We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you need for Adams Peak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slightly Chilled

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Slightly Chilled to your Saves list
Slightly Chilled
Adam's Peak, Dalhousie, Nallathanniya 22070, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exactly what you need for Adams Peak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for only one night as we were climbing Adams Peak and there isnt really anything else to do unless you are going to make the hike!
It is half board so dinner was a buffet of curry and soup which was very nice and filling. The soup was lovely.
Our room was huge with the biggest "double" bed i have ever seen and very comfy.
No mosquitos for us!
Our balcony was nice with the most amazing view of river, tea plantations and Adams Peak.
The staff lent us a torch and salt (for the leeches) for Adams Peak.
They sell chocolate and drinks so I suggest buying crisps/nuts before you get to Dalhousie as there is no where else to buy snacks for the hike.
Breakfast was good after climbing the mountain and nice to have a hot shower!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    135
    59
    13
    9
See reviews for
21
151
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just stayed one night. The rooms were fine and the view was great. We could have been there a hole day. Dinner was were tasty. You can't get a better location if you are going to Adams Peak. We did start our climb at 2.30, but the weather changed, so we turned back half way. We had s guid fromthe hotel who could not speak english. Go with someone who can.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very satisfied with Slightly Chilled Guest House. Staff very efficient and friendly. Great View, No mosquitoes,
slept well. Hike to Adams Pk very strenuous (68yrs OLD) but worth it, Loved hiking with the happy Sri Lankans on their pilgrimage to the temple on top. Enjoy the hike during the day, would not recommend staying overnight to see sunrise, not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uberlingen, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Nice clean guesthouse with friendly host couple. They lent us raincoats and a torch for our hike to Adam's Peak. Everything's pretty uncomplicated. Try their dal soup - it's really yummy. The fries need some more practice. Breakfast was great. One tip for Adam's peak: If you're stuck in fog or rain on the top, don't be impatient - don't walk down - wait some time, the weather can change pretty fast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We arrived in the early afternoon from Hatton.
Very basic room - Family room for one night half board USD75.
The room was not very clean - the mosquitoes hunted you big time..
The food was ok. Evening buffet with rice & curry.
You can borrow torch and rain coats for your climb.
Nice breakfast.
Delhouse is a little town and it seems that the only reason for existing is all the tourists/pilgrims.
The climb was something! And off-season... next time I will do it in daylight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The place is basic but clean and there is no better alternative that is so near to Adam’s peak. The good was good and the price convenient. No mosquitos tend in the room so you should bring your own which is very useful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for the Adam's Peak ascent and booked one night only. This was perfect for our needs and even though we were tired, I'm glad we didn't book more than one night.

The room was spacious and clean. We even had a balcony with a great view of Adam's Peak.

The climb is very rewarding. We left at 1:30am with lots of stops on the way but wished we'd have gone 30 mins later as it was very cold waiting around for sunrise.

The evening meal before the climb was a buffet style rice and curry which was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Slightly Chilled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slightly Chilled

Address: Adam's Peak, Dalhousie, Nallathanniya 22070, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nallathanniya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nallathanniya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and let your soul truly unwind in the Slightly Chilled Guest House (formerly Yellow House). Gayantha and Nirasha will make a great memory of your trip to Sri Lanka. Great service, great rooms and great Sri Lankan hospitality! Adam's Peak should be part of your trip in Sri Lanka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Slightly Chilled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slightly Chilled Hotel Dalhousie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slightly Chilled, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.