We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tobermory Princess Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tobermory Princess Hotel
Save
You added Tobermory Princess Hotel to your Saves list
34 Bay Street South, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Tobermory
Cropwell Bishop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Breakfast only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Didn't stay in the hotel but myself and five other members of my family had breakfast here having stayed over night at a standard motel just up the road. The food and staff were brilliant with as much coffee as we could drink that set us up for the day to continue our driving tour of the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    37
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
20
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

First off, location. It's not right in "downtown" (which is tiny), but that's nice. You don't have to deal with that. The LCBO (booze store) is right next door. Nice too for some evening relaxing.

If you want the great view, you want to ask for it, and you'll pay more. If you're ok with the town/harbor view, get one of the side rooms (same side as the LCBO) They're not bad at all.

We stayed here out of season. Unfortunately, they were cleaning the carpets and upholstery in the dining room, which meant no restaurant. That's a bad thing in a town where EVERYTHING is closed out of season. (Except the Princess) However, being on top of things, they arranged to have another restaurant in town be open, and we had a nice dinner there. By morning, all was back to normal, and we were offered our included continental breakfast. That's how you run a motel properly!

Your room key even includes a key to the front door of the motel, so you can let yourself in if you come back late and it's closed. Wow.

I have to say, every single person I dealt with at the Princess was pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortable (we had 306, great balcony!), the place was quiet and clean. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and I recommend you give it a try if you're on the Bruce Peninsula, or in Tobermory.

Room Tip: Save money and stay on the "town/harbor view" side, but the front rooms with the full view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stay here when I am up diving or hiking the Bruce Peninsula. It is a quiet hotel, located just off the downtown. The staff are always pleasant and accommodating. This is the only downtown hotel open 12 months a year. There is also a restaurant on site and luckily the liqour store is just across the street. Easy access to the public docks for diving and a three minutes walk to the marina and dive shop. Grocery store 4 minutes. Actually, I suggest that you could walk anywhere you need to go in downtown Tobermory from this hotel in under 6 minutes.

Room Tip: They're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel looks nice and have that cozy feeling when you are inside the restaurant or on the balcony having a bite or a drink, and is located on the bay.

The hotel owns 2 cottages and I rented the one right beside the hotel; nothing fancy but the location and everything was there as if I was in my own home, which made this stay unforgettable. Other than the many rooms and beds, the BBQ, parking and WIFI were all included.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Our family gets together at this hotel every year for celebrating birthdays and the hotel does a wonderful job of accommodating our large group (and by large I'm talking I think we're the only people at the hotel). Rooms are comfortable and clean. It's a small town so don't expect to be staying at the Ritz Carlton and you won't be disappointed. Some rooms have balconies and some do not, you might need to request one if you're picky. The room is simple -- beds, tv, table & chairs, bathroom. It does the job. Walls are thin. Then again it was my group making all the noise so guess I can't complain. We really enjoy the hotel's restaurant, who, again, go above and beyond for our large group every time. Great breakfast as well! I imagine this place would be wonderful in the summer. A good choice right on the tub in the middle of town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were at this hotel just three months ago. We returned because we had no complaints the last time. And this time we managed to get a room on the third floor overlooking Little Tub Harbour.

There were three of us in a room and this time it was my turn to sleep on the cot. It wasn't the best sleep but at least it didn't cost us another room. And my cot was by the sliding door and the view of the harbour was very nice. By the way, there is an elevator so if you have difficulty walking up stairs don't worry. Ask for a room on the third floor with a view of the harbour. Our room, (301) had a nice balcony with four chairs and a table and we enjoyed sitting there watching the boats come and go.

In the morning we had the breakfast special in the restaurant.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

The princess hotel is comfort. The room is very comfortable and we added an extra night stay and they accommodated us with only changing a room with a balcony and view to none and a window facing the liquor store and the street along the harbor. Still a beautiful morning breeze and fun place to watch. The continental breakfast has a large selection.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tobermory Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobermory Princess Hotel

Address: 34 Bay Street South, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Tobermory Princess Hotel Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobermory Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.