floor with amazing view of the mountains & tea plants.The place highly recommended to our friends & surly we will visit our next vacation period to "Slightly Chilled Gust House".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

lovely accommodation,friendly staff ,brilliant service and good food ,makes you stay another day. Me and wife look through couple of hotels in Adam;s peak and my wife said 'we should stay here',thumbs up for her selection. Definitely Slightly Chilled will be our first preference if we ever visit Adam's peak again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Slightly Chilled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slightly Chilled

Address: Adam's Peak, Dalhousie, Nallathanniya 22070, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nallathanniya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nallathanniya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and let your soul truly unwind in the Slightly Chilled Guest House (formerly Yellow House). Gayantha and Nirasha will make a great memory of your trip to Sri Lanka. Great service, great rooms and great Sri Lankan hospitality! Adam's Peak should be part of your trip in Sri Lanka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Slightly Chilled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slightly Chilled Hotel Dalhousie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slightly Chilled, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.