We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Adam's Peak base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slightly Chilled

Save Saved
You added Slightly Chilled to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slightly Chilled
Adam's Peak, Dalhousie, Nallathanniya 22070, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Adam's Peak base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

If they upgrade the shower then it would be even better. Employees are nice, great view of the Peak from room. Need only stay one night and if you arrive late, dinner buffet is still available. Reasonable price for reasonable room.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    128
    55
    12
    9
See reviews for
20
137
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

As many of the previous reviews have remarked, we only stopped here for one night for climbing Adam's Peak and given some of the other less favourable reviews went in expecting the worst and were pleasantly relieved as a result. The evening buffet was perfectly adequate and the reception room is spacious and welcoming with a large screen plasma and wifi to whittle away the time. Our room was on the lower ground floor and had two double beds and a balcony with direct views of Adam's Peak. The room itself was spacious and clean but very basic and not the most homely. As many have suggested, it's fine for a night but not somewhere you would want to stop for longer. My biggest gripe was the shower which is essentially just a hole in the floor opposed to a separate cubicle and the water was cold. Ordinarily I would have skipped the shower altogether but after climbing up and down Adam's Peak before heading off to the shower, skipping the shower wasn't an option. The guest house does give a lot of helpful support and advice about the Adam's Peak climb and will arrange taxi or tuk tuk or guide if you so desire. We didn't bother with the transfer as the climb is only a five minute walk away but we did take a guide but in hindsight this really isn't necessary, it's just an extra person climbing up a bunch of stairs with you. The only other thing to note is that we specifically booked this place as we were under the impression that it was the only place close to the base of Adam's Peak, this isn't true. There is actually a string of guest houses on the same stretch of road. It was quite obviously that everyone was all there for the same reason and many of the people we saw at dinner, we saw on the climb at Adam's Peak so we needn't have been as apprehensive as we were before we went.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had a single night here. Cracking view from the room. Heavy carbo-loading at the curry buffet on the night before the walk. The walk up Adam's Peak itself was spectacular. On returning, there was a really excellent breakfast with a stunning view. Could do with a fresh lick of paint but then you can't have everything.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a spectacular view—if you're offered one that lacks, ask to change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night prior to climbing Adam's Peak. We had a triple room which had a balcony and small seating area inside which was handy as there were 3 of us travelling. Good view of Adam's Peak and only about a 10 minute walk from the start of the ascent. Great evening buffet meal and restaurant snack menu as well as a slap up breakfast after the climb. Don't think you would necessarily need more than 1 - 2 nights here. We checked out at 11.30am after the climb and went to Kelburne Estate Bungalows in Haputale for some chill time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayd one night in march in order to do Adams peak. This place is well established and it looks like they have just extended as our room (4th floor down) looked very new and well appointed.
Good value with dinner and breakfast included and helpful staff to direct you on your way.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in the slightly chilled guest house for 1 night before we climbed Adams peak. We had great views from our room overlooking the mountain ahead and the surrounding area. The included  dinner pre hike was a buffet curry which was first class and set us up well for the walk. We attempted the climb on a Friday night / Saturday morning and started at 2am as per the advice at the guesthouse and on Internet forums. Unfortunately as it was a weekend it was much much busier than we anticipated and we got stuck behind a queue about 750m from the top which was hardly moving. We were stuck from about 4am and unfortunately didn't make it to the top for sunrise, we watched it from about 200m below the top which was still amazing and the views on the walk down are breathtaking. Some friends did it the following weds and they said it wasn't busy at all and took them 2 and a half hours to reach the summit so it definitely depends on what day you go. The climb itself was easily doable whatever the level of fitness and it's difficulty exaggerated in guide books! It was funny seeing hiking booted westerners with hiking poles climbing alongside barefooted locals! We returned to the guesthouse for a lovely warm shower and cooked breakfast which was exactly what we needed. 

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for one night and although we arrived very late, dinner was served. The room was very clean and spacious. The dining area is surrounded by panorama windows so the view during breakfast was really great. Food was average. The staff was very friendly though. As the entrance to Adam's Peak is just a few walking minutes away from the guesthouse it's ideal for climbing the mountain. All in all probably the best guesthouse in Dalhousie (US-$52 half-board).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Slightly Chilled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slightly Chilled

Address: Adam's Peak, Dalhousie, Nallathanniya 22070, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nallathanniya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nallathanniya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and let your soul truly unwind in the Slightly Chilled Guest House (formerly Yellow House). Gayantha and Nirasha will make a great memory of your trip to Sri Lanka. Great service, great rooms and great Sri Lankan hospitality! Adam's Peak should be part of your trip in Sri Lanka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Slightly Chilled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slightly Chilled Hotel Dalhousie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slightly Chilled, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.