We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent whitefish meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Motel & Dining Room

Grandview Motel & Dining Room
15 Earl St, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
(519) 596-2220
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 17 Restaurants in Tobermory
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Marion,IN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Excellent whitefish meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Based on reviews we decided to try this restaurant and were pleasantly surprised with the different options for preparing the whitefish dinners. I had the blackened and it was just right with the cajun spices coming thru nicely. My wife had prepared Mediterranean style and she really liked it. We were there before the actual summer season, so there were only 5 other tables occupied and only one server, but he kept everything moving and was attentive to all of us. Althoug more pricey than some of the other locales in town, definitely worth a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CANADA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Revisit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Am back up at the Bruce Peninsular for a few days and last night decided to revisit the Grandview
motel dinning room.
The service was excellent. And good to see the same staff back as when I was here three years ago.
The crab cakes were excellent as was the white fish.
Last but not least the evening ended with a beautiful sunset.This can be seen from most tables
in the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We dined at the Grandview overlooking the Tobermory harbour. The food was delicious. A good place to eat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently ate at the Grandview. We had the Sampler Platter for 2. You get an assortment of seafood plus 2 entrees for $88. We have eaten this meal in the past and had really enjoyed it. This time, the amount of seafood was drastically cut back. For instance, we got only 2 scallops each. The food was well prepared and tasty, what there was of it. The people at the next table had the same meal but they ordered the lamb as an entree. The lamb was so tough and stringy that they couldn't eat it. Our service was prompt and friendly. We sat outside. The view, as always, was great. Chi-Cheemaun came by as we ate. The meal was not good value for the price that we paid. We would go back but would simply have a regular entree for our meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Very Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The food is generally good, but for this price should be better. Nice views from the patio, service can be slow if busy. I would rate it higher if the prices were not so high.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandview Motel & Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Grandview Motel & Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Motel & Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.